03/13 Vyktor +6 56 .5 56 +7 59 .5 54 +8 67 .5 70 +9 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Very excited about last night's efforts, recap:

AMPS 346
+6 263
+10 83 :shock:
PMPS 67 BOS :lol:
+1 65
+2 52 lge tsp HC
+2.5 72
+3 85
+3.5 79
+4 76
+5 94
+6 95 bean falls into bed
+10 160

This bean cannot keep eyes open (it was very hard to measure his dose this morning with eyes shut :lol: ) and is going btb tbp will be given a miss today.

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66003
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250

Is it a wee bounce you have going today, Vyktor? That was quite a performance last night! :-D

Congratulations on shooting low, Serryn. I don't know that it will ever completely lose the fear factor, but learning how to manage low numbers is more than half the battle. You handled it like a pro. Bravo!
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250

Hey S & V!! What a night you had!! Hope today will be a little easier, with no worries!! Hugs & Love from us!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274

I'm glad you can get some sleep today! You deserve some rest after the nice green cycle last night. I hope Vyktor clears the bounce quickly!
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274 +10 133

Looks like bounce cleared already! From a cat that used to make the most of a bounce through the full 72 hours this is just amazing. MumBean is most impressed with his use of the juice. Go Vyktor Go.
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274 +10 133 PMPS 59

syringe in hand ready to go just waiting for you to say yes :smile:
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274 +10 133 PMPS 59

Please get another test, then. I want to make sure he's not going any lower. I'm going to go look at his ss.
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274 +10 133 PMPS 59

68 :-D

but he did eat only about a tsp or two of LC about 10 mins ago :oops:
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274 +10 133 PMPS 59

As long as you're prepared (strips, HC, etc) and are going to be around tonight to monitor. Go ahead and shoot.
I have a feeling Vyktor is going to earn a dosecrease, soon. I have to test, feed, and shoot. brb.
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274 +10 133 +11.75 59 +12 68

Wow - Vyktor is really working that juice these days! It's a good thing you caught up on some sleep during the day!!
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274 +10 133 +11.75 59 +12 68

Whoo hoo, shot, here we go again. I'm really glad I didn't go to work today in favour of sleep too (looks like it might be a two day flu) and it would be a shame to waste last nights tin of HC that he only had a tsp from :lol: Also I raced out this arvo to get more strips. I am a bit worried about them because they are new and no longer need coding - just like the freestyle lite strips I was using and by the same manufacturers. Since I am in the west I couldn't ring them today to check if the actual strip content has changed or not because they were already closed, was going to do that tomorrow.

Might be a good idea to use them as a preference tonight since the problem with the other ones was at high numbers?

Will get a +0.5
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274 +10 133 +11.75 59 PMPS 68

He's eating his LC breffis now, and you're going to test again in 30, right?
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274 +10 133 +11.75 59 PMPS 68

He's not eating right now, he is free fed so he doesn't always eat right on shot time. I am confident he will eat though and especially confident he will eat his HC if it's offered, he was very excited about that last night :lol:

Will get +0.5
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor AMPS 250 +4 274 +10 133 +11.75 59 PMPS 68

Okay, I'm going to be leaving in about a half hour. You know when to test, and when to bump the numbers up with HC.

Have a good evening, you two cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50

Vyktor is wrangling for a reducie. Have an appropriately exciting night Serryn. No heart stopping moments, though. I hope your two day flu isn't bad. You wouldn't want to go to work and spread the "OMG I need some sleep" virus. :lol:
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50

With that 50, I would give LC with HC gravy.
Remember, you don't want him to fill up. You may need him to eat several times, over the course of the evening.
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63

Looks like the HC is doing it's job and Vyktor missed his reduction by a bee's appendage.

Used the new strips for this test just in case they read lower and he earned the reducie - doh! should have done that on the last test :lol:

Testing again in 30-40 mins
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63

Wow and very exciting condo, go Vyktor! :mrgreen: I've been watching your condo.
Serryn, thank you for your kind thoughts and words yesterday concerning my neighbor/friend.
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63

Serryn,

Dyana asked me to look in on you since she had to leave. I will be around for about an hour.

