03/06 J.D. PMPS 334, +3 320 - heard from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
575 PMPS (tiny drop of R)
442 +1.5
336 +6.5
368 +11.5

J.D. ate fine last night, and has eaten okay this morning, so far. He did pee 2 feet from the litter box first thing this morning, and then later gave me a really nice solid prezzie 1 and 1/2 feet from the litter box (hey, his nose was touching the litter box, so that counts a little).

I hope the vet will call me today. I want to know when to start using this Baytril or if she meant to give me Orbax and gave me Baytril by mistake.

I found out that Tuffy has a very good home where she is happy, so that is a relief.
Still very very sad about Barbara and will miss her for a long time. She was such a good person.

I think I'll go to work early today, since I am so behind and my catch up Sundays are temporarily filled with doing another department's job, so unless I want to work for 12 hours next Sunday doing that job, and then my own, I probably should get work done now, when I can.

I am a whole 10 minutes early so far on J.D.'s shot schedule and really have no hopes of getting home any earlier today and especially not tomorrow, so just can not shoot any earlier to get ready for DST, so we'll just have to go with Option C on Saturday morning and test all day. I also will be starting a new pen of insulin, so I especially need to test a lot that day.

I hope everyone has a good day.
 
Re: 03/06 J.D. AMPS 350

(((Dyana))) So hard to lose someone so suddenly :YMHUG:

I hope you hear from your vet today, I hate waiting for these calls :?
Yippee on a nice prezzie (nose touching is a close call :lol: ) and a decent appy!

Hope your early start gets you caught up some :smile:
 
Re: 03/06 J.D. AMPS 350

I hope you hear back from the vet today. Sorry about the pee and poo outside the lb. Maybe next time it will be in the lb. I hope J.D. slides down today. I'm glad you found out that Tuffy has a good home. I sometimes worry about what will happen to my furbabies if something happens to me. Sending hugs to you Dyana. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 03/06 J.D. AMPS 350

Come on down JD. I hope the vet gets back with you today. The waiting is the worst. Good luck with catching up at work. Have a great day Dyana!
 
Re: 03/06 J.D. AMPS 350

I am glad that Tuffy is where she is happy and content. I still can't wrap my mind around this.

Hope the vet calls you today. I know how that waiting game feels.

TTYL
 
Re: 03/06 J.D. PMPS 334 - heard from vet

J.D. was eating when I got home from work at +12.75. I am so going the wrong way with this daylight savings time.

If I can tear myself away from work (on time, yeah right) tomorrow, then maybe I can shoot 15 minutes earlier tomorrow night and an hour earlier on Saturday morning (starting a new pen, besides) and just watch him like a hawk, and then make up the other 15 minutes on Sunday. Ugg!

The vet finally called and said that Baytril is in the same family of drugs as Orbax and it was not a mistake to give me the Baytril. That I do not have to give it on an empty tummy and that I can start it right away and that it will not interfere with is other medications. I told her that I had not given J.D. his Adequan for a month now because of it's anticoagulant properties and his blood work showing anemia and can I resume it now, and she said "no" and it sounded like she meant that the Adequan can cause him to go further anemic. Anyway, I told her the Adequan doesn't seem to have much affect on J.D. anyway.

I got stuck on an hour long phone call right at quitting time and raced home to give J.D. his shot. I need to run to the grocery store now.

J.D. was eating (licking his empty bowls) when I got home from work, and ate some of his 1st Dinner, and got his Baytril.
 
Re: 03/06 J.D. PMPS 334 - heard from vet

Hi Dyana, I am glad that you got the call. At least you can start. I am very sorry about your friend Barbara. I didn't get to know her. She sounds like a wonderful person.
 
Re: 03/06 J.D. PMPS 334 - heard from vet

i didn't know that about the Adequan. punkin had anemia and i gave it to him. :sad: i hope it didn't make anything worse.

Have you checked the dose amount of Baytril? My understanding is that you want to make sure that it's not too high of a dose. I just googled until I found something that had a feline dosage suggested on it. Might've been on the drug site - i don't remember now. Hope you were able to get pills - the liquid punkin had must've tasted pretty bad. Hopefully JD is ok with it.

Good luck on the shot time adjustment. Is it possible to run over into next week as you're doing adjustments or is your schedule too tight.

