? 03/06 SweetPea - post-DKA AMPS 101 - advice welcome

Looks like she's heading up for a bounce, you could leave her little ears be till +6.
Just heading out, I'll try to stop by a little later.
 
Looks like SP got over her bounce quickly. :) That’s a good thing. See how much lower her +2 was from her PMPS test last night. As I said yesterday, that is a sign of a very active cycle about to happen. If you aren’t able to get a later test at night when you see that, make sure you leave lots of food out for her to munch on to keep her safe. And given this morning’s numbers, I suspect she did go quite a bit lower that last day at the vet clinic.

If you find yourself having to reduce the dose a lot, you may find it better to reduce the main dose a bit. But not yet because of the recent DKA. Just something to keep in mind if you have to reduce the dose again.

And with the lower dose of insulin today, I would try to get a ketone test.
 
By reduce the dose a bit, I mean going to a dose of 2.75 units instead of 3.0 units. We find Lantus works better with our dosing methods if you can give the same dose all the time, barring any reductions earned of course. If a 3 unit dose is causing you to reduce or skip, you may find 2.75 lets you be more consistent in shot amounts.
 
Back
Top