03/11 Frankie AMPS 416

Status
Not open for further replies.
It will be fine hon. It is actually made to be left at room temp and even carried in a purse or pocket for human use. We only store it in the fridge to extend the life of it since kitties take much smaller doses than humans do. Now it might not last as long as it would if that hadn't happened, but it will still have plenty of life left in it. Just as long as it stays clear and has no floaties its good to go.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
You should be fine.
You have numbers and are getting a good understanding at how food effects her and getting the patterns out.
Since you've reduced the dose give her a day or three to get it out of her system and then curve with the new dose.

And I've left out the Lev plenty of times overnight. I try not to do it in the summer time though :lol:
 
You're more observant than me Dan, I didn't notice people run curves after a dose reduction. :o

Doesn't make sense to me, you can almost bet they'll be higher until they settle into the dose, seems like waiting a few days and see how they do, would be a better idea. Then run a curve. But that's just me, I always question the 'why's'...

Ok someone chime in and tell me why you would curve immediately after reducing a dose, I'm all about info. :-D
 
I have no idea why anyone would run a curve right after a dose reduction or a dose increase that matter unless it was being done on an insulin like PZI that is an in & out insulin. Certainly not on a depot insulin like Lantus or Levemir because just like it takes 3-5 days in the very beginning to fill that depot, it is going to take about 3 days for it either to fill to the new dose or drain down to the new dose, thus you will still have part of that previous dosage amount in play.

Also curves are used to adjust the dose when you aren't testing 6 - 8 times a day and only grabbing preshots and spot checks, or to find the nadir. And then there is what is affectionately known as the NDW (New dose wonkiness) where you will a lot of times see weird erratic numbers from that combination of a new dose and the residual shed playing against each other.

Typically here at least the dose is held for a week, unless a reduction is earned) then a curve is run to determine how they are settling on the dose to re-evalute the dose at that point. The based on those numbers it is either raised, lowered, or held to settle some more unless they are still bouncing off a lower than normal for them number.

Hope that all made sense, I'm just waking back up from a much needed nap...daylight savings time always wipes me for a couple of days, body clock just doesn't reset like it use to when I was younger...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Maybe I was just getting that from MOM reducing the dose on Autumn... But Frankie is looking good at +4.25 349... hoping for a slow drop into the low 100s. We will see. Also we have confirmation that the twins are boys!!
 
BOYS!! Yay!!! :thumbup Love my boys! Although I had hoped for a girl, too, I had 2 boys and, personally feel they are easier to raise, from what I saw with friends that had girls. :o

Thanks Mel. :-D
 
Thats what I hear too, but since we are for sure done this time... I was kind of hoping for a girl... but not 2... when we found out they were identical, I was more okay with not getting my girl ;-)
 
LOL You know I never noticed until now that MommaOfMuse comes out as MOM...figures since the time my kids were little all their friends have called me mom to the point that when DH and were first dating I had so many young men and women coming up to us and hugging me and calling me mom he actually asked one day "How MANY kids do you have I thought you said 2!" :lol: :lol:

If you were looking at all those tests on yesterday Dan with Autumn...that wasn't a curve that is my version of hypo watch with Autumn...you get to that point when you have truly learned your cat's patterns and know when to test every 30 and when a hour is good enough.. :-D I'm probably a really bad example to watch walk a cat out of hypo when it comes to Autumn because I just don't panic anymore, in fact if I wasn't posting here on a regular basis so that you guys can see how I work her insulin, yesterday wouldn't have even rated starting a thread. But then again as of this coming April 28th Autumn and I will have been dancing this dance for a year, and she has taught me to hear her music, so I instinctively just dance to her tune.

With her since I have seen her drop and surf the 20s without any outward signs I don't even pull out the high carb food, or karo (well ok on the 20s I did add a drop to her low carb food) but I just walk her back up with her regular low carb regular diet. But that is Autumn, and no one else, I have been collecting data on her long enough that I can pretty much guess what she is going to do and when she is going to do it, and have tailored how I handle an uber low number to her and her alone.

Congrats on the twin boys!!! As a mom of both genders I would gladly trade both the daughter and the step daughter for two boys anyday...lol Also when they become teenagers, with boys you only have to worry about one d*ck, with girls you have to worry about all the d*cks in the world..lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
:lol: I hear ya!

I had hoped for a girl both times, but it just wasn't meant to be. Of course, I found out later, there is nothing more obnoxious than an 8 yr old little girl. :lol:

Had several friends with girls and they have a stage they go thru apparently, OMG so obnoxious! At least with my boys, they didn't reach obnoxious until about 14-16 :lol:

Guess it's true what they say, girls mature faster. :o

Congrats! To you and wife!

Now when are they due?
 
