03/13, Mia, PMPS 200

Billyjoe A

Member Since 2021
Evening all! I have spent the last little while reading through the TR procedures and had a few questions.

Am I testing enough to use TR protocols? Night is easy to test on schedule, however I found it harder this week to get the +6 during the day. I am home for the next nine days and can test anytime. Given the data in my spreadsheet, are there any other times that you suggest I test to fill in data gap’s?

TR suggests holding the initial dose For 5 to 7 days. Should I continue with the .5 dose to collect more data and to establish the depot? I had a few days at the beginning where the dose fluctuated.

Looking at the data I have, it would suggest an increase in dose when I am ready? Nadir’s are typically above 100 and pre shots are typically above 200.

thank you for answering A novice’s questions as I try to make sure I understand dosing!

previous thread:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/o3-10-mia-pmps-137-30min-166.244473/
 
Am I testing enough to use TR protocols?
Absolutely, the minimum is the two preshots plus at least one other test each cycle for a minimum of 4 per day. So you are doing well. :)
however I found it harder this week to get the +6 during the day.
There is no requirement to test at +6. You ideally would like to test when the nadir or low point is, and that requires a bit more testing to figure out when that is for Mia. +6 is the typical nadir time, but we are dealing with cats, who often don't like to be predictable. :p My girl mostly liked +7 to +9, but sometimes a 3 hours earlier, or 3 hours later. The jury is still out, but looks like Mia might like to nadir more times earlier than +6.

As for the depot, it should be established by now, as she's been on insulin longer than 5-7 days. Typically when a cat sees some numbers under 100 at a dose, we suggest holding it for 10 cycles. The reduced dose on the night of 3/10 restarted the cycle count. That would make tonight cycle 6.

Keep on asking questions as you need to. We love to help here.
 
Back
Top