03/12 | Zot | AMPS 92, +2 69, +4 73, +7 76, +10 82

ThisIsAllForZot

Member Since 2025
Zot seems pretty constipated still today, before his switch to a wetfood diet he was pooping 2-4 times a day. Hopefully, this will get better soon.

He is still very happy and vocal. Woke me up at 4 AM screaming, which scared me. I thought something was wrong. But he just wanted to show me the stuffed pink monkey he found (he carries toys around in his mouth and screams a lot). Dropped it right on my pillow.

Spending his afternoon watching the stray kitties outside.

EDIT: Somehow always manage to space this, Yesterdays: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-88-amps-stall-2-82-5-77.299044/#post-3252979
 
Last edited:
When they make that weird noise (when they are carrying something in their mouth) in the middle of the night it always scares me too.

2 to 4 times a day to poop seems like a lot to me, but ECID.
I used to give Miralax, but if that didn't work I would give one dose of lactulos (sp) and that seemed to help.
I'm glad he likes the pumpkin so much. Maybe he knows it's good for him.
Maybe try giving a bit more twice per day or giving it to him 3 times a day? It should help.

My vet gave me some powdered fiber to give to my constipated 20+ year old kidney cat, but she passed away before it could help her :(
 
Nice start this morning :D:bighug:

About yesterday
You said

Does this look okay for now? I can put it like this until I figure out how to do a blank line. And is my signature okay?

I said
Looks perfect you don't need the blank line it's fine like you did it. One thing on the top of your spreadsheet after you have TR for the dosing method just add the date 3-11 :bighug::cat:
Nice start this morning :D
@ThisIsAllForZot
 
When they make that weird noise (when they are carrying something in their mouth) in the middle of the night it always scares me too.

2 to 4 times a day to poop seems like a lot to me, but ECID.
I used to give Miralax, but if that didn't work I would give one dose of lactulos (sp) and that seemed to help.
I'm glad he likes the pumpkin so much. Maybe he knows it's good for him.
Maybe try giving a bit more twice per day or giving it to him 3 times a day? It should help.

My vet gave me some powdered fiber to give to my constipated 20+ year old kidney cat, but she passed away before it could help her :(

Yes, he always does that. He never actually plays with toys on his own, but he will carry them around and scream like something is horribly wrong. I woke up in a panic, just to see him standing over me with a stuffed monkey haha. My heart was basically beating out of my chest.

I am unsure, he's just always pooped a lot, but he also ate quite a lot before diabetes. So that may be why this feels very significant.
I will look into lactulos, can you just buy it anywhere?
Pumpkin will up to 3 times a day and hope to see progress, thank you.
 
You need a vets script for it
By the way that was so cute about the toy monkey :cat:
@ThisIsAllForZot

Thank you. I will speak to my vet about it.

Isn't it? He's so silly sometimes. I don't even know where he found it, to be honest. It's not mine. Must have pulled it out of one of the storage bins in the room he sleeps in or something.
I was also glad to hear that my cat's not the only one who picks toys up and screams a really odd meow.
 
I found this posted by one of our members

The lactulose is actually a sugar, but it is only contained within the GI tract, so that doesn’t affect Max’s BG either. Some vets don’t want to give it to diabetic cats because of that. My vet explained and understands that it doesn’t affect BG, but alot of them don’t understand that. It works pretty well for Max. Good luck to you! Let us know how it’s going.


From me
I wouldn't know how much lactulose to start with, but I know some people give both miralax and the
lactulose . You would have to post and ask how much to start with. Maybe first try increasing the miralax and the pumpkin first.. Did Zot like the pumpkin?
@ThisIsAllForZot

Edit also found this
Lactulose should not have an effect on blood glucose levels. On occasion, some cats do have higher BG levels but it is not a typical response.
 
Last edited:
I found this posted by one of our members

The lactulose is actually a sugar, but it is only contained within the GI tract, so that doesn’t affect Max’s BG either. Some vets don’t want to give it to diabetic cats because of that. My vet explained and understands that it doesn’t affect BG, but alot of them don’t understand that. It works pretty well for Max. Good luck to you! Let us know how it’s going.


From me
I wouldn't know how much lactulose to start with, but I know some people give both miralax and the
lactulose . You would have to post and ask how much to start with. Maybe first try increasing the miralax and the pumpkin first.. Did Zot like the pumpkin?
@ThisIsAllForZot

Will do. Thanks so much for all the helpful information! Zot loves the pumpkin. Maybe I should try miralax at both AM/PM meals?

Zot just read his first number under 70.
 
When they make that weird noise (when they are carrying something in their mouth) in the middle of the night it always scares me too.

2 to 4 times a day to poop seems like a lot to me, but ECID.
I used to give Miralax, but if that didn't work I would give one dose of lactulos (sp) and that seemed to help.
I'm glad he likes the pumpkin so much. Maybe he knows it's good for him.
Maybe try giving a bit more twice per day or giving it to him 3 times a day? It should help.

My vet gave me some powdered fiber to give to my constipated 20+ year old kidney cat, but she passed away before it could help her :(

Omg I didn't see the last bit of this post. I am so sorry about your precious furbaby. :(
 
Thank you. 20 years seems to go somehow. so fast.

Time passes far quicker than we sometimes grasp. Sometimes, 5 years can feel like 5 minutes.
All the grief and sadness we feel for our furbabies and loved ones is all of the affection and love we didn't finish sharing with them.
I saw the 20th birthday condo! Beautiful! Such a sweetheart. Love that little nosey.
 
Back
Top