03/15/20 Thomas J. PMPS 97, +1 73, +2 69, +4 59, +6 65, +7 68, +11 74

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
03/14/20

I'm still weary about giving him insulin this morning. I know it's shootable but am I going to keep getting into a situation of him going low and nothing will bring him up past the 60s. It's driving me nuts. He's definitely getting a reduction, @Nan & Amber (GA) suggested 0.5 unit. What does everyone think? Should I give a reduced dose or skip?
Let me see if he eats first of all. Also, I didn't see him pee or poop at all yesterday. He went to the litterbox once, moved around a little then jumped back out, nothing in there.
Hope everyone has a good day.
 
Last edited:
Don’t skip, very shootable number, give reduction
I shot bella full dose at amps of 77, just get a +1 and +2, and as always make sure u have HC just in case
I'll say again, I'm not sure if his medicine is causing him to go low or not. He was low at the end of his cycle and wouldn't raise higher than 60s for a few hours but we did take him to the vet and got another Simbadol injection for his pain which is probably why. What do you think of reducing to 0.5 unit?
 
Hi Brittany, I'm not sure if I missed something this week or not...I've had a hard time keeping up with the forum...my question may have already been answered...if so I apologize for coming in late to ask.

On 3/10 he went to 45, that's a reduction on TR...you should have reduced to .75.

Yesterday he went to 45 again - another reduction. May I ask why you haven't been taking the reductions? Perhaps I'm just late to the party?
 
He moved a lot when I went to shoot. Hopefully I shot in a good place and it wasn't disrupted. I didn't smell insulin and nothing felt wet.
 
Hi Brittany, I'm not sure if I missed something this week or not...I've had a hard time keeping up with the forum...my question may have already been answered...if so I apologize for coming in late to ask.

On 3/10 he went to 45, that's a reduction on TR...you should have reduced to .75.

Yesterday he went to 45 again - another reduction. May I ask why you haven't been taking the reductions? Perhaps I'm just late to the party?
He did indeed have a reduction on 3/10 from 1.25 to 1. Then on 3/11 had went low again to 47 but @Wendy&Neko said it was too soon after my last reduction to reduce again as it was probably the influence of the 1.25 units still working on him.
 
I think it's a good idea to shoot the 0.5 units. As Sue mentioned, it looks like that's the dose he should be on now any way. I missed that yesterday. I hope he'll pee for you soon. You may need to ask the vet about it if he doesn't just to be safe.
Unfortunately they're closed today so I can't ask. May have to place him in here in a bit and see if he'll go or not. Anything you think that may encourage him to use the bathroom?
 
I don't have any suggestions, but his body has been through a lot. Maybe it will just take a little time for him to get back to normal with peeing and pooping. I'd call tomorrow if he doesn't do anything today.
 
I don't have any suggestions, but his body has been through a lot. Maybe it will just take a little time for him to get back to normal with peeing and pooping. I'd call tomorrow if he doesn't do anything today.
Yeah, I think he may be constipated. He was having diarrhea so who knows. Maybe he peed and I didn't notice yesterday. I agree.
 
Look around the house. He might have gone outside box in another spot if he isn't feeling well.
We have all the other rooms closed and I'm around 24/7. Only time I wasn't around was when I took my shower yesterday but my brother watched him. Our rooms are small so if he had I would've stepped in it already and his urine is strong so I'd definitely smell it. He hasn't thankfully.
 
Glad you shot, with him creeping up into the 100's. Let's see how he does today.

Any litterbox action yet? Is he drinking normally?
He won't drink just water from a bowl and he can't drink from the fountain. I just add water with his food and he drinks it thankfully.
 
Simbadol/buprenorphine can be constipating. How much water are you adding to his food? If you boil chicken, the resulting plain stock might entice him. Or juice from tuna (plain unseasoned).

Nice to see that green, hope he surfs there.
 
Simbadol/buprenorphine can be constipating. How much water are you adding to his food? If you boil chicken, the resulting plain stock might entice him. Or juice from tuna (plain unseasoned).

Nice to see that green, hope he surfs there.
About half the bowl. I've given both before, he refuses to eat any of his food when I add it, resulting in it being wasted unfortunately. I'm giving food the same way I gave before surgery. He's eating as well as he can.
 
He went to the litterbox 3 times and circled around squatting but didn't use the bathroom. He laid in it once too. I wonder if where he hasn't been able to bathe himself if he's getting a uti or something. I do wipe him off but litter gets stuck in the fur and won't come out for me. He finally peed the 4th time but no poop yet. His belly is very full so I know he has to.
 
I wonder if where he hasn't been able to bathe himself if he's getting a uti or something.

Is he on antibiotics post-surgery?

Glad he finally managed to pee a little. He probably is a bit constipated, making everything uncomfortable :(.

Have you done a dehydration test (pinching up the scruff area and seeing how fast it rebounds)?
 
OK, great. I would think that a UTI is unlikely to take hold with antibiotics already in the system-- not impossible, but unlikely-- and hydrated is good. It probably is just the constipation making him uncomfortable (though I'd still call the vet tomorrow, to make sure he's on track and see if they have any suggestions).

His numbers look good, at least!
 
He ate most of 1 of the 2 chunks of food that I gave him then I gave his insulin. He should eat some more here later and he gets his dinner in 3 hours anyway. Wish he would've eaten a bit more but I did sneak his medicine in it so that could be why. Hope he poops soon.
 
Starting to get too low at +4 59, time for dinner. Feeding HC and LC to bring him up. He ate a couple bites then left. Not sure what he's thinking, it seems like he wants to eat it.
 
It seems like he's always floating in the 60s.
He decided to suddenly jump down, scratch the scratching post, walk in the other room and rub against furniture, then walk back in the living room and play with his pom poms a little. After that he proceeded to eat his leftovers. Still no poop yet.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top