Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???
Pip
We have a plan for you and Rupert. Can you shoot an hour early? We think it would be a good idea to get some insulin into him sooner rather than later. If you can shoot an hour early, remember that your schedule will be off...
you will have to shoot roughly 12 hours from when you shoot tonight. If your normal shot time is one that you like, then you can move him forward to that time in 15 min increments each cycle or in one 30-min cycle per day. An example would be:
Normal shot time: 7am/7pm
Shooting one hour early tonight: 6 pm
Sun shoot AMPS at 6:15 am
Sun shoot PMPS at 6:30 pm
Mon shoot AMPS at 6:45 am
Mon shoot PMPS at 7 pm
Alternatively:
Shoot tonight at 6 pm
Sun shoot AMPS at 6 am
Sun shoot PMPS at 6:30 pm
Mon shoot AMPS at 6:30 am
Mon shoot PMPS at 7 pm
Either one gets you back on schedule by Monday night. The other thing is, unless he comes down into green during a cycle that he's clearing a bounce, we'd like you to increase his dose by .25u as soon as the bounce clears...that means if you get a blue PS, you can raise his dose to 1.75u. I'm not sure how you got into the shaving (doing skinny/fat doses) yet but I think it's best if you get back on doing your dosecreases/reductions by .25u for the time being. Even though raising him from f1.5 to 1.75 is not a full .25u, it's close enough and keeps you from having to do that microdosing consistently.
If he's starting to clear a bounce, try to get a +10 or +11 and post it so we can help you with the dose. Remember when you increase the dose, you need to be extra vigilant with those +2 numbers and if his PS is alot lower than normal, you'll want to get a +1 and +2. And please don't skip any more PS tests. ;-) You should test and shoot him within about 10 minutes.
My other observation is you've given him some reductions that he didn't earn. I know we've covered this but I just want to be sure we are clear on the protocol. You reduced him from 2.5u to 2u on 2/14 and again from 2u to f1.5 on 2/18. One recommendation I can make is to reread the protocol about reductions and increases and to post before you change his dose so we can help you. I know you've been doing that lately and we really appreciate it. Hopefully, we can get him on track.
Here's a refresher:
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Please let us know if you have questions. Hope this helps him! And have that martini!