03/05 Rupert PMPS 460.+3, 194, +4-194, +9=147

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdays excitement: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65318&p=709961#p709961

off the scale as expected. He really is the King of the Bouncers.

we stalled last night till 7:30, so its only +10 right now, was going to shoot him at 7am, but am thinking perhaps 6:30 (which would put us back on schedule) given that his number is so high.. or should I wait until 7?

he looks happy, active. have NOT fed him other than a couple of chunks of raw steak as an ear poke treat. I highly doubt that number is going to come down at all between now and shot time.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert +10 549, shoot now or wait till +12?

Given Rupert's ability to clear a bounce with a vengeance, I would NOT shoot 2 hours early. An early shot acts like a dose increase. If you want to shoot early, I would not shoot more than one hour early and you will need to be around to get some spot checks.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert +10 549, shoot now or wait till +12?

I hear ya, I"ll shoot at 7:15, 15 minutes earlier, to try and get him back on track for his normal 6:30 time. thanx! I'm boing btb. it's 5:30 am here!
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert +10 549, shoot now or wait till +12?

I agree with Sienne. You can shoot at +11 (one hour early), if you are going to be around to monitor and get spot checks.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert AMPS 550

I shot at 7:15 precisely, so only 15 minutes short of the +12. his level was holding at the 550 mark

He was VERY hungry this morning. Remembered to give him his lysine (he had some yesterday too). He's eaten half a can of Surf n Turf and has gone outside. He was damp. so he'd already been out this morning. Seems bright, quite vocal, coat looks good, seem unphased. His eye is weeping again this morning. This time I took pix. Am going to show them to the vet. I"m starting to track when that happens in relation to his levels. Yesterday he was bad in the morning too, which is what reminded me to put him back on the lysine. It's early in the data yet, but I really think there is a correlation with the high BG and the weeping eye. He was also head tilting a lot to eat his food today... wonder how I can convince the vet to do his teeth before we have him regulated? will make appt. today (for tomorrow evening) to take him in and get her to look at him again.

Wonder what sort of ride Rupert has planned today! Hopefully not this one? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XUymy-jlNf4&feature=player_embedded

Personally I'd prefer the Pirates of the Caribbean type ride at Disneyland!
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert +10 549, shoot now or wait till +12?

Hi guys .. oh yes .. that is most certainly a high bounce! Glad others were here to help answer your question .. mocha often has a weepy eye .. we took her to the vet and had a bunch of eye tests done .. the vet can only suggest allergies to us .. it usually clears up on it's own .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert +10 549, shoot now or wait till +12?

Good Morning Pip....or is it evening? Hmmm.
Don't you hate that, when he is so high, that you want to shoot now, and get the insulin working?
It's so hard to wait. But we saw how rupert dropped unexpectedly yesterday....even I was surprised, and I thought I had seen it all, on this board.

I hope he gives you some wonderful numbers today. :-D
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert AMPS 550

That was quite a day yesterday for Rupert!! Hopefully he'll clear this bounce in not-too-dramatic a fashion and you will get some breathing space. I hope you get some answers from your vet about Rupert's eye and about when to schedule a dental.

Have a good day today and get some rest, if you can!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert AMPS 550

Thanx everyone. Just when I think I'm getting the hang of this Rupert throws me a huge curveball! Still.. I think I AM getting the hang of this, I'm not freaking out over the black number this morning. ... least not yet. tee hee.

here is a blurry pic of Rupies 'bloody' eye. it weeps like this now and then, and its a deep dark red blood, not the normal brown that you sometimes see in dogs and cats. Am going to send pix to my vet today too.

Rupert2012March012.jpg


Rupert2012March010.jpg



sorry for the blurry, hard to get close up of grumpy cat early in the morning! also sorry for the huge size? hope it's okay to post on the board?

Here he is with his older sister, Bumley, sharing the back of the couch. They don't usually hang out this closely, but lately she's really been sticking close to him, she's the most wonderful cat ever and always takes care of everyone so I think she knows something is up and she's staying close by. She also sits next to me early in the morning and pats my tears if I"m upset. sweetest kitty in the world. This was taken yesterday when Rupert was in the middle of that huge drop downwards.

RupertandBumley2012.jpg
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert AMPS 550

Oh what a good cat Bumley is.

I hope you get some answers from your vet about the eye.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert AMPS 550

WOWZA!!! I missed the excitement yesterday!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I get the impression you and I have something in common...
EVERYTHING triggers an "appropriate song lyric' response in my head :-D :-D

this is for your yesterday...and hoping rupert breaks the bounce quickly!

65021-bigthumbnail.jpg
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert AMPS 550

Rupert, you're way to high now! Try to find middle ground. You'll like it, and mamabean will love it!

