03/03 Rupert PMPS 556, +2 525.m +5, 426

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/3 Ruper AMPS 405

Morning guys!

hey Rupert... what are you doing wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy uppppppppppppppp thereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee on that red floor? Come on down - you'll like the others much better.

Enjoy your day today - I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405

RUPERT!!!!!!!!!!! Rupert...can you hear me from up there??????
COME DOWN, DUDE!!!
Binks


funny-little-cat-face-looking-up.jpg
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405

oops! thanx Sandy. fixed it.

my plan today it so get a test at +4 and +8 (Saturday chores permitting) in order to see if I can figure out where the dip starts. I'd love to test him every hour but he's pretty unhappy about the whole thing at the moment so will spread things out so I can compile at least SOME useful data without having to chase the cat around the house and wrestle with him under the dining table. Poor Mr. Rupie! he's looking good today. quite active after his breakfast, went outside, came back, wandered upstairs to see what was up with Sophie (I've got the Restoralax into her via tuna juice so I"m hoping it acts fast???), now he's on the back of the couch in his usual spot snoozing.

back to the housework!
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487 argghhh!!

well, +4 shows 487. egads.

so... will do a +6 after all.....maybe this is just a bounce from yesterdays nice day? sure hope so. He seems quite fine, perhaps a little lethargic, let me test his ear with little fight. used the lancet device instead of just one of the needles that the vet gave me. took a while but he seemed far less bothered. good boy.
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509!!! darn it

+6 509!!!? I guess we aren't going to get the usual crash at lunchtime that we've had the past few days.

arghhhhhhhhhhh. he was doing so well and now this massive bounce.. I hope it's a bounce. maybe I fur shot this morning??? didn't seem like it.

guess I have to wait this out another 6 hours before his next shot. So hate leaving him up in the stratosphere like that.

He, of course, seems just fine and quite happy. Will take him outside for a walk I think , see if we can burn that sugar out of his sytem!
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +6 509, +8 559!!????????

he's never been this high. what should I do? ignore, shoot at regular time? getting kinda freaked out at this very steady rise, with four hours left to go. He SEEMS fine., sleepy (but not more than usual), has eaten a bit, been outside. acting normally.

advice or sedatives welcomed!!!!
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

Oh Pip, you know I can't help, but I'm keeping you company in my heart. Checks was over 500, twice last week. I know how scary it is. All you can do is wait it out, and try not to stress any more than you have to.
I hope someone else comes on with some kind of advice. ((((Pip))))

Are you sure your meter is working properly? Got a backup meter? Fresh strips?
I always want to blame those kind of numbers on something. :roll:
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

Pip

Barb is right.....you have to wait out the bounce from yesterday's nice numbers. Time for a big glass of wine for you.

I think she also has some good suggestions to just check your meter and strips.....just to make you feel confident in your meter. Do you have a backup?
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

tested twice more just now. first one came back simply saying 'WARNING! Hi glucose' so I did it again and it came back with a 556. (in my numbers it was 31, then over 33 then a 30.9) so I don't think it's the meter.

Rupert is cleaning himself on the couch, pretty annoyed with me now.
I know I have to wait until 6:30pm (another 3.5 hours) till he gets his shot.. I guess I"m just a little panicky at the numbers and thinking all that nice green and blue 'good work' he did, is all getting ruined.

thanx for the support Barb, I know you understand. I'm nearly in tears here. of course I guess I should look at the bigger picture and realize that a) Rupert is still alive, pretty happy in himself and doing okay and b) tomorrow is another day and this doesn't happen overnight.. it just seems scary to let these numbers persist. He gives me a few days with high enough nadirs that I think a dose increase is allowed.. and then throws in a couple of doozies that suggest in NO way should the dose be increased.. but then doesn't have enough super lows to suggest dose decrease. Yet the current dose still seems to be all over the map, tonight will be the end of our 15th cycle at this dose.

feel free to me as necessary
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

Binks hit the black floor a few times as well...
I HATED seeing it, but he came back down next cycle each time.

Sorry Rupert's decided to soar rather than hop, Pip... :sad:

celi
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: All you can do is wait, it could be a bounce, that was 300 points in 4 hours yesterday, or a fur shot or a combo. hang in there , we have all been in this situation.

