03/01 Durielle AMPS 330 (on Prednisone day 8)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Durielle

Member Since 2012
Haven't posted in nearly 4 years. Durielle is still with me, but we are fighting for her life at this point.

Durielle has been found to have a cancerous tumor in her right hip. It's operable, removable, and non-spreading... but, during the pre-op bloodwork, we learned Durie is severely anemic 6% red blood cells. So she was put on Prednisone, which is helping her regain red blood cells (tested at 26% on Sat Feb 25). At this rate, she has to stay on Prednisone for another 2 weeks before being ready for the operation.
BUT, the Prednisone is already starting to cause DKA signs. As of this morning, Durie is lethargic. I have limited funds, so the best option now is to seek a food for her that is the most protein, least fat/carbs I can find. I will also begin stalling her Prednisone to every 15 or 18 hours (vs. every 12).
Will contact vet now, but thought also to write here just in case. Any thoughts or observations are welcom.
 
Sorry to hear about Durielle's tumor but I'm so happy it's operable. :bighug: Sending vines for a successful surgery.

Question for you, is that prednisone or prednisolone you are giving. Prednisolone is much better for kitties. See this article for details.

You will find that when you add a steroid, you will find her insulin needs will rise. You will like need to increase her insuliu dose. The lack of required insulin is probably contributing to the DKA signs. Are you testing regularly for ketones?

What food are you feeding now? You could always supplement a bit with pure cooked chicken. Tiki Cat brand has a lot of zero carb foods, though a bit spendy.
 
Thanks for your reply. We are prescribed Prednisone, but have just msgd vet about possible change. Durielle used to require 1 unit of Lantus 2x day, while eating Friskies Chicken Pate. She is now getting 1.5 units since Feb 27, while eating only Weruva Chicken (nutrition chart attached) since Mar 02 in hopes this will bring down bg. I don't know how to test for ketones. I am just going by her energy level.. she's sometimes nearly lethargic, but could also be due to the anemia and cancer pain. If she can only tolerate the steroids for 2 more weeks, she may be operable. Will retest later today. Unfortunately the AMPS on 03-03-17, 7am is 390. But she had eaten a good amount starting at 5am. Thanks for replies.
 

Attachments

  • Weruva.JPG
    Weruva.JPG
    139.5 KB · Views: 64
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top