? 03-11 Panzer PMPS 142/122@+4/Panzer just puked /131@+8 gave Dr elsey's clean protein chicken

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
Panzer had a vet appointment today to recheck his urine for a UTI Everything was negative on it except he still had mobile cocci & WBC +3. He also vomited last night & refused to eat his normal food. He was eating baby food until I tried some tiki cat chicken this morning, he loved it & ate all of it & has been eating it all day. I gave him a dose of Cerenia @+4 PMPS feeding. I had a full blood panel done on him & fPLI test as well. He was also able to get some urine from Panzer's bladder to do a urinalysis. He doesn't think he has pancreatitis but I had the test done anyways to confirm. He should have the bloodwork back on Monday & then we will go from there. I bought some famotidine just incase he needs it, fingers & paws crossed that he doesn't. I tried Spook out on the new food & he wasn't having it, so he's still eating fancy feast for now. Panzer is still not feeling well, sleepy & not running around like usual but that's to be expected, my poor boy. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-07-panzer-pmps-95-89-2-81-3-85-4-93-7.260343/
 
Panzer had a vet appointment today to recheck his urine for a UTI Everything was negative on it except he still had mobile cocci & WBC +3. He also vomited last night & refused to eat his normal food. He was eating baby food until I tried some tiki cat chicken this morning, he loved it & ate all of it & has been eating it all day. I gave him a dose of Cerenia @+4 PMPS feeding. I had a full blood panel done on him & fPLI test as well. He was also able to get some urine from Panzer's bladder to do a urinalysis. He doesn't think he has pancreatitis but I had the test done anyways to confirm. He should have the bloodwork back on Monday & then we will go from there. I bought some famotidine just incase he needs it, fingers & paws crossed that he doesn't. I tried Spook out on the new food & he wasn't having it, so he's still eating fancy feast for now. Panzer is still not feeling well, sleepy & not running around like usual but that's to be expected, my poor boy. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-07-panzer-pmps-95-89-2-81-3-85-4-93-7.260343/
He just puked again yellow bile this time
 
Is your vet open tomorrow. I’m sorry to even ask it, but if he keeps throwing up then I am thinking an injection of Cerenia may be more effective.
 
Is your vet open tomorrow. I’m sorry to even ask it, but if he keeps throwing up then I am thinking an injection of Cerenia may be more effective.
No they are closed until Monday. He said something about giving him & injection while we were there but said it would be very painful for him.
 
I wish he had also given you some Ondansetron.
When was the last time he pooped?
He pooped right after his +4 feeding PMPS. I wish he had of too. He said they don't have ondansetron there but something that started with an m? Maybe I could call or email them tomorrow about getting some. I know they won't be there but maybe I can get some.
 
He took it but I'm not sure how to wash it down, I never see him drink water.
Got any tuna in the house? You can give a little with a little water mixed in so it’s not too strong. Any other liquid flavors he might like if you don’t have any? Anything else he likes? Plain yogurt? Chicken meat? Another pill pocket is okay too.
 
Got any tuna in the house? You can give a little with a little water mixed in so it’s not too strong. Any other liquid flavors he might like if you don’t have any? Anything else he likes? Plain yogurt? Chicken meat? Another pill pocket is okay too.
I do have tuna in water but I will try another pill pocket first.
 
He pooped right after his +4 feeding PMPS. I wish he had of too. He said they don't have ondansetron there but something that started with an m? Maybe I could call or email them tomorrow about getting some. I know they won't be there but maybe I can get some.
You have to get Ondansetron from a human pharmacy with a prescription from the vet. They don’t stock it since it’s a human med.

Don’t use Metaclopramide (probably what he had). It’s got dangers associated with it and isn’t very effective really.
 
You have to get Ondansetron from a human pharmacy with a prescription from the vet. They don’t stock it since it’s a human med.

Don’t use Metaclopramide (probably what he had). It’s got dangers associated with it and isn’t very effective really.
Ok good to know I will try & get in contact with them tomorrow
 
Here’s info on Metaclopramide. Just read it if they try to push it off on you tomorrow.

Metoclopramide (Reglan or Emeprid)

Metoclopramide is a prescription medication which works by regulating stomach contractions. This means it can help with nausea caused by a lack of motility in the stomach. Pet Place has some information about gastric motility problems in cats.



Since metoclopramide can cross the blood/brain barrier, it also acts on the brain to control feelings of nausea. However, it appears that it is not actually particularly effective in cats. Current approaches to vomiting in cats and puppies (2013) Gaschen FP, Lee JA, Parnell N, Richter K, Tams TR, Twedt D & Gloyd K Pfizer Roundtable Discussion states "I don’t use metoclopramide in cats anymore. I am not completely convinced it is that effective as an antiemetic in cats. Evidence suggests that cats don’t have dopamine receptors in the chemoreceptor trigger zone, which is metoclopramide’s site of action."



When I first set up this website in 2000, quite a few people used metoclopramide for their cats if the histamine H2 antagonists were not sufficient. I do not recall there being too many problems with the medication over subsequent years. In 2009, the US Food and Drug Administration issued a warning regarding the chronic use of metoclopramide because this had been linked to a condition called tardive dyskinesia, i.e. involuntary and repetitive movements of the body, which may continue even after the treatment is stopped. One such movement mentioned by the FDA is lipsmacking (although it should be noted that lipsmacking in CKD cats is normally caused by excess stomach acid or nausea, anaemia or dehydration). The FDA therefore recommends that products containing metoclopramide should not be used for longer than three months.