They do keep us on our toes, don't they? I love the pic of Bumley and Rupert. She sounds so sweet.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert AMPS 550,+1.5, 489

haha, love Mission Impossible Mouse!

so, we are out of the black, into the red (I'm sure there is a song in there, just can't remember it right now!). Wondering what he'll show me at lunchtime (+5) given that this is following yesterdays pattern so far.

off to work now. have a great day everyone, thanx for the support as always, and glad you guys don't mind my twisted sense of humour (it's the British Heritage I think!) ttyl
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert AMPS 550,+1.5, 489,+5, 484

+5 and holding on tight to that Red floor. wonder if he'll dip mid afternoon like he did yesterday? I have to go back to work so won't be home until PMPS.... be interesting to see what he offers then!
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert AMPS 550,+1.5, 489,+5, 484

Pip & Rupert said:
wonder how I can convince the vet to do his teeth before we have him regulated? will make appt. today (for tomorrow evening) to take him in and get her to look at him again.
It amazes me some vets don't realize what a catch 22 gingivitis/bad teeth & FD can be.

Any chance she could refer Rupert to a veterinary dental specialist?

BK had a lump removed and biopsied back in 2008 (it turned out to be nothing to worry about).
It didn't require hours of deep anesthesia; it was just below the skin.
So while he was under this new (at the time) vet took a good look into his mouth. She also (easily) removed remnants of a bad/broken tooth.
After seeing the condition of his teeth and gums she referred him to a local veterinary dental specialist.
She felt that dental surgery was needed but the scope of the problem was way outside the boundaries of her comfort zone.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert AMPS 550,+1.5, 489,+5, 484

+11 and holding in red, sigh. 430. bounce hasn't cleared. will shoot same 1.5 again tonight. hoping to see some pinks at least this evening.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460. dental question?

interesting, one meter said 430, other said 460, guess that's within the 10% derivation.... anyway. obviously bounce not cleared yet, sticking with the program, 1.5 tonight. He's had dinner, Ocean Breeze - noticed that it actually says 'low glycemic' on the tin, the SurfnTurf doesn't.. although I know they are both low carb. Wondering about the Snappy Tom now.. will attempt to phone the maker although I think it's from Australia?? it's in a gel like goo in the pouches, not sure how much carb there is in gelatin? rest of it is pure fish 'bits' (I dread to think?!)

He's sitting on the back of the couch in his usual spot, seems a bit dopier tonight than usual though. Am talking to the vet tomorrow about the dental issues. He had a tooth extraction a couple of years ago by a different vet, who, whilst very expensive, is actually a certified dental vet . She did a good job, and he seemed to recover very quickly (she did the extraction in an attempt to clear up the eye issue.. it got better on the one side... but not on the right, which is where the suspected bad tooth is now). Thinking perhaps if my vet doesn't want to go ahead, I'll call Dr. McTaggart, explain the diabetic situation and see if she'll help. My thoughts.. and please weigh in on this.. are as follows... I think I'd rather have the dental surgery now even though he isn't regulated, because my reasoning is it's better to have too HIGH a BG level going in, and out of surgery, than it is to wait until he is lower, or still diving so much, and risking a hypo. Does that make sense??
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460. dental question.. no panic.

It makes sense. What makes more sense is that dental issues may be preventing regulation. FWIW, Gabby's had 3 dentals since she was diagnosed.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460. dental question.. no panic.

Take a look ah Jenns Mikey's SS in comparison to when he had his dental. After he got through the antibiotics for the dental, he's come straight down the doing scale like lightening. I'm not sure how a vet can refuse to do a dental on a cat that obviously needs one. For me...it would be time for a new vet.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460. dental question.. no panic.

I just read your profile and laughed out loud at Polly's story. So did Anne. I'm very sorry about Small Gee. That is really tough.

I would strongly suggest a dental, sooner rather than later. Zener was a huge bouncer and we finally had him get a dental in Dec. it was quite a long recovery since he had digestion problems too. In the last month, he has started doing great. He does seem to be moving past his bouncing too. I don't think we would be where we are without the dental.
Liz
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460. dental question.. no panic.

One of my civvies has eye damage, so she's always weepy, and her tears tend to be red like that, too. It's oxidation, rather than actual blood. I hope that's all it is for Rupie, too...oxidized tears.

