03/06/20 Thomas J. AMPS 423, +4 296, +6.5 249, PMPS 192, +3 108 , +6 97 Vet Appointment Update.

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
03/05/20
Bouncing from those greens yesterday. Still doing well with testing and injection today. Appetite is decent again this morning. Vet appointment is this afternoon. Hope it all goes well.
Hope everyone has a great Friday!:bighug:
 
Nice job steering the numbers last night.

Had you considered adding a tab for Thomas' weight loss to your BG spreadsheet?

Keep us posted on the vet visit.
 
I'm back home from the vet and he's scheduled for surgery next week. They're fairly positive it's squamous cell carcinoma and are removing his whole ear to give a better chance of a complete recovery without it spreading.
My brother thinks it could still heal with more medicine while his diabetes is getting regulated but I know for fact it's not healing anymore and I'm not going to let it continue to be painful and possibly spread.
All 3 of the vets now have stated that they believe it's cancer and needs removal. She even said today that it was 80+% likely to be cancerous and my brother still disbelieves. Good thing he's my cat and in my care.
I also noticed a lump on his bottom lip today and had her look at it, thinks it's just a cyst though thankfully. They said they may remove it and the cyst he has on the left front leg during his surgery as well. He's had the leg cyst for a few months but it hasn't changed it size so she was sure it was just a cyst.
I believe he'll be fine but I always worry. Hopefully his surgery goes well and he has a full recovery.
 
Last edited:
The vet I saw today was a new face, had never met her before. I thought they only had 2 vets but she said she covers some shifts here and at another vet clinic as well. We'll call her Dr. Bo, she's a bit older and had a lot of knowledge, very professional and informative.
So, there's Dr.B, Dr.F, and now Dr. Bo. I've met them all now lol. She didn't know his history very well as they didnt write many notes on his chart the last few times for some reason. I gave her a good run down though.
She said that she's dealt with a lot of skin cancer on the ears and surgery to remove them so it made me feel good about my decision to get surgery although Dr.B will be the one performing it.
They said they'll either have me skip his morning shot or only have me give a half dose that morning. They said they'll probably give him something during to surgery to keep his sugar elevated and will do a couple glucose tests. I'll be leaving some food, his insulin, and syringes with directions they said. Hopefully he'll eat for them, she said she'll probably have to syringe feed him and give him the other half dose after he's eaten.
I think hes in good hands. It was busy today, had to wait a bit to get in. Everyone was nice as usual though. The receptionist was showing me pictures of one of her cats and telling me how handsome Thomas was haha.
 
Last edited:
I'm glad you have got the ear issue sorted out and the surgery booked for next week.
I'm sure you feel anxious about it but you are doing the right thing having the surgery done. It sounds as if they know what they are doing which is always important and a comfort.
Sending many vines for a successful surgery.
 
I'm glad you have got the ear issue sorted out and the surgery booked for next week.
I'm sure you feel anxious about it but you are doing the right thing having the surgery done. It sounds as if they know what they are doing which is always important and a comfort.
Sending many vines for a successful surgery.
Thank you for the support!
 
I've been making the pawsicle snacks in the 3oz food cans because I don't have an ice cube tray but I have to let them half melt to get them out and by that time the meat is already released so he immediately eats it.
Well, I just remembered my brother had a silicone cat mold/ice cube tray that he never uses so I'm using that now and it works really well. Very fitting as well lol. He decided to immediately lick one until he got to the meat however lol.
20200306_213537.jpg
20200306_213606.jpg
20200306_213646.jpg

Sorry, a little messy with cat food but thought I'd show you because they're so stinkin' cute.
 

Attachments

  • 20200306_213537.jpg
    20200306_213537.jpg
    108.6 KB · Views: 68
  • 20200306_213606.jpg
    20200306_213606.jpg
    64.5 KB · Views: 70
  • 20200306_213646.jpg
    20200306_213646.jpg
    109.2 KB · Views: 74
Completely forgot about daylight savings time until today. Have to do the 30 minute increments now instead of 15 since I only have 2 days. Hopefully it doesn't effect him too much but I just gave him a reduction so I wonder if it's making him drop too fast. A little low tonight, gave him a few snacks though so hopefully that keeps him afloat.
 
Back
Top