03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134;+5-113;+6-127

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan and Frankie

Member Since 2013
Damn.... that's high.... and damn... I realized when I gave her the shot this morning, that I inadvertently jumped her dose to 1 unit yesterday, for sure at the pm shot, but maybe at the am shot as well... good thing I'm here all day today, but tomorrow I will be out for inspections. (maybe 4-5 hours at the most). Since I realized the at least her PM shot last night was 1 unit, I went ahead and gave her 1 unit again because I don't want to roller coaster her doses, hopefully she doesn't do the same with her BG.

Yesterday:http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=90278&p=967877#p967877
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452

Stuff like that happens and yep all you can really do is watch over her now and see how she is doing throughout the day. So right now just hold the dose at 1u and keep and eye on her. Perhaps the accident in raising her dose will work out to be just what she needed at this point and she will tell you if it is too high by her numbers.

If you haven't already I would print out the signs of hypo and how to treat them and post them somewhere you can get to them quickly should you need them, make sure everything for your hypo kit is all together and in one place that makes it easy to grab if you need it in a hurry.

As far as tomorrow goes, what I usually do on days like that when I can't be home with them, I test right as I'm getting ready to walk out the door and then again right as I walk back in the door.

As far as that 452 goes, it is very possible that she dropped down lower than she has been in awhile last night and her body reacted with a bounce...Lucian is a very good example of a bouncy kitty...his little body got so use to the over 600 numbers that for awhile when he would even drop into the 400s his body would react and send him sky high again. Autumn use to do the same thing, she was so use to living in the 500s that 300s sent her into panic mode and she would jet back up. And unfortunately the only way to get them to stop bouncing like that is just ride it out, hold the dose constant and not react to the higher preshots until their liver catches a clue and stops freaking out that it has a kitty going down and accepts the fact that it really does feel pretty good back down in the lower numbers again.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452

Dan and Frankie said:
Damn.... that's high.... and damn... ... good thing I'm here all day today...I don't want to roller coaster her doses, hopefully she doesn't do the same with her BG.

Don't sweat the high numbers, Dan. Keep her hydrated. It is very early in "the game". Hopefully she learns to surf soon, but remember that those roller coaster rides are indicative of "Insulin Depot" ( http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150 ), which is good! It's good to hear you're home all day; don't be surprised if she takes a sudden nosedive; it can happen but then again, maybe it won't...it is so hard to try to figure out things like that; I've given up on trying to analyze Gobbles' physiology. Cats are cats are cats! In the past, and also recently, Gobbles dropped all day long and therefor his nadir has been late in the cycle; +10, +12!!! For example, on 2/26/13 his AMPS was 361, then 209 +6, 195 +8 and 140 PMPS!

Maybe you'll catch her today in her LB: With that high number and the fact that you're adding water to her food, she should (most likely) make several trips to the LB, although, and again, and I use Gobbles as an example, she may make a few "oceans" instead of several "ponds"!
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452

I'll test her at +3 and update. Thanks All... I also will pick up a new litter box to put in the bathroom that is in front of my office, so I can try to get some ketones tests done. I don't want to move the boxes they have currently because they are used to them being there.
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452; +3: 210

Yep that is a pretty good drop alright but nothing that is too scary just yet, but it does bear keeping an eye on, hopefully she will drop a little more and then surf awhile.

I'll be checking in on you as often as I can today. But it is nice to see her coming down nicely today.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452; +3: 210

Yeah this is the lowest I've seen her... I am defiantly going to monitor closely... do you think every hour is too much? I do have FF with gravy and karo if needed
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452; +3: 210

Actually if she doesn't drop much more in an hour you could probably give her a break until +6 just kind of depends on the numbers she starts giving you. Once you get to know her patterns better it will be easier to predict if you need to test often or just grab spot checks.

I don't start really testing often until Autumn hits the low 100s or double digits early on, but then again I have months and months of data on her as well. Right now Frankie is still well into diabetic numbers and nowhere close to being in trouble yet, but you want to make sure she doesn't keep nosediving. If she keeps up this fast drop you might want to help her cushion it a little if she gets into the low 100s by giving her mini meals of her regular low carb food, just a teaspoon full at a time to help her slow the drop. Also don't be too surprised if she bounces back up high again by tonight since not only can lower than normal numbers cause a rebound action so can dropping fast over a short period of time.