I know what you mean about Barbara. She was a good person and we're going to miss her. I'm also very glad Tuffy's found a good home. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Julie. The dose of Baytril pills is 22mg, one per day. Is that okay?

My shot schedule it tight, and I really do not want to be giving him early shots when I am off to work for such long hours. So, I'll just adjust most of the way on Saturday and the rest on Sunday.

I stopped giving J.D. adequan during his last dental last year, for awhile, because of the anticoagulant properties that I read about. I just didn't want to take a risk if his anemia was caused by internal bleeding or something.

I hope this Baytril works. Maybe, he's had a kidney infection for a long time.
 
I wouldn't say this was an authority, but the information on http://www.1800petmeds.com/Baytril-prod10048.html

is
The usual dose of Baytril for cats is 2.27mg/pound every 24 hours.

Cautions:
Do not use in pregnant or nursing animals. Do not give Baytril with vitamin/mineral products or within 2 hours of giving an antacid or sucralfate. Tell your veterinarian about any other medications your pet is being given.

More Information:
Brand Name
Baytril (Bayer)
Generic Name
Enrofloxacin
What is the most important information I should know about Baytril: Baytril is a prescription medication FDA-approved for veterinary use in dogs and cats. Baytril is available as 22.7mg, 68mg and 136mg scored chewable tablets for dogs and cats. The usual dose of Baytril for dogs is 2.27-9.07mg/pound every 24 hours. The usual dose of Baytril for cats is 2.27mg/pound every 24 hours. The dog and cat doses may be divided into two doses 12 hours apart. Always follow the dosage instructions provided by your veterinarian. Do not give Baytril to any pet other than the pet for whom it was prescribed. Baytril is not for use in animals allergic to it or other fluroquinolone antibiotic drugs. It is advised that Baytril should not be used in younger dogs during their rapid growth phase, approximately 2 to 8 months in small to medium breeds, 2 to 12 months in large dogs, and 2 to 18 months in giant breeds.

What is Baytril: Baytril is a fluoroquinolone antibiotic used for the treatment of bacterial infections of the urinary tract, skin, prostate, GI tract, liver, and lungs due to susceptible organisms. This medication may also be used for purposes other than those listed in this guide.

What should I discuss with my veterinarian before giving Baytril to my pet: Tell your veterinarian if your pet has had seizures, or is pregnant or lactating.

How should this medication be given: Give Baytril Tablets exactly as directed by your veterinarian. Give all of the medication your veterinarian has prescribed. Symptoms may start to improve before the infection is completely treated. Allow plenty of water for your pet to drink. Do not exceed the maximum dose of 2.27mg/pound per day in cats because of an increased risk of altered vision or blindness. If you do not understand the directions ask the pharmacist or veterinarian to explain them to you. Store Baytril at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep this medication away from children and pets.

What happens if I miss giving a dose: Give the missed dose as soon as you remember. However, if it is almost time for the next dose, skip the dose missed and give only the next regularly scheduled dose. Do not give a double dose of the medication.

What happens if I overdose the pet: Seek emergency veterinary medical treatment. Symptoms of overdose may include loss of appetite, vomiting, and diarrhea.

What should I avoid while giving Baytril to my pet: Do not use Baytril in animals allergic to it or other fluoroquinolone antibiotics. Do not give Baytril within 2 hours of giving an antacid or sucralfate, vitamin/mineral products, or dairy products.

What are the possible side effects of Baytril: Stop giving the medication and seek emergency veterinary medical attention if your pet experiences an allergic reaction (difficulty breathing; closing of the throat; swelling of the lips, tongue or face; or hives). Other less serious side effects may also occur. Continue to give the medication and talk to your veterinarian if your pet experiences loss of appetite, vomiting, diarrhea, dizziness, or drowsiness. Side effects other than those listed may occur. Talk to your veterinarian about any side effect that seems unusual or bothersome to your pet.

What other drugs will affect Baytril: Before giving Baytril, tell your veterinarian if your pet is being given warfarin, theophylline, probenecid, or phenytoin. When given with cyclosporine, Baytril can increase the risk of kidney damage from the cyclosporine. Drugs other than those listed may also interact with Baytril. Talk to your veterinarian or pharmacist before giving any prescription or over-the-counter medications.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top