Have you gotten another test? Can you please post the latest #?


Desi
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63

Thanks Desi +1.3 is 81 looks like that tsp of HC has legs and maybe we will have a surfing spectacular like last night :mrgreen:

Will test again in 40 mins - that will make it +2
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63 +1.3 81

What a nice cycle for Vyktor! It will be interesting to see what happens over the next few days. Looks like he is definitely wanting a reduction.
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63 +1.3 81

i gotta go jump in the shower but i will brb.

looks like you have this under control...just keep testing, i'll keep watching.

Go Vyktor & Serryn! Great job!
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63 +1.3 81

Oh! Another exciting night for you two! Is this an indication that Vyktors need a reduced dose in his next cycle? This is good new, is it?!
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63 +1.3 81 +2 61

This is better than good news Helen it is fantubulous news :-D He hasn't quite earned a reduction yet (he needs to go under 50) but he is getting very close and we hope it will happen soon - how long can a girl have the flu :lol:

He ate a little LC ten minutes before +2 but just a little. I'm just giving him small amounts at a time so he doesn't fill up - mind you the way he looks when he gets his HC I think he could be full to exploding and he'd still eat that :lol:

Testing again in 30 mins
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63 +1.3 81 +2 61

Serryn --

Can you put a note in the comments section of Vyktor's SS re. when you're giving HC? With the fast, early drops, it seems like you're having to work rather hard to keep Vyktor's numbers up. Having info on when/what you're feeding will help us to sort that out. (It will also help you see patterns with food, how carb sensitive Vyktor is, etc.)
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63 +1.3 81 +2 61

Look at all that green! Vyktor is flirting with the 40's and just wants some extra attention from you. Hope you had a great day and get some rest tonight!
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63 +1.3 81 +2 61

Vyktors Mum said:
(looks like it might be a two day flu)
:lol: :lol: :lol:
 

Attachments

  • BOS.jpg
    BOS.jpg
    21.4 KB · Views: 862
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63 +1.3 81 +2 61

Thanks Sienne have added the HC. Previously I have been noting all his food intake that I catch but I am behind by about two weeks :oops: is that information valuable to you because I do have it all in a notebook and can put it in to his ss

Do you think this is early dropping from the PM shot or late dropping from the AM? I have been assuming he has been dropping late from his previous shot as in the past his insulin hasn't generally started kicking in until +3/+4

+2.5 61 - showing off how Aussies are the surfing champions of the world :mrgreen:
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63 +1.3 81 +2 61

I have to leave for tbp now but i see you are in good hands. i will try to ck on you from tbp but don't know yet if i can access this site from there.

good job!

surf it out Vyktor.

desi
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 +0.5 50 +0.8 63

OH MY GOODNESS!!!!!!!!!1

LOOK WHAT SPECTACULAR NUMBERS I ALMOST MISSED!!!!!

Vyktors Mum said:
Looks like the HC is doing it's job and Vyktor missed his reduction by a bee's appendage.

Animation03pgif.gif
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 0.5-50 0.8-63 1.3-81 2-61 2.5-61 3-

Nice surfing from Vyktor :mrgreen: He did eat a little LC at +2 so I will continue with half hourly checks until +4 and then if he's still surfing like this and hasn't eaten in the meantime will drop back to hourly tests - does that sound like a safe plan?
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS 68 0.5-50 0.8-63 1.3-81 2-61 2.5-61 3-

I don't know that I'd conclude that Vyktor's onset is at +3 or +4 -- at least not consistently. I see days when onset is at +2. Even is onset is a bit later in the cycle, I would expect that Lantus is wearing off by +9. I don't think Vyktor has a consistent late nadir. What some of this looks like to me is a bounce breaking. I'm also not sure that it matters in the context of how hard you may have to work to get his numbers to come back up.

