? 03/12 - Bandit - AMPS (240) +3 (225) - Dosing advice please?

Bandit's Mom

Member Since 2019
Previous thread - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-05-bandit-amps-133-3-87-6-97.226591/

Just wanted someone experienced to take a look at Bandit's SS and see if anything makes sense to them - because it doesn't to me!

I am following SLGS because she is on Young Again Zero Carb kibble with a lowered reduction point of 60. Bandit has been showing cycles of yellows and pinks followed by 2-3 intense cycles of green. But her numbers are not coming down overall. Or so it seems to me.

I have taken reductions from 2.5 to the current dose of 1.75. She is due for an increase in 2 cycles - back to 2 units - if she doesn't do anything till then. I will not be surprised if, on the cycle of the increase, she suddenly spills into green again - like she did last time!

Would appreciate any advice on dosing!
 
Last edited:
Bandit is bouncing off of the green numbers. It also looks like the last reduction isn't holding.

In all likelihood, you're going to need to increase but it's a "wait and see" what the numbers tell you.

How would you feel about eliminating that last snack? I don't think it's helping the numbers. In fact, giving a snack after nadir may be causing the numbers later in the cycle through pre-shot to be a bit higher. There's less insulin available to offset the effect of food.
 
Bandit is bouncing off of the green numbers. It also looks like the last reduction isn't holding.

Yes, that's what it looked like when I took the back-to-back reduction from 2.5 to 2.25 to 2 and then suddenly a tide of greens. I don't know why that happens.


How would you feel about eliminating that last snack? I don't think it's helping the numbers. In fact, giving a snack after nadir may be causing the numbers later in the cycle through pre-shot to be a bit higher. There's less insulin available to offset the effect of food.

Even if it a few grains of YA kibble? So I should restrict her eating to the first 4-5 hours of the cycle?
Sometimes I find that keeping her off food for 6-8 hours gives her acidity and she pukes bile. Not often but it has happened.
 
Looks like the depot was full and you got a nice run of green numbers...

It has happened more than once and I wonder why it is like that - especially since she sees higher numbers on the same dose for days and then suddenly a tide of greens. It is almost like the insulin doesn't get released every day from her depot and then releases all together after a few days. If that makes any sense.
 
Back
Top