Uh, Rupe! I'm pretty high too, i can relay the ropes up to you! Then maybe the others can pull us both down. -- Tess
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

I guess I'm wanting reassurance that he isn't doing irreparable damage to himself with these numbers.

breathe breathe. Looking at him right now he's having a clean, looking grumpy and is obviously unphased by all of this.

I think I'll go make some pastry, (parents coming for dinner tonight so I'm making quiche).. find a martini, and settle down.

this is so hard! (you all must think me such a whiner, I've only been at this two months but I"m finding it really overwhelming at times and I'm still suffering massive grief over the loss of Small Gee so even the teensiest thing seems to set me off. VERY annoying, I"m British, it's in our genes NOT to cry, to suck it up and be unemotional!!! Thank you all for being here for me to whine and cry to. I can't do that when hubby is around, he's SUPER fragile at the moment and I'm trying to make it seem like everything is fine and happy and under control for him)
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

Hope Rupert comes down soon.

I can sympathize with you, it's no fun to have to type in those black numbers especially when you've been seeing nice greens and blues.
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

Aw, Pip...you aren't a whiner!!!

we all love our babies so much, and we understand EXACTLY what you are going through...
it's what makes this such a haven for us all...

celi
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

Yep, we've all been exactly where you are and we know how hard it is. Thank the goddess for LL. There were a few times I didn't see how I could keep going but somehow I did. My heritage is German and boy has that come in handy! :lol: :lol: :lol: You are doing a great job with Rupert and it sometimes takes a while for a kitty's liver to calm down. I remember someone quoting Jill as saying all cats stop bouncing eventually. So pull on those patience pants and appreciate how great it is to live with cats, especially one with FD :smile:
Liz
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

I'M A HUGE FAN OF HUMOR & ALCOHOL AS COPING MECHANISMS :lol: :lol:

Martini.jpg
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

thank you all. I have calmed down a bit! made a nice batch of spinach carrot soup, quiche 'insides' are about to be constructed, pastry cooling in the fridge... have to go out and put Wilf out in the grass and bring Squeak in...cats all seem happy, three on the couch, one in the leather chair and one in the box that my boots came in! No room for me on the furniture as usual! Hubby got called to work up island this weekend... submarine has done something silly as usual. lots of nice overtime for him although I do miss him, as do all the animals! Still, all that nice overtime will go towards buying supplies for Rupert. I'm down to only 5 test strips.. rats!!! I got a deal on some on ebay but they won't be here in time so I'm going to have to fork out the $75+ for a bunch tomorrow. drat!


you guys are all amazing and I truly appreciate the support. I only hope I can do the same for someone else sometime soon!
 
Re: 3/3 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559!!??help!???

Pip

We have a plan for you and Rupert. Can you shoot an hour early? We think it would be a good idea to get some insulin into him sooner rather than later. If you can shoot an hour early, remember that your schedule will be off...
you will have to shoot roughly 12 hours from when you shoot tonight. If your normal shot time is one that you like, then you can move him forward to that time in 15 min increments each cycle or in one 30-min cycle per day. An example would be:

Normal shot time: 7am/7pm
Shooting one hour early tonight: 6 pm
Sun shoot AMPS at 6:15 am
Sun shoot PMPS at 6:30 pm
Mon shoot AMPS at 6:45 am
Mon shoot PMPS at 7 pm

Alternatively:
Shoot tonight at 6 pm
Sun shoot AMPS at 6 am
Sun shoot PMPS at 6:30 pm
Mon shoot AMPS at 6:30 am
Mon shoot PMPS at 7 pm

Either one gets you back on schedule by Monday night. The other thing is, unless he comes down into green during a cycle that he's clearing a bounce, we'd like you to increase his dose by .25u as soon as the bounce clears...that means if you get a blue PS, you can raise his dose to 1.75u. I'm not sure how you got into the shaving (doing skinny/fat doses) yet but I think it's best if you get back on doing your dosecreases/reductions by .25u for the time being. Even though raising him from f1.5 to 1.75 is not a full .25u, it's close enough and keeps you from having to do that microdosing consistently. If he's starting to clear a bounce, try to get a +10 or +11 and post it so we can help you with the dose. Remember when you increase the dose, you need to be extra vigilant with those +2 numbers and if his PS is alot lower than normal, you'll want to get a +1 and +2. And please don't skip any more PS tests. ;-) You should test and shoot him within about 10 minutes.