Having info re. when you're giving HC will help.
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor PMPS68 .5-50 .8-63 1.3-81 2-61 .5-61 3-67 .

He certainly is an inconsistent kitty I am so lucky that he's easy going about all the testing :smile:

So it is only the HC food you want to know about in his ss then?
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor +4 50

1 tsp HC and a little LC food given. Will continue testing at 30 min intervals.

Not sure what to do when you run out of room for all the tests in the subject line so I've just started fresh...

That bees appendage is still getting in the way of his reduction :lol:
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor +4 50

A little low carb = 0.75 ounces, just gave him another serve because he wanted more food. I know I don't want to fill him up (I do think he'll eat the HC regardless though) but what do you do when they're low and wanting food but you don't want to give them more HC than they have to???

ETA: my guess is he'll be right to have his ears rested for an hour now but unless someone agrees with me I will continue with the 30 min testing
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor +4 50 HC +4.5 70

Hi Serryn, Vyktor is keeping you busy again tonight! Since you just gave HC at +4, I would keep testing every 30 minutes for now, he may drop back down when it wears off. I generally suggest continuing to monitor every 30 minutes after you give HC for at least 2 hours...that's just my personal rule of thumb. Numbers can wobble around, I would not assume that he will stay up at 70.

It's fine to give a tsp or so of LC, sometimes that encourages them to get up on the surfboard! Just keep it to small amounts at a time so he won't fill up.

What you did with the subject line is fine! It's important to have the most current tests in there, the rest can be looked at on the SS if necessary. I always left the PS test in there too, but it's ok like it is.

Regarding noting food on the SS....I kept track of all food on my SS, but my system was kind of busy and distracting, IMHO. Some people add a column on the right and put it all there, some people use an * to indicate when they gave food in the box (+hour) and put notes for HC in the comments. Keeping notes on feeding will help you see what works for Vyktor.

There are times when it is a good idea to reduce even if the cat does not "earn" the reduction. Having to work too hard to keep numbers up is one consideration....hence the suggestion to keep notes on the SS, particularly when you feed HC. While I don't like suggesting unearned reductions, there are times when it makes sense to do that.
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor +4 50 HC +4.5 70

Jeepers creepers my whole suburb has been blacked out for the last 2 hrs so glad I had a practice run last night :lol: updating everything now all is well.
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor +4 50 HC +4.5 70

Hi guys, wow what an exciting condo to read up on! I am sure vyktor will be getting that reduction soon .. VERY soon .. way to go guys!
 
Re: 03/13 Vyktor +4 50 HC +4.5 70 +5 56 .5 63 +6 56 .5 56 +7

Well that was all a bit interesting. The whole suburb blacked out at 11pm, just before +5 :o breathe, breathe, breathe. OK MumBeam into action. Grab the torch and check the battery situation - not good no spares :shock: Find Vyktor and take +5 BG with torch in mouth. Ring electricity company - recorded message - estimated time until electricity returning 1.30am :shock: Protect the Lantus Protect the Lantus - take cat food supplies and all other neccessities out of fridge and close door firmly not to be opened again (okay the drinks for MumBean probably didn't count as neccessities but what else was I going to do sitting in the dark!). Feed Vyktor a little HC and dash to the 24 hour shop for batteries - it was a complete blackout so no street or traffic lights which made that little expedition an interesting adventure in itself. Spend three times as much as I would have at the supermarket on batteries - $25 :shock: dash back home for our +5.5 test by torchlight - very romantic - well Vyktor seemed to think so anyway judging by his purrs :lol: Next problem how do I stay awake sitting doing nothing by torchlight. The hot water here is gas so the dishes that have been staring at me all weekend finally get done - bonus! +6.5 test completed with torch in mouth, Vyktor losing his sense of humour a little took a couple of attempts. Wander around the house for a while wondering what other chores I can do in the dark. Power back 40 minutes ahead of estimate. Breathe sigh of relief, laugh at Vyktors startled face as everything turns back on and get +7 minus the torch in my mouth.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top