03/09 Pookie AMPS 356, +10 142, PMPS 185, +2 302

Fog123

Member Since 2021
Good morning. We skipped last night after following protocol but we could probably have dosed a couple of hours later because he was up to 200 and he's high this morning.

(Previous post here - https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-pm-dose-and-2-is-at-200.244333/#post-2756730)

We've seen him go into seizures before and I'm so afraid of that happening at night that I'm erring on the side of caution.

I keep telling myself that this is a marathon and not a sprint and that I'm still learning. The reality is we don't know how long he's been sick since we've only had him a month and he was undiagnosed prior to that so everything that we're doing now is only helping him.

You folks are godsends, really and truly! I can't thank you enough for your advice and patience.
 
Pookie is so beautiful! I don't blame you for skipping if there is a seizure risk. I'm too new to be giving dosing advice but maybe a half dose would keep things humming, but again I'll defer to someone with more experience. Either way, you're really no worse off than the last few days so keep up the good work! And yes, Pookie is very lucky to have you taking good care of him! :cat::bighug::bighug:
 
Did he have a symptomatic hypo or were seizures from another cause? Another option would be to shoot a token dose, 1/4 the regular dose, just so he gets some insulin. Then get a +2 and see if it’s a lot lower than the PMPS. If lower set an alarm to check in a few hours. As you get more blue amps tests you will see how he does. Just a thought.
 
@tiffmaxee - when we first got him we were accidentally given bad advice on his dosage and didn't have a glucometer. We were dosing him with 10U 2x per day instead of 1U. He went hypo within 48 hours and we knew nothing about diabetes at the time. Since then we've been learning, but there's so much to learn! And so many variables. I feel like I'm back in University running the longest experiment of my life.

I know we're likely at low risk of hypo, but we're willing to be cautious. We're a volunteer foster organization and money is really tight right now. Even with a vet discount it still adds up fairly quickly. Pookie needs a Sugar Daddy!
 
Are you keeping him? I now remember your story from when you first arrived. When you are ready to shoot lower one of us will guide you. :bighug:
 
Decided to do a +10 so that we didn't have to worry about last minute choices and we'll be able to see a trend. He's low right now and that's about a half hour after his small meal.

@tiffmaxee - no, we're not keeping him. He's an amazing cat and should be quite adoptable. I appreciate the offer of guidance and will likely take the forum up on it.
 
That's a nice drop. No tests earlier today?

Have you been able to change the time that you give him his AM/PM doses so you're able to get a few more tests at night?

He looks like he's in a good place - it would be wonderful if you could shoot this evening and keep him in those nice blues.

Hopefully you can get him regulated on a particular helpful dose - it'll be easier to adopt him if you can say that! He's adorable in his pic!

I remember your early story too...very frightening but you weren't give enough information to be giving insulin and yes, 100 units of insulin would do that to any cat. As long as you're dosing in these tiny increments the chances of a hypoglycemic event/seizure is unlikely. You've learned a lot by now as far as feeding him and giving tiny increments of insulin.

Lovely numbers! Hopefully you can get a few more tests in during the cycles.
 
His PMPS is 185. Thinking about dosing full amount since he's headed back up. Willing to take advice.

Poor guy had uncooperative ears tonight - took us several tries. We'll buy a lancet device tomorrow since I think we go too hard when trying to do it by hand and he's looking a bit battle weary.

@Sue and Luci - we've been running around 8:00 for dosing in am and pm. Every time we try to go earlier life seems to get in the way. We'll be able to do a +2 and +4 tonight. If need be I'll set an alarm for middle of the night.
 
+2 is 302 Not going to worry about him dropping too low tonight I guess. I am surprised that he's gone that high so quickly. I forget the term but could he be dumping?
 
Back
Top