03.08, Porto AMPS 449, PMPS 449, + 3 450, + 5 424

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manu & Porto

Member Since 2018
yesterday


Today I decide to keep with 1.5 ud. If it is indeed such a high dose, his body will let us know, right? His BG will drop. If it is no drop, I dont see why decreasing dose.

He is finally waking up from yesterdays pills and sedations, and his apettite is back to where it was :/ Little.
 
It is high - come on down Porto! I think he may need more juice. That blue was more than a week ago. Doses change over time.

ALKP is related to the liver. It was a marker for my dog with Cushings not sure it is the same with cats.

That goblin # is slightly evaluated...that can be related to an infection/inflammation - my one civvie showed it as high during an asthma attack.

I know you said the gums are inflamed but without an xray you don't know what is going on underneath. Jones had a cracked tooth - my civvie ended up having 3 teeth pulled when only 1 showed a cavity (and she is only 6 years old). That may be part of the issue.​

The IBD can also be a factor though it seems he hasn't vomit as much per you SS and his poo seems more normalized. Is he still on prednisolone or is he more diet controlled now with all those novel proteins?

For the lab work - I could only see page 1, but there is a tab in the SS - LABS - you can put the data in there (put in a column of the reference ranges) and then everyone can see it and if you have a lot of labs we can see the trend.

Are you giving B12 injections at home? That will help with nutrient absorption of an IBD kitty and if they don't need it - they just pee it out. I give Jones an injection every 2 weeks.
 
Last edited:
It is high - come on down Porto! I think he may need more juice. That blue was more than a week ago. Doses change over time.

ALKP is related to the liver. It was a marker for my dog with Cushings not sure it is the same with cats.

That goblin # is slightly evaluated...that can be related to an infection/inflammation - my one civvie showed it as high during an asthma attack.

I know you said the gums are inflamed but without an xray you don't know what is going on underneath. Jones had a cracked tooth - my civvie ended up having 3 teeth pulled when only 1 showed a cavity (and she is only 6 years old). That may be part of the issue.​

The IBD can also be a factor though it seems he hasn't vomit as much per you SS and his poo seems more normalized. Is he still on prednisolone or is he more diet controlled now with all those novel proteins?

For the lab work - I could only see page 1, but there is a tab in the SS - LABS - you can put the data in there (put in a column of the reference ranges) and then everyone can see it and if you have a lot of labs we can see the trend.

Are you giving B12 injections at home? That will help with nutrient absorption of an IBD kitty and if they don't need it - they just pee it out. I give Jones an injection every 2 weeks.


Thank you so much, Tracey! I am having a hard time trying to make sense of it all. Now I am tortured by remorse that I didnt lower the dose as the vet advised. What if they were right? I dont have enough data, I feel, to be confident that I made the right choice. But you are backing me up and that is so welcoming, thank you from the heart! She said that because the dose was too high, his body is now responding with a lot of sugar it creates. But its been ten days. Can it take that long for him to hit some lower numbers or it is time to up the dose? I am considering upping, as you and Bronx´s dad suggested but once we up we wont go down so I hope I am not missing anything by NOT going lower.

He is no longer on the pred, we stopped when he was diagnosed, 4 months ago. He appears to have an issue with the inflammation, being the IBD or teeth I will have to take him again, for xray to the teeth. Such a pity, I feel like kicking myself for not asking the xray, especially since it was what I was after but these vets, they have a way of messing with my head, still. She insisted on other aspects and said the teeth are not so bad. I have to wait on the dentist thing tho, not only financially, also he will need some time to recover after the 6 hours yesterday at the vet. He does nothing but sleep. I have to give it another week. I have looked at his other BW, in march, for ex, he had 5.5 globulin, which is higher than this one, 5.4, and he was eating like crazy back then.

She prescribed the b12 shots at home, I am starting tomorrow. He received one, one week ago.

His poo is great, actually and no vomits lately so whatever we do, we do alright with his diet in this aspect. But she says that in cases of IBD sometimes it is not enough for a good diet to lower the inflammation of the stomach and they need steroids. Which I dread putting him on again, esp since his BG is so high... Steroids would shoot that through the roof, because, I think, it probably takes a while working the dose so that his BG on steroids lowers. And she also says the vomits and diarrea dont affect the BG as much as I think, she says that the vomits followed by low numbers could mean he is vomiting because of too much insulin. Could you share a bit of your experience with Jones´s poos and vomits? Porto seems to have a pattern that when doing loose or vomit, 12 hours later his BG starts to drop. Sometimes even quicker. Did it happen with Jones?