This is where learning to dance with a sugarcat can get interesting because Frankie is the only one that hears the music you two are dancing to. :-D

But you two are doing great.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452; +3: 210

Steep; but she is in good hands! Please keep updating your subject line with BG's. You are prepared if she should drop low and have your hypo printout (or saved in your favorites); correct? Do you have plenty of test strips?
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452; +3: 210

TheBowHuntress said:
Steep; but she is in good hands! Please keep updating your subject line with BG's. You are prepared if she should drop low and have your hypo printout (or saved in your favorites); correct? Do you have plenty of test strips?
I have it printed and in my sugar kitty bag (old briefcase)
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452; +3: 210

I know cats sleep, but is it a sign of hypo?? I am getting the sheet to have on my desk JIC.

Never mind.. she just got up for some for a drink of water and is very bright eyed and bushy tailed... she looks soo good :smile:
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452; +3: 210

Love that briefcase idea! I suppose they could sleep. When Gobbles is low, he seems sleepier. But even when he's in the 40s, he has absolutely no symptoms of low blood sugar; some cats do and some cats don't.
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452; +3: 210

TheBowHuntress said:
Love that briefcase idea! I suppose they could sleep. When Gobbles is low, he seems sleepier. But even when he's in the 40s, he has absolutely no symptoms of low blood sugar; some cats do and some cats don't.

I was getting complaints about consistent use of the breakfast bar ;-)
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452; +3: 210

One of the hardest things to try to remember is that they are in fact still just cats even if they are now just a little extra sweet...which means they will still do cat things like sleeping away the day...lol It is very hard in the beginning to not to jump at everything because 90% of the time we are already feeling pretty guilty that they got in this shape in the first place before we noticed. But that again is just a cat being a cat, they hide pain and illness from us, because they are basically solitary animals where as dogs being pack animals they get the sniffles and they let you know right away .

I know that some cats will show signs of of hypo at 40 and then there are those like my Autumn that even in the 20s she is still frisking through the house without a care in the world. Although she has gotten better about when she starts going very low of coming and telling me it is time to test and give her a snack. She is actually kind of funny when it happens, she jumps on my desk where I test her and starts pawing at her meter case, and then the minute I test her she runs and jumps on the kitchen counter because she knows that is where she gets her snacks out of the path of the other cats, any other time she knows she gets her meals on the kitchen floor..smart girl. :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie AMPS 452; +3: 210

Here is something I recommend that all new sugar moms and dads read ...and okay some of us long time sugar moms and dads need to remember also.

A Letter From Your Cat

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134

I did read that earlier, its really cute... ok +4 was 134... I'm scared because she hasn't been here before and I know it's probably alright, but I am going to test every hour and keep a close eye on her.
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134

She is doing really well! That's a wonderful number, but it can scare us 'beans' because we aren't used to it. :shock:

Yesterday, Lucian had his lowest numbers ever, so I understand the apprehension. nailbite_smile

Mel taught me to 'steer' with food, a couple tsp every hour to keep them stable and not drop too low. If you look at Lucian's SS from yesterday, you'll see how I did it. Please don't make the mistake of giving too much food right off, you may need her to eat a bit every hour for several hrs, so limit it to a couple tsp. Since you cook, you know the difference between a tsp and a serving spoon. :lol: I've seen newbees give a cat a whole 3oz can cause the low number scared them and then had a really hard time getting them to eat later, when they needed it. Steering will also help the bounces to not be as high, because you are preventing her from going too low, not as much shock to the liver.

Since Lucian's numbers were in the 'normal' non-diabetic range, I tested and steered every 45 min. When he was in the low 100's like Frankie is now, I did it every hour. If closer to hypo range, most will do it every 20-30 min. It's a learning process. If you feel safer, testing every 45 min or even 30 min, then do so. Where Mel, with a h*ll of a lot more experience, both with FD and with HER cat, might test every hour, us newbees might feel better with every 45 min. Ya know? :-D

Please, those of you with more experience, correct anything that I may have gotten wrong. :o

You and Frankie are both doing great! You're learning this 'dance' a lot quicker than I did. :lol:
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134

Debbie, you've given Dan great advice. According to my limited knowledge, everything you have said is correct--good job, ya old' pro :lol: Yes, it is scary when we start seeing the normal numbers (esp. like Debbie & myself, whose cats have been high over a couple of months. Heck; Gobbles has been on insulin since November and I still see reds and even an occasional black now and then!!!); a normal reaction.