C'mon down, handsome Rupert!!
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460. dental question.. no panic.

thanx for the reassurance! I'll talk to the vet tomorrow... was hoping to take him in tomorrow evening but hubby is STILL up island, he's working 22 hours straight today (actually going out in the submarine for deep dive tests, I'm a little freaked) so I have no clue when he'll be back home tomorrow. Vet is open late on Thursday.. but I may take a sick day on Wednesday if hubby takes the day off too, and we'll get Rupie in again...

re the tears.. they really ARE blood, not just oxidation, I wipe them up with the swabs and it's red red blood, quite thick. other days it's just a clear tear. very odd. Tonight, watching him cleaning his face, he was really rubbing his paw on his ride side (cleaning his eye obviously) and I think he was rubbing his teeth too. he will let me massage on that side too without much resistance. Definitely going to insist on the dental. wish I could get a slightly better handle on his BG but agree that it's a lowing battle if he has something else going on. thanx everyone. hope you all have a good evening.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460. dental question.. no panic.

i have heard several people, i think all outside the US, say that their vet wouldn't do a dental until the cat was regulated. i don't get that at all, but it's not just your vet.

we've seen over and over again that cats can have their BG increased because of inflammation, pain or infection. they get their teeth taken care of and boom - their numbers improve dramatically. when a diabetic cat has been diet-controlled and their numbers start to increase and they come back here, practically the first thing we say after "so sorry you're back" is "have you had their teeth checked?"
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460.+3, 194

+3 and down we go. looks like he's clearing the bounce.... lets hope he holds onto it till AMPS. He's drinking a lot tonight, been in and out a few times, so I assume peeing a fair bit. Tested for ketones earlier and negative. He seems happy enough, looks a little haggard though, not quite as buff as he has done in the past week or so. Assuming it was the couple of days of black/red numbers. Hopefully he's over that bounce and things are on track again. Definitely going to talk with vet tomorrow and see what we can get done. thanks again for the advice. have a good night all.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460.+3, 194

just a heads up, pip - 460 to 194 in 3 hours is a mighty big drop. you might need to stay up testing rupert again tonight! sorry for the bad news, but that boy has some drama in him!

can you remind me what his feeding schedule is again?
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460.+3, 194

no worries! I'll be testing him again in about fifteen minutes. He sure likes to dive doesn't he? grrr. He looks a LOT brighter though since he hit the blue.... came to the barn with me just now, ran up the path, is having some 'Grammys Pot Pie' (Merrick) now. (the cats eat better than we do!). I'm hoping he's going to surf some blues/yellows tonight. I'm super super tired and really need to get some sleep.. we'll see what he throws at me in a few minutes (I'll test right after he's finished eating so before he gets a spike from it).
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460.+3, 194

forgive me for not going back through your condos and looking, but did we talk about his food being given in mini-meals divided up equally between shot and +3? just wondering if that would help even him out, but it's nagging at me that perhaps we already talked about it.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460.+3, 194

+4, holding steady at 194, good boy. will try to wake up at +7 (that would be 1:30am), not sure I"ll make it, I only got four hours sleep last night with a wake up at 2:#0 am just to check on Rupert (he was fine of course and a bit miffed that I woke him up!) Would love to be able to get that extra data, although I do get the +6s during the day. Lookingat my stats I can see that he COULD go into green in about two hours time....given that he hasn't moved from the 194 for the past two hours, with nothing to eat in that time frame makes me *think* that he's hit the bottom of his bounce. Not sure I"ll be coordinated enough, nor he cooperative enough, to get a test at 1 or 2:30 but we'll see. Must go to bed now!

oh and yes, we did talk about mini meals... he had his 'dinner' at shot time, then a nibble of Ocean breeze again at about +1.5 think it was, and then a bit more nibblies at+3, and now, he's just come up from the barn with me so at +4 he had another few tablespoons of Ocean Breeze.
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460.+3, 194

uh-oh . . . i'm seeing the signs of a new data-addict. :lol: i'm right there with you. it's not that we HAVE to test this often, it's that it gives us so much information that we want to. people look at us in the TR forum as test-nuts, but look at all the information it gives you!! ;-) :-D
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460.+3, 194, +4-194

oh, you are so right, it's addicting. Poor Rupie though, I feel for his sore little ears. Its like gambling, every morning I test and when I get a low number I"m in a good mood all day, as if I hit the jackpot, if the number is high, I'm depressed and crabby! Need those green numbers to give me my fix! tragic isn't it!

I REALLY have to get some sleep now though. talk to you tomorrow!
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460.+3, 194, +4-194

well, it's 3am .... and I can't get a test because Rupert is running around outside...which I guess means he's feeling fine.. but no data for me. The motion lights keep coming on in the front yard but every time I go out there he zips off the other way. grrr. I'm going btb. so much for data gathering!
 
Re: 03/05 Rupert PMPS 460.+3, 194, +4-194

got him! so he's 147 at +9. yay. some data! he's looking very spritely. it's blowing a gale outside and just around freezing mark. Guess he was out hunting or something! anyway, have given him a little bit of Merrick and I'm back to bed!
 
I'm glad you got him in from the freezing cold and are now getting some sleep. Nice +9 Rupert.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top