Will be keeping fingers crossed for as long as possible, but I understand twins being born sooner, shoot, they run out of room! :lol:

Wife and babies are doing well, I hope? That's so exciting! :-D

Dr thought I was gonna have twins with my 2nd one, he was so big. Had C-section at 8.5 months and he was 9lbs 8oz 23 1/2 inches and doc said he would have been a 10lb+ baby, had we gone full term. :o Good Lord! :lol: He wore 3 month size clothing when he was a newborn! :lol: You just never know.
 
Everyone is healthy :-D Except me :shock: Mentally that is :razz:

So I must have caught Frankie on the back end, cause I got the exact same number... otherwise she flattened out at 349? Seems odd... but what do I know?
 
Flat is good right now...As I was telling Deb earlier with Lucian...normally high and flat signals an active cycle about to come up in the next couple of cycles. Plus right now with the dose reduction you still have some of the residual depot left over that are effecting her numbers today. It will take her about 3 days to get that depot adjusted to the new dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Flat always beats a spike in my book! :-D

But with my Lucian, you can bet $$ he'll spike. That's Lucian. :o I do expect to get 'greeted' by the meter tonight, although I would love to be surprised and have it NOT happen. :YMSIGH:
 
Dan and Frankie said:
Idk why I can't get my avatar pic small enough I've got it to 90x90 dpi... But I can'tget the size under 38k...any tthoughts?
I don't know; I use IrfanView to resize and haven't had a problem....
 
I use shrinkpictures.com and had no problem.

Here's the link:

Create Avatar


Someone on the boards gave the link to me when I first came, can't remember who, to give them the credit. @-)
 
I have Gimp that I used to resize mine as it lets me adjust by pixel count...it is a free download and you can do all kinds of neat stuff besides resize photos.

Much better pmps than she as getting on the 1u. At least she didn't jet all the way back up to the 400s again. Also since this is the first couple of cycles on the new dose, she has some of that depot left over that is effecting her numbers today as well...she will come back down again she just has to readjust to the dose...Look at Lucian on his dose reduction...flat all day and suddenly blue for pmps and it took him what like 4 or 5 days to adjust and come back down?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Mel, this is Lucian's 3rd day on the new dose, he's adjusting much quicker than he did the first several weeks. :-D

It takes time Dan, hang in there. :-D
 
I think I can give one example where running a curve immediately after a reduction makes sense.

Let's say Fluffy, dropped to 40 today, and you dropped the dose from 2.50 to 2.25.... Because like others have mentioned, it takes a couple of cycles or days for the effects of either a decrease or an increase to really show up on your spreadsheet, right?

So, for example:

AMPS 350 (shot 2.5u)
+3 200
+5 40!!!!
+5.5 55
+7 60
+10 90
PMPS 195 (reduced to 2.25u)

Question - who's concerned that tonight's cycle might be eventful?
If I were the "advisor", I'd be suggesting a +2 and +4 for starters, just in case Fluffy decided to drop into greens again. Because that 2.5u depot isn't just going to settle down to the new 2.25u dose, right? So I think in a case like this, where Fluffy has earned a definite reduction in dose, I'm keeping an eye out for back-to-back active cycles since she doesn't seem to have bounced at all from the AM cycle's drop to the 40s.

Make sense?

Carl
 
Thanks Carl, that's understandable. Kitty would have just as much a possibility of running low as on the previous cycle, because of the depot, right? Did I understand correctly?
 
Yes, that's the way I understand it. Sometimes, I've seen kitties drop on a cycle where a dose has been skipped, although I can't recall any that dropped into really low numbers. Same thing when people give what they call "BCS" doses. With a depot insulin, like Lantus or Lev, the effects of a dose change aren't normally instantaneous like they can be on an insulin like Prozinc.

Carl
 
You're welcome. I've been here for almost two years, and I learn something new just about every day!

Carl
 
I try! It's not learning that's a problem, but remembering :lol: My memory has shrunk to about a half inch long. :lol:
 
nckitties3 said:
It's not learning that's a problem, but remembering :lol: My memory has shrunk to about a half inch long. :lol:
OM Gee Debbie! That's me you're talking about :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Yes, The high's aren't as high. and the AMPS was only 350 today. I am here all day to monitor... so should I run a curve? Every 2 hours? Every 1 Hour? Thoughts? This is getting really interesting.
 
There are two types of curves so take your pick...either every 2 hours for a full curve or every 3 hours for a mini curve. Nice to see those preshots coming down that was what I was hoping to see.

Oh I also haven't asked in awhile...Are you still checking her every so often for Ketones? If not, if you can grab one of those tests too today that would be great info to have as well.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I'm reluctant to say that I still have not been able to get a test from her on keytones :sad: Although I have not place the box in the bathroom by the office, so I'm to blame. I will move her box down here today to see if I can get a test there.
 
I kind of doubt she is with the numbers she was getting and since she is eating well, but anytime you reduce a dose or they are in high numbers it is something to keep an eye on..just in case.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top