Dan, you've got a good grip on Frankie. If she were my cat, I'd test every hour (because she has fallen rather quickly), but then again, "back in the day" I would have tested every 45 minutes.
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134

Test as often as you need to, to feel safe, afterall all data collected is that much more of the whole picture on how she handles a dose...so far she is doing great and coming down nicely. And it is great she has you to keep such a close eye on her.

Deb is right if you start to steer her with food, you want to use small amounts so that you don't get her full if you really need her to eat later. She should start rising again around +6 or +7 so you are doing everything correct right now, just keep an eye on her with your meter and don't panic until you need to.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134;+5-113

113... Starting to relax a bit :-D Gave her and Mollie the last of the 1st pack of chicken treats... more than I normally give, but not too much... just trying to get rid of all the shake left at the bottom.
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134

And yes those numbers are only scary until you get use to seeing them. After awhile you just go Oh look Blue how pretty ...good kitty and go on about your day...lol

But part of it also like being a good poker player you learn to watch for your particular cat's Tells. Those little signals like Autumn bugging to be tested at off times that says Hey I'm going lower here than I like can I have a snack please.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134

Thanks Kat! :YMHUG:

Yesterday, Lucian surfing green was a first for us. :-D I'm glad I got the experience with 'normal' numbers instead of hypo numbers :shock: I was a little nervous and shakey, but not scared, I knew he wasn't too low. Not like Mel's cat that gave her a 20 the first time! :shock: I would have freaked! :lol: I feel more confident in my ability to handle it now, after yesterday, although Lucian was NOT happy about all the testing, he did take it like a trooper and I didn't even have to 'burrito' him. :o I never thought that day would come, with the way he fought me the first few weeks. :lol:

Ya'll with mellow, just lay there, cats, don't know how lucky you are! :o :lol:


Save that high carb, that's for hypo, she's got a beautiful number!
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134;+5-113

Her drop is slowing, textbook perfect! :thumbup

Great job!
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134;+5-113

She has been up nights reading all the stickies on how to be a proper sugarcat.. :-D Okay now Frankie lets see how much you have learned...remember it is suppose to be a nice steady climb back up tonight...try to remember you are a kitty and not a rubber ball.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134;+5-113

MommaOfMuse said:
She has been up nights reading all the stickies on how to be a proper sugarcat..
Thats why I leave the board open at night.... I have smart children :-D and cats ;-)
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134;+5-113

Well I have smart cats...children..well they use to be smart and I know I didn't drop them when they were younger, but I have to wonder what happened to all those brains I knew they once had...lol Oh Yeah they became teenagers, then young 20 somethings...and got 10 foot tall and bulletproof...lol

I keep trying to tell them that we didn't get this old without figuring out a few things along the way on how the world works...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/06 Frankie:AMPS452;+3-210;+4-134;+5-113

+6+127!!! :RAHCAT

You think I can relax on the testing now? Go every 2 hours? Frankie was soo sweet for this test, she saw me getting her test ready and jumped up on the bar stool and waited :thumbup
 
Yeah Dad I think you can relax a little bit and back off on the testing for awhile. Give her little ears a break she has been a trooper today..and Hey good news you know where her nadir is! Looks like for now it is right about +5 since she is rising now although depending on when you last fed her, that little rise could be also from food. But otherwise she has been textbook perfect today.

Give her scritches from us, and yourself a pat on the back for handling the whole ordeal so cool and professionally. :thumbup

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Not being too worried... just cautious... I'm gonna test her 1 more time at +7 just to make sure it wasn't the treat that popped her back up a smidge..Then I'll probably go to +9 and then PMPS.
 
No problem that is what we are here for. And should you ever need us when she decides to really give you a few more grey hairs we will be along for that ride too. Even if we have to tag team you so we can throw another pot of coffee on or run to the store for more diet coke. :-D We never leave until we know the kitty is in safe numbers...ever.

Oh and BTW you made me smile over on Health just now with your message to the new sugardad. :-D A wise old woman my grandmother once told me that it takes a bigger man to love a cat and admit it, than it does one that loves his dog...For he will love a woman with all he has, he will respect her as a seperate and unique individual, and adore her beauty and mystery, while he will never truly understand her, he will love her every changing moods. For that is exactly what he loves about his cat.. But a man who only loves dogs, wants a faithful servant that worships the ground he walks on..and will seek out a woman that is the same.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
A wise old woman my grandmother once told me that it takes a bigger man to love a cat and admit it, than it does one that loves his dog...For he will love a woman with all he has, he will respect her as a seperate and unique individual, and adore her beauty and mystery, while he will never truly understand her, he will love her every changing moods. For that is exactly what he loves about his cat.. But a man who only loves dogs, wants a faithful servant that worships the ground he walks on..and will seek out a woman that is the same.

