03/11 Bubba (failed reduction?) AMPS 490; +4.75 347; PMPS 261; +4.75 248

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

He was 27.2 / 490 AMPS this morning so I made the decision to increase to 6U - the “last good dose” where he had some greens that day of 6U. I guess the dose reduction has slowly been failing. Even though he had the 1 blue yesterday and 2 blues three days ago, he’s been in the yellows PMPS the past 6 days and more pinks AMPS. Also Bubbas last red was over 2 weeks ago :(
I’ll be home all day for the most part before Nx shift so I can monitor to see how this dose goes.
My poor booboo has been touchy lately - he was growly when my parents tried to do care for him yesterday, couldn’t even really pick him up either. And this morning he fussed when I picked him up. He’s on the bupe and onsior so he should be covered for helping with his pain. Not unless he needs something more now. He ate his breakfast lying down and about 35 min after eating, he threw it all up :( maybe the canned fish juice in his breakfast was bad :banghead: he ate another breakfast about 20min after throwing up so at least he has an appetite still.
Such a roller coaster when taking care of a geriatric cat :arghh::blackeye::(:nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
Thankfully my beastie went down today. Fingers crossed 6U works to bring him down nicely to the greens with no limes!
 
When you reduce the dose because they earned a reduction, you wait until the bounce is over and see where the nadirs land. If not green, the reduction failed. Bubba was only getting to mid blues, and it was over six cycles since the reduction, so it was good to increase.
 
When you reduce the dose because they earned a reduction, you wait until the bounce is over and see where the nadirs land. If not green, the reduction failed. Bubba was only getting to mid blues, and it was over six cycles since the reduction, so it was good to increase.
thanks Wendy... and the bounce after a reduction would look like an increase in BGs and once that increase has hopefully cleared (after 6 cycles/3days?)... then we could start seeing blue/green #s again. But if we don't see them, then it's time to increase the dose back up, right? I just want to make sure I understand this correctly lol thank you!

slight decrease tonight after PM shot
 
and the bounce after a reduction would look like an increase in BGs and once that increase has hopefully cleared (after 6 cycles/3days?)... then we could start seeing blue/green #s again. But if we don't see them, then it's time to increase the dose back up, right? I just want to make sure I understand this correctly lol thank you!
Yes. If the numbers stay higher even after enough time has passed for the bounce to clear and you don't get greens, that means he needs more insulin.
 
Back
Top