03/12 Sly, AMPS 215, +2 138, +4 91, +6 94, +10 118, +12 84, PMPS 105, +1 108, +2 131, +4 206

Deb and Sylvester

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-343-9-300-pmps-196-2-148-4-126-5-146.275144/

Good morning!

For the first time, this morning, Sly moved and got up to walk away while I was doing his injection. The syringe came out, and I had to reinsert and finish injecting the dose. I don't think any of the insulin was lost.

Only thing I can think of, is the insulin may have been a little colder than normal. I generally take it out of the fridge 10 minutes prior, but didn't this morning.
 
Last edited:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-343-9-300-pmps-196-2-148-4-126-5-146.275144/

Good morning!

For the first time, this morning, Sly moved and got up to walk away while I was doing his injection. The syringe came out, and I had to reinsert and finish injecting the dose. I don't think any of the insulin was lost.

Only thing I can think of, is the insulin may have been a lottle colder than normal. I generally take it out of the fridge 10 minutes prior, but didn't this morning.
Beautiful blues last night and good AMPS.
Sly walked away or ran away? If he ran from you then maybe think about the possible reasons why but if he started to stroll then I think the answer is 'because cat'!
 
Beautiful blues last night and good AMPS.
Sly walked away or ran away? If he ran from you then maybe think about the possible reasons why but if he started to stroll then I think the answer is 'because cat'!

I think because the insulin was colder than normal. He abruptly got up and jerked away, and I said, where are you going!! I just stuck the syringe back in and completed the dose.

Normally I have it out on the counter about 15 minutes before I shoot, but I woke up at 10 to 7 and didn't want to be late with his dose.
 
Beautiful blues last night and good AMPS.
Sly walked away or ran away? If he ran from you then maybe think about the possible reasons why but if he started to stroll then I think the answer is 'because cat'!

5.5 is a sizeable dose. A dose that size isn't as quick as a unit or 2, so it helps for the insulin to not be fridge cold, they can feel it.
 
5.5 is a sizeable dose. A dose that size isn't as quick as a unit or 2, so it helps for the insulin to not be fridge cold, they can feel it.
Absolutely true. I've read on here that Lantus can sometimes sting.
You amaze me! You really know your cat. When I read "and I said, where are you going!!" I spit out a bit of my coffee :joyful:.
Excited to see where Sly is at +2. :nailbiting:
 
Absolutely true. I've read on here that Lantus can sometimes sting.
You amaze me! You really know your cat. When I read "and I said, where are you going!!" I spit out a bit of my coffee :joyful:.
Excited to see where Sly is at +2. :nailbiting:


LOL
I have good reflexes, because my last sugar cat had skin issues, and sometimes he'd jerk, because his skin was sensitive.

I knew when Sly started to move, "TAKE YOUR THUMB OFF THE PLUNGER!" I grabbed the needle off his back and looked, I was so happy it was still in the syringe and not on his back!
 
Now in hindsight, should I have redrawn what was in the syringe? I hope there was no contamination from it landing on his back.

I worry about everything :nailbiting:
 
No. Don't worry. :)

I see he is going to keep you busy today. What do you have in slightly higher carbs? Have you decided on a lower reduction number? 70 work?

I just get nervous that there could be contamination on the needle, it didn't land needle down or anything, I have worry anxiety!!

I have FF gravy as far as wet food.. And I think some DM canned. Everything else is dry high carb, or treats.

70 is good for me!

I have to clean my shelter cage, so I'm going to check him in 5 to make sure he's not diving hard before I go outside. I can clean it in increments, coming in to check him periodically.
 
No. Don't worry. :)

I see he is going to keep you busy today. What do you have in slightly higher carbs? Have you decided on a lower reduction number? 70 work?

I can remember one time, I literally juggled a needle, it never touched anything and then Luigi moved and I dosed myself :confused:
 
Going to check him at +3, 10 minutes.

He did eat good this morning, they are liking the Friskies, so he's eating more wet at "meal" times. He's eating a few YA right now,and already has had his AM allotment. At +4 he gets broth, so I hope he levels off, because I don't want to overfeed either.

Then I'll just run and clean the plates and litter boxes for the rescues, I can always clean the cage after we pass nadir.
 
You might want to reduce the meal size at PS so he is hungry enough for more later in the cycle. A tsp after every test is enough to keep him surfing.

Ok, he's always hungry... FOR KIBBLES! He's going to give me agida!! That's Italian for making me eat my elbows!

I'll try not to overdo breakfast. Maybe if I do the wet (which I want him to eat), I can wait until +1 to let him have kibbles...

Naturally when they're in normal range, they aren't always hungry, another caveat!!
 
No, I tested at 15 before PMPS, it was 92,

Now at PMPS, he's 84.

I don't want to stall, so I split a can of Gravy between the 3 of them, and I think I'm going to shoot...:nailbiting: what do you think?
I admire the gusto! Pretty flat for those 15 minutes.
Are you prepared to monitor, have enough test strips and HC or karo/syrup? I just fed myself and my furbaby so I'm all yours. :)
 
I admire the gusto! Pretty flat for those 15 minutes.
Are you prepared to monitor, have enough test strips and HC or karo/syrup? I just fed myself and my furbaby so I'm all yours. :)

I do, I only have light Caro and honey, oh I have maple syrup too. I have lots of dry MC and HC, some FF gravy and some DM wet,

I also have empty syringes in case I need to administer syrup by mouth.

Maybe I should stall another 10 minutes and see if he comes up a little...
 
I do, I only have light Caro and honey, oh I have maple syrup too. I have lots of dry MC and HC, some FF gravy and some DM wet,

I also have empty syringes in case I need to administer syrup by mouth.

Maybe I should stall another 10 minutes and see if he comes up a little...
Sly has been surfing very nicely for quite a few hours now. When was the last time he ate and what % carb was it? Numbers can decrease without food.
 
Sly has been surfing very nicely for quite a few hours now. When was the last time he ate and what % carb was it? Numbers can decrease without food.

He had a some Friskies pate at +9.5 I think it's 5% and a little YA kibbles 6%. I did let him eat the gravy food and his YA at PMPS, he was ready for a meal. He's going to rise, I'll stall a few more minutes, test and shoot.
 
Good shooting tonight! :) You've shot a 103 before, am curious to see if this looks similar tonight. BTW, a skinny dose at Sylvester's size of dose won't have much of an impact on this cycle.

Great assist by Angela today.

I think that's a mistake on my SS, I am pretty sure I stalled that night.. I can't see it right now, I'm on my cell, and my work laptop is charging. I will try to correct that.

But yes this is my lowest shoot ! :confused:
 
Back
Top