03/03 Vyktor PMPS 212

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Recap:
328 AMPS
202 +6
75 +10
52 +12 - Fed LC
61 +12.5
76 +13
92 +13.5 / PMPS - shot at +13.75
119 +1
160 +3
333 +6 - it was meant to be a +5 but I slept through the alarm for an hour

So for fututre reference:
- I think I definitely should have got a +11 instead of going to get groceries, this may have indicated that the 52 was shootable.
- since I didn't have a +11 maybe I shouldn't have fed but instead waited half an hour to see where he was headed. If he didn't drop further I think I could have shot then. But that is easy to say in retrospect, if he was still dropping then I would have had to feed at that point and probably ended up having to skip the shot altogether - is there a 'correct' answer here :?

Since I was going to fall an hour behind on Tuesday's PM shot anyway I think I will stay an hour behind. It was pretty nice to have a little sleep in this morning and let myself wake up naturally instead of via the alarm clock.

Of a little concern is this means I will only get +4 into his cycle Monday night before I leave for the airport. Historically I can see by +4 how active the cycle will be but this has not been a reliable indicator post dental. So maybe the Monday PM dose will need to be reduced to ensure he is safe. One reduced dose, one missed dose I guess this means the chances are we will be back to where we have been all week ohmygod_smile Someone please remind me about last night if I want to increase too quickly to get away from there though!


Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65110
 
Re: 03/03 Vyktor AMPS 392

Ok...mind if I be the "monday morning quarterback"? :lol: :lol: Do you have that saying in Australia about soccer perhaps?

Anyway, he really took a big drop from the +6 to +10....really, Vyktor! I think you've already chastised yourself enuff about the +11 AND I think it is superb that you recognized that it could have given you some good info as to whether the +12 was a dropping number or not. FWIW, and I say this to you because you are extremely careful....when Gracie was on lantus, I shot everything above 50 whether it was dropping or not. In order to do that, you have to absolutely know whether your kitty gets food spikes, when, and how he responds to carbs. I'm not a big fan of stalling unless kitty is in the 40s....you have no choice then OR if it is going to be impossible for the bean to stay up and monitor if he/she does shoot. Safety first.

Also, I know you let him rise a little extra because of the food at +12. You are right that it would have been much better to not feed that number, and if you felt you needed to stall, then to test every 15 or so minutes and as soon as he started to rise, shoot. You want to get the insulin into him as soon as you possibly can and try to take advantage of overlap.

Insofar as a correct answer, you have to decide what is correct for you and Vyktor. So I do not think that what you did was the wrong approach. I am just offering an alternative for the future BUT the syringe is in your hand and you know your kitty. The correct answer is the one that you know keeps him the safest.

You are learning at a rocket pace and I admire you for doing so. \M/ \M/ \M/ \M/

eta: have you seen these syringes: Insulution. Says they are available in Australia but not the US or Canada.
 
Re: 03/03 Vyktor AMPS 392

You are learning at a rocket pace and I admire you for doing so.

Totally agreed!!!!!!! :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D

C'mon Vyktor, come down for the bean...

and Binksy's new friend sends greetings across the water to Meg's new friend :-D

Just-a-cute-mouse...jpg
 
This morning: Vyktor AMPS 392 +3 292 +5 283 +7 218 +9 220 +11 220

Celi that mouse is just the cutest. Now I want to set up a mini swing in Meg's room :lol:

Thanks for your thoughts Marje. I really don't know much about Vyktor's food responses with him free feeding, the couple of times I've given him HC food for low numbers his response hasn't been consistent. Nothing about Vyktor is consistent bless his little socks.

We just have Monday's experts, nothing about football of any variety which is amazing when I think about it. Australia has it's own version of footy (Aussie rules) and most of the country is obssessed with it. Not being interested in it myself it drives me nuts because it's all we hear about for months :-x

Those syringes aren't available here yet but I have emailed them to ask if half units are marked. They are available in New Zealand so they shouldn't be too far away.
 
Nice start to the vening for Vyktor!!!

That little mouse is adorable. If you set up a swing for Meg, a picture will be required :lol: !
 
That was a nice gentle bounce recovery. I want to chime in with agreement of what Marje & Celi said about your learning curve. It's been quite a trip for you and Vyktor and you've handled it all marvelously!
 
Vyktor is looking good. Maybe those nice, clean toofers are starting to help him out! Have a nice evening down under!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top