My other observation is you've given him some reductions that he didn't earn. I know we've covered this but I just want to be sure we are clear on the protocol. You reduced him from 2.5u to 2u on 2/14 and again from 2u to f1.5 on 2/18. One recommendation I can make is to reread the protocol about reductions and increases and to post before you change his dose so we can help you. I know you've been doing that lately and we really appreciate it. Hopefully, we can get him on track.

Here's a refresher:
"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Please let us know if you have questions. Hope this helps him! And have that martini!
 
Re: 03/03 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559?ok. calmer n

Thank you Marjorie, that's exactly the type of hand holding I need! I saw the 'counting cycles' post and bumped it a while back, trying to figure out what to do. Rupert doesn't seem to give me enough numbers in one color to base decisions on at the moment! Also, we lowered the dose because someone thought that it was way too high to start him out at 2 or 2.5 or wherever it was when we got into this....

okay. so I normally shoot at 6:30.... so I should should at 5:30? I can do 5:45 tomorrow morning, then 6pm tomorrow night, then 6:15 monday morning, 6:30 monday night.... right?

should I shoot 1.5 or 1.75?? I'm thinking stick with the 1.5???
 
Re: 03/03 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559?ok. calmer n

You're welcome, Pip. There's usually someone around to help you make dosing decisions esp if you can post a +10/+11 when you think a dosecrease might be imminent.

You want to hold your same dose tonight just like you have been doing. Let's not raise him until he starts to clear the bounce. Yes...the schedule is right if you normally shoot at 6:30:
shoot tonight: 5:30
Sun am: 5:45
Sun pm: 6
Mon am: 6:15
Mon pm: 6:30

We will be happy to help you as much as you need....just put the "?" button on and "dose ??" in your subject line. Good luck on the early shot tonight. And please be sure you get that +2 since you are
shooting early and because Rupert likes to clear his bounces fast.

Thanks, Pip!
 
Re: 03/03 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559?ok. calmer n

I used more test strips today than I anticipated. Luckily I have enough left to do PMPS, +2 and +4/5 and AMPS and +2.. I can get more at the store tomorrow.

thanx again.
 
Re: 03/03 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559?ok. calmer n

Ouch Rupert but Pip don't panic about him undoing all his good work when he bounces. The high numbers take a little while to cause damage whereas every hour spent in the lower numbers helps to heal his pancreas, i.e. having the time in the lower numbers is worth the bounce.
 
Re: 03/03 Rupert AMPS 405, +4 487,+6 509+8 559?ok. calmer n

Pip:

I think I'd get more test strips just in case. If he clears and you have to test more than a few times, you'll be sorry you did not get them....you don't want to have to run out in the middle of the night. It's never good to be down
to just five strips because we cannot predict when our kitties will want to break a bounce.

Also...if you could please do some housekeeping for us by taking the "?" off (just open the first post of the day, click on edit, click the "none" button, and submit") if we've answered your questions for now. If you have more, you
can leave it up. Thank you!!!
 
Re: 03/03 Rupert PMPS 556, +2 525.

+2 PMPS and he's SLOWLY coming down, 525.... doesn't look like he's going to dive tonight. will check again at +5.
 
slow steady drop. I guess that's a good thing, still in the reds, but at least out of the blacks. Figured out that he's droppgin 30pts an hour.. if he holds that rate he should be around 230ish AMPS... will be interesting to see what happens. I have two test strips for tomorrow so I"ll be heading to Walmart in the morning! Have a good night everyone.
 
i'm just getting on late tonight and wanted to add my reassurance that the bouncing isn't worth worrying about. if you stick to the protocol you'll be doing the best that you can do for rupert - and the bouncing will settle down.

a lot of people will post when they think they should change the dose, putting something like "dose increase?" in the subject line. that's what i did for the first several months.

don't forget to look at rupert without his numbers sometimes - is he happy? he probably doesn't notice his BG nearly as much as you do. it helps me to put it in perspective when punkin's really high.

if you look at some of the other cats spreadsheets you'll see all of them bounce sometimes. it just goes with the territory.
 
hi pip - i wondered if you know that there is an icon at the very bottom of your screen on each page that says "bookmark topic." if you want to save something so you can look back at it, click on that icon. then when you want to look at it, go to your "user control panel" then "manage bookmarks" and it will be in the list there.

very handy - i have a dozen or so helpful posts bookmarked that i refer back to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top