? 03/11 Binie - another big drop - dosing advice

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Hello everybody,

my last thread yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-10-binie-amps-500.287551/

We had a very rough night. After the shot yesterday evening Binies numbers dropped down from almost 500 to 118 in only five hours. I think it would have gone more down, if I wouldn't have given her lots of dry food, in the end also the "forbidden" one with lots of carbs. :(

I also noticed that there was always a huge gap between the freestyle numbers and the ear prick. The ear prick is always much lower (sometimes more than 100).

This morning before injection the libre showed a fast dropping bg again. I gave her breakfast and waited a bit but it didn't stopped. Yesterday my plan was to increase her from 2.25 IE to 2.5 IE today but this morning I went down to 1.75 IE because I panicked after the sleepless night.

Today the libre said "HI" most of the day but the spotcheck at +6 showed "only" 369 besides the number near to 500 on the libre.

Maybe I created the problem myself, because yesterday I tried to reduce her low carb dry food and feed more wet food to reduce the numbers. Maybe that was too much combined with the normal dose?

What should I give her tonight? I'm scared to give her 2,25 again but on the other hand I fear the ketones after this day with high numbers. What should I do? Does the drop show the dose is too high or I should hold the dose longer? I am really quite scared and thankful for any advice!
 
The bg you are seeing are not too low. Usually the bg drops until it hits the nadir, lowest point in the cycle, and then coasts or goes up by the next shot time. You don’t need to be concerned unless it goes under 50 in terms of a potential hypo. The insulin is doing its job and you are beginning to see more normal numbers. The 100’s are completely safe. The nadir of 118 was a good step in the right direction. You are seeing a combination of a bounce and feeding the hc dry food which is why the bg is so high.

I suggest you feed the lower carb wet and dry unless the bg falls under 50 when you can monitor. It’s also best to use one monitor only unless you get a bg under 90 and want to see if a reduction was earned,

I would shoot the full dose. I know it’s scary for you but 90-200 is very safe and conservative.:bighug:
 
The bg you are seeing are not too low. Usually the bg drops until it hits the nadir, lowest point in the cycle, and then coasts or goes up by the next shot time. You don’t need to be concerned unless it goes under 50 in terms of a potential hypo. The insulin is doing its job and you are beginning to see more normal numbers. The 100’s are completely safe. The nadir of 118 was a good step in the right direction. You are seeing a combination of a bounce and feeding the hc dry food which is why the bg is so high.

I suggest you feed the lower carb wet and dry unless the bg falls under 50 when you can monitor. It’s also best to use one monitor only unless you get a bg under 90 and want to see if a reduction was earned,

I would shoot the full dose. I know it’s scary for you but 90-200 is very safe and conservative.:bighug:

Thank you for your help! You mean by full dose 2,25 IE and hold it longer? I understand 118 was still safe but I don't know what would have happened, if I wouldn't have given her the food with carbs. It is difficult for me to stay calm, when I see it dropping further and further down. :nailbiting: Is the bg always changing in these big drops? I hoped it would be more steady and smooth....
 
WTH the nadir under 150 you hold the dose for another week unless it drops under 90. If that happens you decrease the dose. So stick with 2.25.

You won’t see flat cycles until the bg is better controlled.
 
Back
Top