03/05 - Ti-Mousse - AMPS 292 - +5: 230 - PMPS 290 - +3.5: 270 DENTAL coming soon..

Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

Member Since 2018
Condo 02/15
First time ever, he has YELLOW at night :)

Finally found a vet for Ti-Mousse, he had his appointment yesterday. I think we’ll be OK at that clinic; they treat diabetes with Lantus so that’s good. This new vet confirmed that without dental work, we won’t be able to regulate him; he needs at least 4 extractions and he’s got infection! Because of his condition, Ti-Mousse got an emergency surgery appointment on the 19th of March. They will be using Buprenorphine instead of Metacam, at my request.

The morning of surgery, I have to give him his regular shot and breakfast !! :confused: I thought you were not supposed to eat before anaesthesia? (he’s definitely not the 1st one in the morning, I don't have a time, but..)

Vet suggested not to increase dose until surgery unless his BG goes up. I was planning to increase this week, I guess I’ll have to wait !!! :(

Poor thing, he peed in the carrier! When we got home, he needed a good wash, he had some food and right after, he fell asleep close to his little friend Pépé.

Lately his numbers are getting good for him: more YELLOWS, few BLUES and one DARK GREEN :D; of course still many PINKS but I think my little minou is doing well considering the teeth infection !

Now, I can’t wait for this dental work to be over…
 
Last edited:
The waiting is hard! Our vet told us no shot the morning of, and no food after midnight the night before, so we skipped the PM shot yesterday as well. Benny only has a couple of affected teeth, so I'm hoping it will go well and be a fairly simple recovery.

It's the other one, our civvie Shaddie, for whom I am more worried - his mouth is an ungodly mess! I knew he had some nasty looking teeth, and it didn't seem like it had been that long since I had inspected them, but since then, they've gotten horribly worse. Several teeth have already been lost, and several others will need to come out, they're beyond help. I honestly don't know whether any of them are still sound. His appointment is next week Thursday; meanwhile, the challenge is getting him to eat. He will hoover down kibble, but he seems to have a hard time with wet food. We've had to blend it to make a slurry so he can lap it up; even the smallest chunks seem to be hard for him.

Sending vines for Ti-Mousse - hope all goes well for him with his dental work!
 
I am so glad you have a better vet and a dental appointment! Is Ti-Mousse on any antibiotic to deal with the infection before hand?

I went to a dental specialist. The newer anesthesia protocols for diabetics let them eat something in the morning. Though we were told no more than 1/3 of breakfast before 6AM. It probably depends what time the surgery is scheduled for. I just gave 1/2 a dose in the AM, except the one time I suspected Neko was angling for a reduction so just gave her a token dose. Sure enough, she was just a couple points away from going low when they tested her. Better safe than sorry.
 
The waiting is hard! Our vet told us no shot the morning of, and no food after midnight the night before, so we skipped the PM shot yesterday as well. Benny only has a couple of affected teeth, so I'm hoping it will go well and be a fairly simple recovery.

It's the other one, our civvie Shaddie, for whom I am more worried - his mouth is an ungodly mess! I knew he had some nasty looking teeth, and it didn't seem like it had been that long since I had inspected them, but since then, they've gotten horribly worse. Several teeth have already been lost, and several others will need to come out, they're beyond help. I honestly don't know whether any of them are still sound. His appointment is next week Thursday; meanwhile, the challenge is getting him to eat. He will hoover down kibble, but he seems to have a hard time with wet food. We've had to blend it to make a slurry so he can lap it up; even the smallest chunks seem to be hard for him.

Sending vines for Ti-Mousse - hope all goes well for him with his dental work!
I'm a bit concerned about the food in the morning; and for the shot, what I hear from everybody is either no shot, or half dose.... Mmmm!

Give us news of Benny when he's back. As for little Shaddie, everything should go fine; he's going to be so happy and feeling so much better after!
 
I am so glad you have a better vet and a dental appointment! Is Ti-Mousse on any antibiotic to deal with the infection before hand?

I went to a dental specialist. The newer anesthesia protocols for diabetics let them eat something in the morning. Though we were told no more than 1/3 of breakfast before 6AM. It probably depends what time the surgery is scheduled for. I just gave 1/2 a dose in the AM, except the one time I suspected Neko was angling for a reduction so just gave her a token dose. Sure enough, she was just a couple points away from going low when they tested her. Better safe than sorry.
Thanks about the new anesthesia protocols, that reassures me so much. He has to start Clavaseptin 3 days before surgery. He has better numbers now, he even had a DARK GREEN (probably because he didn't like one flavor in the food I left, so didn't eat enough; I was gone out of town all day to take care of me 94yo uncle twice last week...).

How do you feel about not increasing the dose until after surgery, as she suggested?
 
