03/06 Baby G +11 115 NS or reduced? AMPS 103 PMPS 435 +2 370 +6 245

babyg

Member Since 2019
Previous https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...78-pmps-297-8-149-9-143-10-127-11-115.274900/

Looks like according to the sticky for SLGS:
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise

She just threw up a few times too but it was just a tiny bit of liquid. If her preshot isn't above 200 I'm thinking to skip her shot. Or at the very most give half the dose.
 
Not sure. Its always out but I havent seen her by the plate in quite a while. Doesn't look like she ate much of the dry, and looks like none of the wet. Hence didnt drink much water either.
 
When you have active cycles with lower numbers like you did last night, you want to encourage her to eat a little after each test. Can you give her some food now and see if she eats it? Either wet or dry - whatever she will eat.
 
The internal med vet had emailed me a long while back that if between 100 and 200, give 1.5 units (that's when she had her on 3 units. So half the dose.) That's why I'm contemplating half or a skip. I'll see if she'll eat now.
 
The internal med vet had emailed me a long while back that if between 100 and 200, give 1.5 units (that's when she had her on 3 units. So half the dose.) That's why I'm contemplating half or a skip. I'll see if she'll eat now.
Lantus dosing is not based on preshots but low a dose takes the cat. In fact, Lantus gives flat cycles when you shoot low. A cat can start a cycle in the 300s and end in 100 as you have seen lats night. So shooting a higher preshot does not mean that the numbers will not go down.
 
I thought there was something I read here once that if the preshot is low to where you have to reduce or skip, that means the dose is too high?
 
I thought there was something I read here once that if the preshot is low to where you have to reduce or skip, that means the dose is too high?
That bit on how to deal with lower preshots that you quoted earlier is for members whose cats are new to insulin and do not have data on how their cats respond to insulin. With time and experience you want to lower your no-shot threshold. Also, like I said earlier, for cats with ketones or a history of DKA, not giving insulin is not recommended.

Did she eat? How long till her shot is due?
 
She just ate from my hand. I've been slowly trying to move her time back for DST so she should be getting her shot in about 20ish minutes.
 
She's not the kind of cat to seek out food when she's low. That's another reason I worry when I'm gone even though food is always out.
 
Still dropping after food. I would not advise a skip because of DKA. You want to give at least a token dose of say 1.5 or 2U. You can come back at lunch and get a test?
 
I've skipped before and she was fine, though I understand the general risk and why you'd advise not to. We personally never had issues, though thankfully it's been rare we've done it. I'm more afraid of hypos than DKA, though i know how bad that is too.

I can stop by for lunch but I just don't feel comfortable at all giving her anything when she's still dropping like this. If she had risen some I would do a token like you said. Probably a 1.5.

I'm actually thinking I may call work and tell them I'll be in later because I'm worried how much lower is she going to keep dropping. Once i see her go up I can feel better to leave.
 
I typically would leave for work in about a half hour so hopefully she will stop dropping so I can leave on time.
 
That then makes me wonder what she should get for her evening shot. As much as maybe the food change can be good in the longterm, it throws a wrench in things, an extra variable. I don't know what would be appropriate after this. And she's still at 75% new.
 
See if she will eat some more. Let's see what she does today. The food change could reduce the amount of insulin she needs.
 
Just put down fresh food but she's still behind the futon again. I don't think she will eat on her own atm without prompting.
 
I lured her out with some treats. Tested at 103. Fed her the salmon bite treats and she also ate a bit of her dry food from my hand. Could she keep going down? Afraid to leave her since she hasn't gone up any.
 
I lured her out with some treats. Tested at 103. Fed her the salmon bite treats and she also ate a bit of her dry food from my hand. Could she keep going down? Afraid to leave her since she hasn't gone up any.
No. She will be okay. She should start going up soon.
 
Hypothetically, since I'm neurotic, if she doesnt eat any more on her own til I come back, do I have to worry about her still going down?
 
Took extra early lunch. She's 201, so probably could have used the token dose but well, I live and learn. Guess I'd rather she be higher for a bit than too low.
 
Thanks so much for all your help last night and this morning. I truly appreciate it!
 
She definitely could have used the token dose. 435! But she ate nothing while I was gone. Just got her to eat dry from my hand. What dose do you guys suggest tonight?
 
I think she may have sprayed at some point last night or this morning because when I came into the house it smelled funky, so later I'll have to try to figure out what happened and where it is. :arghh: Not sure why she did that unless she didn't feel good or she smelled an outside cat around the house? I did see a stray in my neighborhood a few days ago. Just trying to piece everything together.
 
Opened a can of Fancy Feast salmon pate (her fave) and she's chowing down now, so that's good. I'm ready to give her shot so just let me know what you all would recommend.
 
Should I continue with the full dose of 3.75? I'm trying not to freak and mess us up again. I feel like that is what you guys would recommend, lol. It's almost like I have to think in my mind to do the opposite of what I would do, lol.
 
Sorry no-one responded earlier. I was fast asleep! (I'm in India). She hasn't earned a reduction with SLGS but we don't know what she would have done if you had shot the full dose in the morning. With the food change at play, you could try 3.5U from tomorrow. She might be higher for a couple of days because of the skipped shot.

She doesn't love Fancy Feast salmon pate enough to eat only wet food?
 
Sorry, I should have listened and gave her a little something instead of skip, so now she's high because of that plus probably doing a little bounce from the lows she got. :( the 3.75 seems to be quickly getting it back under control though, which is good; however, you're thinking to put her back on 3.5 until we complete the food change? I think this morning will make two whole days on 75% new food, so in the evening I can up it to 100%.
She doesn't love Fancy Feast salmon pate enough to eat only wet food?
I'm not sure if she'd tire of it at some point like how she does with all the other flavors, but I can usually count on her to dig in if I open a can. I don't give it all the time because it's fish and I guess you have to worry about too much mercury or whatever? which is a shame because she's definitely more of a seafood fan. I might have a lot more luck getting her to consistently eat wet if she could always eat seafood. She also LOVES PureBites salmon bites. I'll admit I tend to cave and give her a little salmon bites almost every morning:oops: just because she enjoys them so much, but I try to otherwise limit her fish. I already worry if the salmon bites are too much fish? Lol her little face lights up so much when she sees me coming with them. :woot: and she just gets a couple small pieces. She'll sometimes eat the chicken ones but it's definitely not the same haha.
 
Sorry, I should have listened and gave her a little something instead of skip, so now she's high because of that plus probably doing a little bounce from the lows she got. :( the 3.75 seems to be quickly getting it back under control though, which is good; however, you're thinking to put her back on 3.5 until we complete the food change? I think this morning will make two whole days on 75% new food, so in the evening I can up it to 100%.
It's okay. Shooting low can be very daunting initially. But you get used to it with time and experience. How much insulin she will need once she has completely transitioned to low carb food is anybody's guess. We have had cats go from 4U to 1U and some even went into remission. It's possible that even 3.5U might be too much once the depot rebuilds after the skip today. Let's see what she does tonight and where she is at AMPS.
 
Back
Top