03/01 Miho AMPS 257; 189 @+2.5; 171 @+5.5

Sophia & Miho

Member Since 2023
previous thread



AMPS 257
1.25u

189 @+2.5
171 @+5.5

ketones 0.1 (amps@+2.5)



notes for AMPS: she's doing better than yesterday, but still lethergic - her appetite decreased a little still.
she eats but not as much, skips routine etc.

her blood sugar has been doing better since she was put on chemo. 9 out of 10 i see the check mark on the glucometer, meaning it's not going up or down (Stable).

I am thinking of getting a second opinion from a holistic vet.
I've been reading books on chemotherapy and what it does to your body, how it affects people and animals with diabetes..and I feel like at the moment chemo is doing more harm than good for her.


PMPS 275
1.25u

85 (@+3.8)
79; (@+4)
104 (@+4.5) - checkmark on meter (stablised)

notes for PMPS: on this particular day I was anxious all day for no reason, i was supposed to go to bed early but i stayed up until 1-2am like something in me told me i had to. I saw miho acting out of ordinary, even though it was subtle. she usually likes sitting in front of the back door (screen door) in the living room all night to watch the garden but this time she was sitting in the same position but sitting pointing towards my room which is opposite from the backdoor, alone in the dark. when i checked on her her pupil was huge.. thankfully i found out she was dropping rapidly before she got into episodes, i was so x 100 tired but i told myself this was a life and death issue. Luckily her bg stabalised soon at about 3am.

all i did was giving her 1/8 of acv with treats to help her with possible food allergies (she gets black waxy ears very easily even though i clean them often..) anyway, i've lowered her dose from 1.25u to 1u on the next cycle just to be safe.
 
Last edited:
I would not go to an holistic vet for small cell lymphoma treatment. The standard of care is chlorambucil, best given with the newer protocol of once every two weeks, and a steroid. Typically that’s prednisolone, but budesonide can work for diabetics with less blood sugar impact. My Neko had diabetes and SCL. She was the second of three cats with SCL. Number three is almost five years in remission.

The chlorambucil protocol described sounds odd or non standard. What size is her dose and how often is she getting it? Maybe you need a referral to an internal medicine vet.

Is she getting any anti nausea meds? Ondansetron is the best for chemo nausea.
 
I would not go to an holistic vet for small cell lymphoma treatment. The standard of care is chlorambucil, best given with the newer protocol of once every two weeks, and a steroid. Typically that’s prednisolone, but budesonide can work for diabetics with less blood sugar impact. My Neko had diabetes and SCL. She was the second of three cats with SCL. Number three is almost five years in remission.

The chlorambucil protocol described sounds odd or non standard. What size is her dose and how often is she getting it? Maybe you need a referral to an internal medicine vet.

Is she getting any anti nausea meds? Ondansetron is the best for chemo nausea.


the protocol is meant to be aggressive and short.

she's already seeing a feline internal medicine vet and on cerenia/ondansetron. The vet does not recommend steroid, pred or bude, due to her history of DKA last year.

she is on 1 pill of chlrolambucil twice a week for 4 weeks. this week is meant to be her third, but i don't plan on giving her another since she was responding poorly to it. may be if the dose was once every two weeks it might have been ok? i dont know
 
I presume the 1 pill of chlorambucil is 2mg Leukeran? It can be compounded in different sizes. Also, how frequently and how much ondansetron is she getting. Many vets, even IM vets, underdose this med. I had that unfortunate experience with Neko. :( Miho can get it 3-4 times a day, 0.5-1.0 mg/kg of cat as the dose. I also found the more frequent dosing of Leukeran (every other day) much harder on Neko and she was a lot better when we switched to the every 2 weeks protocol.

There's a group.io group specializing in feline lymphoma if you want to join it. There is an internal medicine vet who is a member and helps out as he can. He's dealt with hundreds of small cell and IBD cats.
 
I presume the 1 pill of chlorambucil is 2mg Leukeran? It can be compounded in different sizes. Also, how frequently and how much ondansetron is she getting. Many vets, even IM vets, underdose this med. I had that unfortunate experience with Neko. :( Miho can get it 3-4 times a day, 0.5-1.0 mg/kg of cat as the dose. I also found the more frequent dosing of Leukeran (every other day) much harder on Neko and she was a lot better when we switched to the every 2 weeks protocol.

