03/02 Vyktor +10 75 +12 52 shot late PMPS 92 +1 119 +3 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Did the 0.25 increase but I'm not very hopeful it will touch the sides, of course I'm hoping I am proven wrong.

Recap

337 AMPS
355 +6
367 PMPS
313 +4
319 +7

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Is he still on AB from dental?

Yes, he's had this mornings dose and has two more days to go.

Linda for Weezer said:
Has the possibility of any lingering problems in his mouth been ruled out?

I am wondering if there's a problem there too. He seems fine (eating, face not swollen, no bad breath) but he generally seemed fine beforehand too. He hasn't bitten me yet (usually he likes to surprise attack me here and there) but it was 7 teeth and only a week ago today. They did post removal xrays but I'm guessing they could still miss something. He's due back for a check up at the end of next week but the vet isn't too hopeful about getting a good look in his mouth :sad:

I am also wondering if this is just the gentle nature of lantus and he needs a kick to get started again, which combined with the high 'nadirs' is why I was thinking a larger increase.

I am also wondering if it's the insulin but that would be pretty coincidental timing for it to lose its potency right after his dental.

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65007

Yay for Sammy going home. The vet says maybe 5 years but we all know that our kitties like to beat the odds so I'm betting on many many more years to come.

Continuing to keep Katie and her family in my thoughts, hope she turns the corner soon.
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 - dosecrease

No dosing advice from me, but I'm wishing for healthy gums and lower BG numbers for Vyktor.
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 - dosecrease

A month today, started it on 02/02. Has been stored in fridge.

It had a small drop on to the bench on 02/07 but seemed to be ok as we saw great numbers since then.
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 - dosecrease

serryn said on 2/27 that the insulin was new on 02/02.

hopefully an increase will move his numbers down a little.
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 - dosecrease

Vyktors Mum said:
I am also wondering if this is just the gentle nature of lantus and he needs a kick to get started again, which combined with the high 'nadirs' is why I was thinking a larger increase.
needing a kick start is something which is extremely common. once you lose regulation for whatever reason, it's very, very common to have to surpass the dose kitty was on in order to get back to where you once were.

for example, look at alex's 2010 spreadsheet. she experienced several relapses after the initial liver & kidney disease diagnosis earlier that year. with each of these relapses i've had to increase her dose to get her back down most of the times. heck, any time i see a slight upwards trend i'll jump on an increase before numbers get out of hand. i just have to monitor carefully when i'm making these kinds of adjustments. sometimes you have to go up in order to come back down...

you increased the dose again this morning. let's see what vyktor does with it. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 - dosecrease

FWIW, we're trying to focusing on the BGs. If they are high, Zener needs more insulin. If they go low, he needs less. If they are in normal range (50-120), then the dose is just right. We are trying to ignore the size of the dose. I'm thinking of it as the Three Bears philosophy. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 - dosecrease

Hi Serryn....keeping you in our thoughts and prayers.

Glad yo increased but I think Dyana's suggestion to just increase by .25 u was wise. Except for one cycle. His nadirs have been just barely above or even below 300. With meter variance, those just aboves might have been lower so I would have also been conservative about increasing. I would hold this dose six cycles and reasses....as Jill said...you may have to go up to come down. Also I'd look at Jenn's Mikey's SS. It took until after his AB was finished after extraction before his BGs started coming down and then they plummeted.

Have a great day. Vyktor...enuff NDW!
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 - dosecrease

Hi Serryn,
I'm sure that with the dose increase Vyktor's numbers will get back down. Also, he is still taking the antibiotics, and they can have an effect on bgs. It sounds like his mouth is clean of tooth remains, but it will be good to have it checked again next week. I think you just have to give the whole healing process time and, as Jill says, don't let the numbers get away from you.

How are you doing? I think of you a lot and hope that your heart is beginning to heal.

Hugs to you and Vyktor (and Meg rabbit, too),

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 +6 202 +10 75!!! - dosecrease

Feeling pretty glad I followed the advice of Dyana and Sandy instead of implementing my own heavy handed ideas!
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 +6 202 +10 75 PMPS 52

Very, very, very glad :shock:

Even I'm not silly enough to think I should shoot that while it's falling. He is hungry and this is an odd situation, he is nearly at the level I would feed HC to prop up anyway so I'm not going to withhold food and stall. I'm going to feed LC now and will restest half an hourly.

