? 03/14/20 Thomas J. PMPS 45, +0.25 59, +0.5 62, +0.75 58, +2 58, +3.5 61, +6 88 Dose advice?

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
03/13/20

Should I give the full dose this morning or would it be better to give a smaller dose? I've got him eating so I don't think it should be an issue today hopefully.
Seems to be doing much better this morning, a lot more energetic but still a little calmer where he has the pain medication. Eating decently enough.
Hope everyone has a good weekend.:bighug:
 
I think I'd try giving 1.0 units this morning as long as you think you can test today if you need to and he keeps eating. I'm glad he's doing better this morning. Sending prayers.
 
Such good news that he's eating!! And he's doing very well for a kitty with 4 NS's!!
You're doing a great job of taking care of him Brittany. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
108 after vet, a good number. Must've been lower than that an hour ago.
They got us a slightly shorter cone which is easy to put on and take apart. They weren't happy with me cutting it and thought it was too short but he didn't reach his ear the whole night and morning he's been scratching at it. Not saying it couldn't happen, if he leaned his head all the way out and turned his head then scratched he could probably reach it but that's unlikely.
 
Last edited:
This smaller cone is near perfect size. He can eat with it on and it's easy to assemble and disassemble.
20200314_162542.jpg 20200314_162550.jpg 20200314_162621.jpg 20200314_162628.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20200314_162542.jpg
    20200314_162542.jpg
    97.4 KB · Views: 51
  • 20200314_162550.jpg
    20200314_162550.jpg
    95 KB · Views: 57
  • 20200314_162621.jpg
    20200314_162621.jpg
    100.3 KB · Views: 51
  • 20200314_162628.jpg
    20200314_162628.jpg
    87.5 KB · Views: 54
Last edited:
Don't shoot a number in the 40s. Wait and see if he comes up.
He's up to 59 after 15 minutes, he did have a little bite of HC. Pardon me, I just woke up from a nap so my brain is still foggy, can't think straight. Gave the food a little too early.
 
Since you gave HC that number is food influenced. That makes it hard to know if you should shoot or not. If you need to get some sleep tonight, you could skip. You'll still need to monitor for a little while to make sure he stays safe though.
 
Since you gave HC that number is food influenced. That makes it hard to know if you should shoot or not. If you need to get some sleep tonight, you could skip. You'll still need to monitor for a little while to make sure he stays safe though.
Yeah, I woke up and immediately tested. My brain was like wait first but then I gave him food anyway and realized when he was almost done.:facepalm:
I think it may be best to skip since it's already food influenced and 30 minutes past due.
 
He got his Simbadol injection for pain management at about 12 p.m. would that effect his numbers late in a cycle?
 
Yeah, I woke up and immediately tested. My brain was like wait first but then I gave him food anyway and realized when he was almost done.:facepalm:
I think it may be best to skip since it's already food influenced and 30 minutes past due.
Don't be hard on yourself. Stuff happens.
He got his Simbadol injection for pain management at about 12 p.m. would that effect his numbers late in a cycle?
I'm not sure. However, if he's in any pain I would think it might make him feel better and he could have lower numbers if the pain is making them higher.
 
Don't be hard on yourself. Stuff happens.

I'm not sure. However, if he's in any pain I would think it might make him feel better and he could have lower numbers if the pain is making them higher.
I'm usually good at this stuff, sleepy brain is bad at it apparently. Ah, that makes sense though.
 
I'm skipping his dose tonight. I'll recheck in 30 minutes to an hour. Gonna give another bite of food if he doesn't raise more.
 
Last edited:
Alright. I think I'm gonna skip his shots for a bit while he's healing as the medication seems to be affecting his blood sugar. Just a short pause for a little while.
His trends were under 100 and dropping multiple times to the 40s for about a week with reductions before his surgery. I believe they will continue like that and with the addition of his medications may drop even further.
I'm barely getting any sleep because I have to worry about getting up to test and rub corn syrup on his gums every 1-2 hours because HC isn't raising him. I've only gotten 10 hours or so the last 4 days all together. I can't let my own health decline or I won't be able to take care of him properly.
He isn't rising from the 60s. I gave HC and rubbed corn syrup on his gums. I'm thinking of only giving him insulin when his blood sugar exceeds 150 and I think I need to decrease his dose as well. What are your suggestions?
 
Get some sleep, take care of yourself, reassess in the morning. I think a reduced dose as the new normal makes sense, personally. If it were me I'd probably try maybe 0.5U and see how things went from there. That's just off the top of my head, though, maybe others will have more informed suggestions.

The one thing I do know is, you have to take care of yourself before you take care of Thomas J. You've both been through a lot the last couple of days! Take a break, you deserve it. :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Back
Top