03/04 Butters PMPS 77/+3 76

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday, Butters's Miralax supply was cut off, at least temporarily.

Today, she seems to be feeling a little better than the past few days. She ate better overnight. No coaxing needed, but I still had to wake her up to eat her snacks out of the autofeeder.

Still holding steady on 1u for 16 cycles. Her BG runs a little higher on 1u compared to previous higher doses, but she is still mostly green. So I assume it is best to continue holding the dose for now. Especially when he hasn't been feeling great.

Have a good day, all.
 
Lyla, it seems like quite a few people here on FDMB have had bad experiences at Blue Pearl. I'm so confused. There is a Blue Pearl in Atlanta that would be my closest Blue Pearl specialty hospital, and I've occasionally been at the point of taking a cat there, but haven't had to go there yet. Now, I'm concerned. I do know a few people who have had good experiences at Blue Pearl in Atlanta though... one person was there with a cat that had a vaccination site sarcoma from a Leukemia vaccine. They had a great experience with their cats chemo treatments. I guess each Blue Pearl is different, and it probably varies as well by which specialists you see.

Is that the "scare" that people refer to when Butters was so sick? It was set off by the lack of insulin and her pancreatitis? How long ago was that?
TBH, I don't think I knew that people were referring to a "scare" with Butters. Although yes she was sick and it was definitely scary for me at least!
She had a pancreatitis attack in October 2020. She has since been diagnosed with chronic pancreatitis and to be honest I have no idea what set off that attack. But she was tightly regulated on 1u of Lantus when she went into the hospital in October, and when she came out she wasn't even really regulated anymore. It took me two months and I had to go up from 0.5u to 4.25u and I feel very lucky I was able to get her tightly regulated again.
 
TBH, I don't think I knew that people were referring to a "scare" with Butters. Although yes she was sick and it was definitely scary for me at least!

I'll admit I was one of those scared for Butters (I always want to kiss her face). I followed a lot of what you were going through, and followed lots of updates and advice. I am so happy and impressed at how far you have come back from back then:joyful:
 
I'll admit I was one of those scared for Butters (I always want to kiss her face). I followed a lot of what you were going through, and followed lots of updates and advice. I am so happy and impressed at how far you have come back from back then:joyful:
I remember waaaaay back when I first joined and you would tell me to kiss her face and specifically the splotch on her cheek:bighug:. lol.
I'll never forget how much support I received here when she was in the hospital.
 
I remember waaaaay back when I first joined and you would tell me to kiss her face and specifically the splotch on her cheek:bighug:. lol.
I'll never forget how much support I received here when she was in the hospital.

This just makes me smile so big. Happy tears too:bighug: It's funny that Tina has been OTJ for over a year, and I still feel quite connected to this place. I've also learned so much about other health ailments common in our beautiful seniors:) And how important poop is!

ETA - Butters, you are Young; forget senior!
 
Last edited:
This just makes me smile so big. Happy tears too:bighug: It's funny that Tina has been OTJ for over a year, and I still feel quite connected to this place. I've also learned so much about other health ailments common in our beautiful seniors:) And how important poop is!
Awwwww:bighug:. This place is very special. And it transcends DM for sure.
 
Focusing my positive energies on the production of well-formed poops for Butters. :bighug: I have studied the fecal scoring image from Purina more than I care to, so I commiserate with you. Fun times. :rolleyes:
I always wondered why no one thought to turn the Bristol Stool Chart into wallpaper:confused:. Or at least a poster that I could hang on the wall by Butters's LB. Maybe some study material for her might help move things along.
 
Every single night:facepalm:. She is the deepest sleeper I have ever known in my entire life. Oh wait, I forgot we established that she probably does hear the autofeeder, but enjoys having me wake her up to eat (ie I'm being played:blackeye:).

You are needed anduseful ;)I have been holding Fortune's bowl up for him so the King doesn't have to bend his head as far. But we do those things because that's what folks in love do, right? :p

How do you wake her up, if I can ask a silly question? Trying to do the same to encourage Fortune to eat more often, but sometimes he will look at me and just put his head back down, other times he'll sniff the food and come out of his little cave bed, lol.
 
No silly questions here:joyful:. I put my hand on her body and gently jiggle her until she stirs. Then I kind of give her a gentle nudge of encouragement while clicking my tongue. I have resorted to having the feeder on my bed with towels underneath. So I just keep at it until she finally walks the two steps over to the autofeeder.

I have a stack of jigsaw puzzles for my nieces but since they don't come over anymore (covid:() the puzzles have become a riser for butters's food dish...with a towel on top...so that the Queen does not have to bend her head as far down, eithero_O.
 
Why? She earns a reduction after 14 cycles in mostly normal numbers. Are you one of those people that need an intervention? :p
Lol! I might be!:facepalm:
It actually says that you can try a reduction...so I thought that meant it was optional. I thought since she has had lots of BG tests >80 on this dose, that I should keep holding!
Do you think I should try a reduction? I can't wrap my head around how her numbers would stay mostly normal after reducing. How does that work?
 
Do you think I should try a reduction? I can't wrap my head around how her numbers would stay mostly normal after reducing. How does that work?
Yes I'd try it. Worse case it doesn't work and you go back. As for staying normal, she's done a good job so far on reduction. Think of insulin as training wheels on a bike. Gradually removing them as the beta cells get operational again.
 
Back
Top