My head is aching of so many doubts. I hope someone here can give an opinion on if what this vet is saying about him having too much insulin? Did someone have this happening to their baby? I want to do right by my boy and I start sounding paranoid to my close ones, they seem to say go with what the vet says and do as them but inside, after all the reading Ive done, something tells me it is not right.

I appreciate all the help so much, Tracy, I hope Jones is doing better and he seems on a good start. Reacting to no HC already. I hope it works great for him! Porto has been having very little HC these days but it hasnt improved his BG one bit.
We also have to do a curve, Ive been lacking in testing because of other issues in my life but gotta get on it.

Lots of hugs from us!
 
Last edited:
Thank you, Paula! Lots of hugs to Olive and you, I see her sheet looks great today, hope it goes better by the cycle!
 
Could you share a bit of your experience with Jones´s poos and vomits? Porto seems to have a pattern that when doing loose or vomit, 12 hours later his BG starts to drop. Sometimes even quicker. Did it happen with Jones?

He only vomited in the beginning and he was not dx then for FD - that was later on with the prednisolone use. I have found if he is not well and has loose stool that his numbers rise. His tummy hurts - so that makes sense to me. If things return to normal then his numbers tend to come down - he isn't hurting.

I hope someone here can give an opinion on if what this vet is saying about him having too much insulin?
From what you have on the SS, he is not getting too much insulin. If anything he is high and to me that would make you feel bad. You are following the SLGS method which is very conservative. You are asking for advice from a forum of people that have done this for a long time.

ower the inflammation of the stomach and they need steroids

If they need it they need it. We can dose around it. When Jones was on a lower dose we eventually had him in the lower blues and greens for a long time. It can be done. We have dose increases of the pred and yes it is a headache to get that magic dose again (which we are working on right now) but it is doable. Their bodies adjust and we adjust the insulin and eventually we find the sweet spot (pun intended).

b12 shots at home
Good, it helps with absorption. And once it tanks other things follow. Better to be ahead then behind on this one.

I hope Jones is doing better and he seems on a good start.
It has been a bit of a journey lately. He has doing so-so for months. I am trusting this vet and following her as I am lost on how to help Jonesy.


We did do a dental which I am happy for but the stress of it might of set off a IBD flare. The IBD will wax and wane as well. That makes it hard as you are doing something that works then it starts not working.

Porto is lucky to have you. And listen to that inner voice, sometimes the vets don't know everything ;)
 
He only vomited in the beginning and he was not dx then for FD - that was later on with the prednisolone use. I have found if he is not well and has loose stool that his numbers rise. His tummy hurts - so that makes sense to me. If things return to normal then his numbers tend to come down - he isn't hurting.

From what you have on the SS, he is not getting too much insulin. If anything he is high and to me that would make you feel bad. You are following the SLGS method which is very conservative. You are asking for advice from a forum of people that have done this for a long time.



If they need it they need it. We can dose around it. When Jones was on a lower dose we eventually had him in the lower blues and greens for a long time. It can be done. We have dose increases of the pred and yes it is a headache to get that magic dose again (which we are working on right now) but it is doable. Their bodies adjust and we adjust the insulin and eventually we find the sweet spot (pun intended).


Good, it helps with absorption. And once it tanks other things follow. Better to be ahead then behind on this one.

It has been a bit of a journey lately. He has doing so-so for months. I am trusting this vet and following her as I am lost on how to help Jonesy.


We did do a dental which I am happy for but the stress of it might of set off a IBD flare. The IBD will wax and wane as well. That makes it hard as you are doing something that works then it starts not working.

Porto is lucky to have you. And listen to that inner voice, sometimes the vets don't know everything ;)


Thank you so much for all the info! So very helpful! And thank you for the encouragements. I am sorry it is so difficult with Jonsey, always a struggle with the IBD at the same time. So good you have a good vet, I am lacking that, sometimes I dont know what to do.
It seemed we jinxed it yesterday and today Porto is having loose stool again. Always a fight to find the right things and amounts so that he hold it all. I will test now but I have a feeling he is lower, today, because of it.

Gotta keep fighting!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top