There's a group.io group specializing in feline lymphoma if you want to join it. There is an internal medicine vet who is a member and helps out as he can. He's dealt with hundreds of small cell and IBD cats.

yes she takes lekeran 2mg. (1 pill/2mg)
she gets ondansetron 2mg every 12 hours, cerenia 6mg every 24 hours.
other people have also told me the ondansetron is underdosed too, but when i increased from 2mg to 4mg every 12 hours she was lethergic so I try sticking to the minimum dose unless she's vomiting on meds.

I think Miho can do much better with once every 2 weeks protocol like Neko did, I'll discuss this with my vet (and may be get a second opinion if she wants to maintain status quo protocol) Thank you!

I'd love to get more info from feline lymphoma group. FYI my vet said Miho has ibd and MIGHT have small cell lymphoma, on ultrasound it just showed thickened walls. She wanted to put her on chemo for a short period of time to tackle her vomiting issues so she doesn't have to take ondansetron/cerenia anymore. Does this still make me an eligible member?
 
You don’t have an actual diagnosis, without a biopsy. IBD and small cell lymphoma can be impossible to differentiate on ultrasound. My vet was sure current kitty had IBD, but biopsy showed she had both. The lymphoma group can help you with what to ask for in tests and best way to get biopsy done.
 
I did read your reply before you deleted it. Neko did not get an actual biopsy, because her heart could not tolerate anaesthesia required. Treatments for IBD and SCL differ. You aren't the first to not biopsy, just be aware that at some point you may wonder which condition he has. I know I did with Neko. Vets were leaning to SCL, but if she didn't have it, I wouldn't have continued with her chlorambucil, because in addition to everything else she had going on, it was hard on her. My current IBD/SCL cat (Neko was the first of 3 with SCL) had biopsy via endoscopy, much less invasive. Second and third kitty on chlorambucil tolerated it quite well with ondansetron to help. ECID.
 
I did read your reply before you deleted it. Neko did not get an actual biopsy, because her heart could not tolerate anaesthesia required. Treatments for IBD and SCL differ. You aren't the first to not biopsy, just be aware that at some point you may wonder which condition he has. I know I did with Neko. Vets were leaning to SCL, but if she didn't have it, I wouldn't have continued with her chlorambucil, because in addition to everything else she had going on, it was hard on her. My current IBD/SCL cat (Neko was the first of 3 with SCL) had biopsy via endoscopy, much less invasive. Second and third kitty on chlorambucil tolerated it quite well with ondansetron to help. ECID.

I deleted my response because I respect you as a moderator here and wanted to protect your image.
but if you want to go on, then I won't stop you.

i've talked to more than 10 cat parents with cats with lymphoma. What you have been telling me as a "medical advice" is..
please understand i'm trying my best not to sound rude, but they are more than ignorant.
I'm glad all the treatments you have chosen for your cats worked out well. That's not the case for everybody.
To be honest, when you recommended steroid to a diabetic cat with history of dka I really had to restrain myself from calling you out.
please do not offer dangerous medical advice to cat parents who are already suffering. At least have decency to ask first about their medical history or labs.

you said you did biopsy in your first response and even tried to get me to do one for my cat. Biopsy does not always give an accurate dignosis either. For some cats cancer cells are hiding deep inside the layers of tissue. I've had people threatening and gaslighting me in the past just because i did not want to follow with their advice, mocking the dignosis and treatment plans made by my IM vet claiming they somehow know better than my doctor, I was scared that you will respond in the same way - and that's exactly what you're doing now. I don't understand why you are gaslighting me. I never said I was better than you or I was the first one to not do biopsy.

i've met so many people like you in companion animal communities. You only care about being right. You only care about your image around other people than caring about what's best for our feline children. You won't be able to affect me because I am not afraid to be wrong, unlike you. I'm here to learn because i care about my kitty just like the rest of the members here. If you kick me out, I will take that as an acknolwedgement from you that I am right.

please do not comment on my post anymore. You have been rude to me from day 1 I don't feel safe conversing with you.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top