He has to start Clavaseptin 3 days before surgery.
You might want to think about starting a probiotic with that, though at least a couple hours apart. Many of those stronger ABs can upset the tummy flora. My vet recommended Natural Factors Ultimate Protec, but there are others out there too.
How do you feel about not increasing the dose until after surgery, as she suggested?
I saw that dark green. :D With TR we hold the dose for 5 days after that first green, to see if they'll get back there again. If you don't see any more green, I'd be inclined to try a 0.25 unit increase. I don't know how may clients your vet has that home test. Most vets have very few (I was the first at my clinic) so aren't used to letting cats go lower. Also, you may have to increase after the dental for a little while, especially with infection or inflammation from extractions. When the antibiotic is started, it might help lower numbers after a couple days. Basically, let the numbers you see be the guide in what you do.
 
I saw that dark green. :D With TR we hold the dose for 5 days after that first green, to see if they'll get back there again. If you don't see any more green, I'd be inclined to try a 0.25 unit increase. I don't know how may clients your vet has that home test. Most vets have very few (I was the first at my clinic) so aren't used to letting cats go lower. Also, you may have to increase after the dental for a little while, especially with infection or inflammation from extractions. When the antibiotic is started, it might help lower numbers after a couple days. Basically, let the numbers you see be the guide in what you do.

I showed her Ti-Mousse SS so she could see how much he is progressing and she was surprised to see the testing! But she wants to do a Fructosamine test 2 weeks after surgery; I don't know if it's useful? I don't plan to let her treat Ti-Mousse's diabetes; I'm sticking with this Forum. It's here that I learned what I know and it's because of you and all the others that Ti-Mousse is doing good! So that's why I'm not sure about the Fructosamine test! Could this be useful to me?

Yes I'll go with the increase of 0.25. I didn't like to leave him on the same dose still for the next 2 weeks, as she wanted. I feel I'm regressing doing that! I was planning on increasing tomorrow and I will go with the numbers after starting AB. Thanks!
 
YAY!!!!!! I'm SO happy for you and Ti-Mousse!!!!!!!! On finding a new vet. On getting his numbers looking good. And overall!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I don't see a point in fructosamine tests if you're testing like us here. Even my own vet said that to me. Besides, like you said, you're not letting the vet treat his diabetes so there's really no reason why you need to get one. It takes an average of a cat's BSL and you can easily do that with your meter if it gives you that option.
 
YAY!!!!!! I'm SO happy for you and Ti-Mousse!!!!!!!! On finding a new vet. On getting his numbers looking good. And overall!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I don't see a point in fructosamine tests if you're testing like us here. Even my own vet said that to me. Besides, like you said, you're not letting the vet treat his diabetes so there's really no reason why you need to get one. It takes an average of a cat's BSL and you can easily do that with your meter if it gives you that option.
So glad to hear from you! When I got the appointment, I was pissed off, I was planning my trip to your clinic in BC... !! BTW, the vet told me to shoot and give breakfast before taking him in, funny usually no food before anesthesia.... Hope that's OK.... Happy little Ming is doing fine; I was off the Board since a little while, taking care of my old uncle!
 
Haha!!! Uncle Ti-Mousse!

Perhaps his dental will take place in the afternoon and your vet is keeping in mind that Ti is diabetic. When are you dropping him off surgery?

I don’t know the new anesthetic protocols but we tell clients to fast their animals after midnight. Water is ok but I also know some places say no water as well. It’s to prevent aspiration pneumonia (since I started working, we saw a dog that had that and unfortunately didn’t make it). But I’m sure since your vet knows Ti will be eating, that they’ll take extra care of that.

I’ve had patients that would vomit after we give them their pre-meds (slight sedation before surgery) and if they haven’t been fasted properly, they’ll vomit food. The techs don’t usually seem concerned and just shake their heads and say, “Guess someone ate when they’re not supposed to!”

Haha were you really planning to come to BC? That would’ve been awesome but probably not so awesome in Ti-Mousse’s books :rolleyes:

Btw, how is Pepe?
 
When are you dropping him off surgery?
8:30 am ; that's why I am quite worried about this pneumonia aspiration - I wouldn't want anything happening to my Ti-Mousse! I'll see if I can have the 1st appointment with no food; I'm really not comfortable giving him food before anesthesia.. ! Wendy was mentionning new anesthesia protocols, hope that it is what they are following!
 
Last edited:
Btw, how is Pepe?
Pépé just had his ophtalmologist appointment; he's OK for now; it is progressing, but slowly!!! I have to keep an eye on his eye :) and send monthly pictures to the ophtalmo unless I notice something different. Next appointment in 4 monthsl!! Hopefully, he'll be Ok and Ti-Mousse will go into remission.... let's hope !!!
 
Back
Top