In July 2013 the European Medicines Agency went further and announced that metoclopramide should only be used short term (up to five days) and that it should only be used in adults "for the prevention and treatment of nausea and vomiting such as that associated with chemotherapy, radiotherapy, surgery and in the management of migraine." In addition, it recommended that dosages should be lowered.



Obviously these warnings apply to humans, but since there are now other treatments available as outlined above which are far more effective and carry fewer risks, I would only use metoclopramide as a last resort. Be sure to discuss these warnings with your vet before using metoclopramide.



Veterinary Partner has more information on metoclopramide.



Pet Placealso has some information.



Metoclopramide Dosages

Metoclopramide comes in 10 and 5mg tablets or a liquid. Injectable metoclopramide is also available as 5mg/ml in 2 ml or 10 ml vials. It must be given 20-30 minutes before eating.



A typical dose would be 0.1 to 0.2 mg per pound (0.2 to 0.5 mg per kg) every six to eight hours, so a 10lb (4.5kg) cat would get 1 mg to 2 mg at a time. Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook mentions that dosages may need to be reduced in animals with kidney disease, so be guided by your vet.



Metoclopramide Side Effects and Interactions

Please see the important warning above.



Metoclopramide may have various side effects, including constipation, hyperactivity and agitation or drowsiness.



Metoclopramide also lowers the seizure threshold, so should not be given to cats prone to seizures. Drugsmentions that it may increase the risk of bronchospasm in asthmatics, and intravenous metoclopramide may worsen hypertension (high blood pressure).



I used to recommend giving metoclopramide at least two hours apart from famotidine (Pepcid AC) or ranitidine (Zantac 75) because, according to Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook, the metoclopramide could bind with these other medications and reduce their effectiveness. However, the most recent edition of Plumb's does not mention this interaction, so it appears that you do not need to separate metoclopramide from these other medications after all.



Using metoclopramide as well as mirtazapine (appetite stimulant) increases the risk of serotonin syndrome. You can read more about this and what to watch for here.



Drs Foster and Smithhave some information about possible side effects. They also mention that metoclopramide is similar to PABA, the sunscreen component, so people who are allergic to PABA should not touch metoclopramide
 
If you are going to give it twice a day, I would only do the 2.5 mg dose. It is excreted by the kidneys. I do not know if Panzer’s kidneys are impaired, but the dose would be reduced if they are.
Are the pills you got 5 mg or 10 mg? I would only give 2.5 mg in the morning.
I hope he’s going to feel better soon! I’m so sorry. I am going to bed now. I will check on Panzer in the morning.
 
I would be very hesitant to give insulin if he is eating nothing. You will have to make that call tomorrow though since you have no idea what he will be in BG or eating
When I called it gave 2 emergency vet #s & said I could leave a msg but it won't be checked until Monday :(
 
I was just about to say, at these numbers and dose I would be very hesitant to give any

It's a bit odd his BG isn't higher right now honestly
It's test time & feed time in 30mins I doubt he will eat but we will see. I probably won't do insulin at 330am if he's not eating, I just don't want him to develop ketones.
 
I just brought a bag b of Dr elsey's clean protein chicken in where I had it hidden in the car from him. He is all over it trying to chew a whole in the bag. Should I try giving him a little @feed time in 20mins? @FrostD
 
I just brought a bag b of Dr elsey's clean protein chicken in where I had it hidden in the car from him. He is all over it trying to chew a whole in the bag. Should I try giving him a little @feed time in 20mins? @FrostD
If it is all he will eat, I would give him a little. Not too much all at once because he may throw up. Then he can have more later if he wants it. Dr Elsey’s never affected Darcy’s BG much at all but ECID. Sometimes when he was sick it’s all he would eat. I’m actually in the bed now so I’m really signing off now (my cat who’s been acting crazy all day just had liquid diarrhea and of course it ran onto her feet. She was really mad when I had to clean her up - I hope she won’t do it again tonight!).
 
If it is all he will eat, I would give him a little. Not too much all at once because he may throw up. Then he can have more later if he wants it. Dr Elsey’s never affected Darcy’s BG much at all but ECID. Sometimes when he was sick it’s all he would eat. I’m actually in the bed now so I’m really signing off now (my cat who’s been acting crazy all day just had liquid diarrhea and of course it ran onto her feet. She was really mad when I had to clean her up - I hope she won’t do it again tonight!).
Ok thank you. Hopefully your kitty feels better goodnight.
 
Panzer ate a little bit of Dr elsey's clean chicken protein (Iadded a tablespoonof water) & a few licks of baby food. Watching now to see if he keeps it down :cat:
 
Panzer ate a little bit of Dr elsey's clean chicken protein (Iadded a tablespoonof water) & a few licks of baby food. Watching now to see if he keeps it down :cat:
Panzer was @109 AMPS did not shoot due to poor eating & vomiting. Fed him Dr elseys again & 2 tsps of baby food (refused pate) gave Famotidine in pill pocket
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top