My plan is not to shoot for at least 2 hours now. Exactly how late I shoot will depend on whether I need to give him more food or not - I won't shoot for 2 hours after last fed so I'm shooting a clean number. I'm thinking that clean number should be somethings in the 70s so that I'm sure he's coming up again.

Does all that sound about right?

ETA: +12.5 61 - food looks to have done its job, is it okay to leave for an hour before testing now?

Will be looking to shoot at +14 BG permitting.
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 +6 202 +10 75 PMBG 52 +12.5 61

I would still test again in 30. The food spike may wain in an hour.

I was trying to do a search of 2 hour and got 183000 matches, of when I advised someone to wait for 2 hours after feeding and Sienne responded that she doesn't usually advice waiting having the bean wait for 2 hours because it will mess with your shot schedule. I finally found it: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64185&p=695275&hilit=2+hour#p695387
Are you able to shoot 2 hours late, and then adjust your shot schedule accordingly?
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 +6 202 +10 75 PMBG 52 +12.5 61

Kind of, it is a public holiday here on Monday so I am completely at his beck and call for the next 3 days but then I go to Melbourne for the day on Monday.

The only concern would be that, following the half hour per day theory I could only get back to shooting half an hour late by the the PM shot before I leave, which means he would only be at +4.5 of his shot when I left (but I could reduce that shot), apart from that shot I would be better off being a little behind anyway as his PM shot will be an hour late when I get back.

ETA: probably a stupid question but is it maybe ok to shoot at an hour and a half after eating instead of waiting the full 2 hours?
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 +6 202 +10 75 PMBG 52 +12.5 61 +13

Let's see what his +13.5 is.

I guess Australia doesn't have daylight savings time, since you're in the opposite season as us. Next weekend, we all have to change our shot schedules by one hour (in 15 minute or 30 minute increments). You don't have that, right?
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 +6 202 +10 75 PMBG 52 +12.5 61 +13

How much LC did he eat at +12?
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor AMPS 328 +6 202 +10 75 PMBG 52 +12.5 61 +13

+13.5 is 92

We have daylight savings in half the country but not where I am. They started in October and finish at the end of this month

just calculating what he ate into ounces

ETA: 1.2 oz
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor +10 75 PMBG 52 +12.5 61 +13 76 +13.5 92

I think, since he's now at 92, that you can go ahead and shoot. What do you think? He's almost 100. You'll be home tonight and can get some tests in, like starting with a +1 and +2?
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor +10 75 PMBG 52 +12.5 61 +13 76 +13.5/PMPS 9

I can't say I'm too keen on the late drops he likes to pull sometimes but usually when he's done that he's been leveling out by +12 not still going down :shock: and he's never been low enough to need food :shock: :shock:

Much nicer than the last week though!

ETA: he hasn't eaten (except a little raw meat after tests) between +12 and +1 (2.75 hrs) so I'm going to leave his little ears be for a couple of hours and get his next test at +3
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor +10 75 +12 52 +.5 61 +13 76 +.5/PMPS 92 +11

Wow, Vyktor, you're really liking these greens and keeping your MumBean on her toes. How about slowing down and surfing. Serryn, hope you're hanging in okay.
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor +10 75 +12 52 +.5 61 +13 76 +.5/PMPS 92 +11

Well now, that's more like it . . :mrgreen:

depending on the numbers, if he is way high next PS, you may be able to shoot an hour early to help get back to schedule.. . .
(I have done it on occasion). See how it goes this cycle.
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor +10 75 +12 52 +.5 61 +13 76 +.5/PMPS 92 +11

Hi Serryn,
All these numbers and times and feedings or non-feedings are whirling in my head this morning (it's too early!), but it sounds like you're on top of it all!!!
Carry on!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor +10 75 +12 52 +.5 61 +13 76 +.5/PMPS 92 +1

Hi guys .. wowwie vyktor! Numbers are looking good my man, keep them up! I hope this is the beginning of some very nice cycles for you guys .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor +10 75 +12 52 shot late PMPS 92 +1 119 +3 1

Those greens are wonderful! It does keep the bean on her toes, though, doesn't it? :-D
Liz
 
Re: 03/02 Vyktor +10 75 +12 52 shot late PMPS 92 +1 119 +3 1

Vyktor is Back On Track!!! WHOOO HOOO!! Congrats on the dose crease--He will be great anagin in no time- Hugs & Lubs from us! :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top