Heike & BInie
Member Since 2024
Hello everybody,
my last thread yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-10-binie-amps-500.287551/
We had a very rough night. After the shot yesterday evening Binies numbers dropped down from almost 500 to 118 in only five hours. I think it would have gone more down, if I wouldn't have given her lots of dry food, in the end also the "forbidden" one with lots of carbs.
I also noticed that there was always a huge gap between the freestyle numbers and the ear prick. The ear prick is always much lower (sometimes more than 100).
This morning before injection the libre showed a fast dropping bg again. I gave her breakfast and waited a bit but it didn't stopped. Yesterday my plan was to increase her from 2.25 IE to 2.5 IE today but this morning I went down to 1.75 IE because I panicked after the sleepless night.
Today the libre said "HI" most of the day but the spotcheck at +6 showed "only" 369 besides the number near to 500 on the libre.
Maybe I created the problem myself, because yesterday I tried to reduce her low carb dry food and feed more wet food to reduce the numbers. Maybe that was too much combined with the normal dose?
What should I give her tonight? I'm scared to give her 2,25 again but on the other hand I fear the ketones after this day with high numbers. What should I do? Does the drop show the dose is too high or I should hold the dose longer? I am really quite scared and thankful for any advice!
my last thread yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-10-binie-amps-500.287551/
We had a very rough night. After the shot yesterday evening Binies numbers dropped down from almost 500 to 118 in only five hours. I think it would have gone more down, if I wouldn't have given her lots of dry food, in the end also the "forbidden" one with lots of carbs.
I also noticed that there was always a huge gap between the freestyle numbers and the ear prick. The ear prick is always much lower (sometimes more than 100).
This morning before injection the libre showed a fast dropping bg again. I gave her breakfast and waited a bit but it didn't stopped. Yesterday my plan was to increase her from 2.25 IE to 2.5 IE today but this morning I went down to 1.75 IE because I panicked after the sleepless night.
Today the libre said "HI" most of the day but the spotcheck at +6 showed "only" 369 besides the number near to 500 on the libre.
Maybe I created the problem myself, because yesterday I tried to reduce her low carb dry food and feed more wet food to reduce the numbers. Maybe that was too much combined with the normal dose?
What should I give her tonight? I'm scared to give her 2,25 again but on the other hand I fear the ketones after this day with high numbers. What should I do? Does the drop show the dose is too high or I should hold the dose longer? I am really quite scared and thankful for any advice!

Is the bg always changing in these big drops? I hoped it would be more steady and smooth....