03/04/18 Texas Gizmo PMPS=81, +2=79, +3=81, +4=81, +5=104, +11=96

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
03/03

AMPS=131, +2=106, +4=65 (MC), +4.5=57 (MC)

Eating is a real struggle but we are getting food into him (slow and steady). He will get another reduction tonight (0.50U) so I can hopefully leave him for work tomorrow.

Am giving him a fish based Soulistic mixed in with his regular LC food and got him to eat almost a regular helping at +4.5 (after the MC @ +4). Will retest at +6.

He is still lethargic but does not act like panc flare - just not interested in food. Last night I gave him Ondansteron, Mirtz, Cerenia and Canna with little to no effect.
 
Last edited:
Super duper appy prayers to sweet Gizmo :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: and for you to have peace of mind and heart , Lizzie :bighug: No one could be doing better or more ,Lizzie, no one :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Come on Gizmo ... eat your foods!
I gave him Cerenia, Ondansteron and 1/2 Mirtz an hour before PS tfs and he ate all of his PS food. Yay! I gave him plenty of time and he ate about 2/3 and went back about 5 min later and finished it. Going to give Ondan and Mirtz in the AM again. Got to get him eating. I also reduced him down to 0.5U as a precaution. Depending on how he does tonight and tomorrow AM I may see if I can get him into the vet tomorrow afternoon for BW - he is scheduled for BW Thursday.
 
Super duper appy prayers to sweet Gizmo :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: and for you to have peace of mind and heart , Lizzie :bighug: No one could be doing better or more ,Lizzie, no one :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you. He has lost 4oz and acts weak but still came to bed with me last night to get lovins and came and got his brushing this afternoon. Nice poo this afternoon. Drinking from his water bowls. And, like I said above ^^, he ate all his PS food. Appx 35 grams (1.25oz).
 
Glad he ate. Are you continuing to leave off the Epogen?

I have never had a cat that had any issue with amlodopine or enalapril which is the same class of drug as benazepril. However, since I’ve never used Epogen, I don’t know if it can be the culprit.

Sending tons of vines!
 
Thank you. He has lost 4oz and acts weak but still came to bed with me last night to get lovins and came and got his brushing this afternoon. Nice poo this afternoon. Drinking from his water bowls. And, like I said above ^^, he ate all his PS food. Appx 35 grams (1.25oz).

On all 4 of my cats wh0 had it, epogen never affected their appetites. However CKD does cause nausea.

LOts of vines and hugs coming your way. Seems like mostly good news today. :):cat:
 
Are you continuing to leave off the Epogen
He has had 3 doses (20U/dose). Last night should have been his 4th dose but I skipped it.

I am wondering why no vet has given B shots. IDK, it is mind boggling trying to keep all this straight but am wondering if that would help him.

Here is side effects of epogen (human)

https://www.webmd.com/drugs/2/drug-413/epogen-injection/details/list-sideeffects

I don't think it is the Amlodipine because he has been on it since 02/07 And just started the epogen last week (02/24, 02/27, 03/01).
 
He has had 3 doses (20U/dose). Last night should have been his 4th dose but I skipped it.

I am wondering why no vet has given B shots. IDK, it is mind boggling trying to keep all this straight but am wondering if that would help him.

Here is side effects of epogen (human)

https://www.webmd.com/drugs/2/drug-413/epogen-injection/details/list-sideeffects

I don't think it is the Amlodipine because he has been on it since 02/07 And just started the epogen last week (02/24, 02/27, 03/01).

That surprises me - I read it - maybe cats experience this side effect less than do humans? I think lowering the epogen dose might help - it's really not harmful to slow down - too fast is what you need to avoid.
 
That surprises me - I read it - maybe cats experience this side effect less than do humans? I think lowering the epogen dose might help - it's really not harmful to slow down - too fast is what you need to avoid.
He also could not tolerate the Adequan - almost exactly same side effects.
 
Gave him a bit of LC food which he gobbled up. I may give him MC, he sure isn't getting much, if any, food boost from 3-4%
 
He has had 3 doses (20U/dose). Last night should have been his 4th dose but I skipped it.

I am wondering why no vet has given B shots. IDK, it is mind boggling trying to keep all this straight but am wondering if that would help him.

Here is side effects of epogen (human)

https://www.webmd.com/drugs/2/drug-413/epogen-injection/details/list-sideeffects

I don't think it is the Amlodipine because he has been on it since 02/07 And just started the epogen last week (02/24, 02/27, 03/01).
You have a lot on your plate. I’ve usually found that when cats are older, have some sort of illness, not eating, the first thing vets do is give B12 shots. They won’t help with anemia (you have to give oral methylB for that) but they can help with any intestinal absorption issues, inappetence, etc.

Ugh on those side effects :eek:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top