That is soo Profound and describes me to a Tee... I never wanted the puppy dog woman.... It's like the song my Alternative band Cake. Want a girl with a short skirt and a Looong Jacket... if you don't know, look it up and you'll know what I mean... probably why I married a woman that is 6 years older than me :o
 
LOL I know all too well no need to look it up...I'm married to a bass guitarist..and I am a woman with a short skirt, long jacket and sky high heels even if I am turning 50 this May.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
LOL I know all too well no need to look it up...I'm married to a bass guitarist..and I am a woman with a short skirt, long jacket and sky high heels even if I am turning 50 this May.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
Awesome!!

I posted it on my FB status with this picture I just took of Frankie

90f1c7fb-0914-42fb-96f2-0ab86dd0e51c_zpsca9ce317.jpg
 
Oh Frankie you are going to be so beautiful once you get all your weight back again. And you have a wonderful daddy that is going to see that you do just that...but boy do you make me long for green grass and sunshine as I'm freezing my tail off in 30 degree weather and snow up to the cats' whiskers...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Seriously, that comment has affected me deeply.... I actually have a better understanding of myself... I literally feel enlightened right now...who are you LOL?
 
Just a crazy cat lady who is married to an equally crazy cat man...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Just a crazy cat lady who is married to an equally crazy cat man...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Well at leasy we have a few things in common.... besides... sane is boring @-)
 
Looking good there Frankie!

And Dad is relieved. :-D

WOW, have 5 emergency vehicles out front, got to go be nosey! :lol:
 
We're not on fire! :thumbup

When you dial 911 around here, EVERYONE shows up! We have 2 ambulances, 2 first responders, 2 city cops and a firetruck! For what looks like a medical issue. Seems like overkill to me. :o :lol:

But as long as we're not going up in a blaze of glory, I got other things to do. :-D
 
She is at 201!! I think that is good... although, I'm afraid to keep her at 1 unit if she dont bump up more by pmps.

LOL at NCkitties!!
nckitties3 said:
WOW, have 5 emergency vehicles out front, got to go be nosey!

SQUIRREL!!!


lmao
 
Squirrel!! haha_smiley

We're down to 1 ambulance, 1 first responder, 1 cop and the firetruck. Still don't get it! :shock:

Ya know? If I need an ambulance, don't send everyone in town, what if someone else needs help? Makes no sense to me. Did someone call for help for 6 people? I doubt it! :lol:
How often do you need more than 1 in an apartment building that's NOT on fire? ohmygod_smile
 
Well depending on where she is by her pmps you will have choices....either reduce the dose back down to either .75u or .5u depending on how brave you are feeling, or if you think you can stay with her tonight then still shoot the 1u and monitor like crazy. She never did dip so low today that you would have to worry about her, but you also don't have a lot of data on how she is going to handle this dose. There is also no harm, no foul to reduce a dose because you just can't stay up to monitor and then jump right back on it the next day. It is always better to reduce and let them run a little high than it is to go ahead and shoot and have them fall too low when you aren't there or not awake to intervene.

But right now lets just see where she is when the time comes.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
335... Since I did not have time between our dinner and the kitties dinner, I made the executive decision to move forward with the 1 unit dose. I am planning to be up with her until mid cycle and am ready with reinforcements. I also have some beer and some Family Guys to watch (wife doesn't like them, so good "me" time)... so if anyone is going to be around tonight (until 12:30 MST), I could use the company... and support. I hope I did the right thing.
 
Yep you did exactly the right things, she is well above and was safe to shoot...I will be around until at least 10 pm your time and longer if you need me to be depending on her numbers. Of course depending on what Mz Autumn has up her sleeve I maybe up watching her tonight as well. I don't expect her to drop any lower but she can and does throw me a curve ball every now and then.

I Love Family Guy....Brian and Stewie are my heros...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I'll be up till probably midnight, my time EST, if I can help in any way.

Pffft! talk about blind leading the blind! haha_smiley

Anyway, I'm here. @-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top