03/01/20 AMPS 369, +6 310, +9 354, PMPS 325, +4 106 Dose Advice, hold or increase?

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/29/20
First poke didn't really bleed, got enough blood the second time thankfully. He didn't really fight me much, just wiggles around when I go to touch his ears. Gets some chicken so he's happy.
Injection was easier even though he kept moving and glaring at me, looked like he was about to bite me. At least he didn't move during injection today. He did yesterday evening which caused me to yank the needle out immediately after injecting, I wonder if that disturbed the insulin.
Good appetite. Becoming playful again, not much on his own but I've been playing with him. I played with him twice yesterday. About 30 minutes to an hour each time. Not a lot of full body movements but it's something.
Hope everyone is having a good day.:)
 
Sounds like excellent progress to me! You've come a long way from the beginning when it was 'fight-time'! At least he's starting to 'accept' this whole idea...that this is going to happen...

Glad you were able to get in some play time too :) Don't let the glaring get to you...just tell him he's wonderful and that you love him...

You're doing a great job with him. Have a great day Brittany!
 
Sounds like excellent progress to me! You've come a long way from the beginning when it was 'fight-time'! At least he's starting to 'accept' this whole idea...that this is going to happen...

Glad you were able to get in some play time too :) Don't let the glaring get to you...just tell him he's wonderful and that you love him...

You're doing a great job with him. Have a great day Brittany!
Thank you for the encouragement! He's doing a whole lot better.:bighug:
 
+6 is high, I did give him a snack at +5 but it was so small and has 0 carbs so surely that wouldn't make it skyrocket like that. I slept through +3 so not much data so far today.
 
+9 still high. I didn't smell insulin after his injection this morning and it didn't feel or look wet so it wasn't a furshot, yet his bg is so high.
I don't believe yesterday's PM injection was a furshot either. Don't remember smelling insulin or it being wet then either. He did move right after I injected though causing the needle to be removed abruptly, he's done that before though and I've never seen fluctuations like this just staying high.
Weird. I'll monitor his PM injection closely to see if he drops back down. Increasing to 1.5 units tomorrow as planned if he doesn't drop anymore.
 
Last edited:
Might be bouncing from that (60) yesterday....we'll see in a day or so what the numbers look like.
I don't think you increase after two days of greens during a cycle....I'd wait.
 
Might be bouncing from that (60) yesterday....we'll see in a day or so what the numbers look like.
I don't think you increase after two days of greens during a cycle....I'd wait.
How long should I wait? I'm not sure when I'm supposed to be increasing. I've been told I hold too long. I've never seen him bouncing like this, a bit odd.
 
Hard to say...some cats go high before they go low. I'd see what tomorrow looks like and post to see what that trend looks like.
I know with TR if you aren't seeing lower numbers you increase , but since you just saw 60 yesterday.....
 
Hard to say...some cats go high before they go low. I'd see what tomorrow looks like and post to see what that trend looks like.
I know with TR if you aren't seeing lower numbers you increase , but since you just saw 60 yesterday.....
I'm just confused with when I'm supposed to be increasing. TR says if you're new to numbers under 200 hold 5 days and now I'm new to numbers under 100 so I don't know how long I'm supposed to hold anymore. I'll wait another day as you suggested. Maybe I'll ask for dose advice since I'm confused. Thank you.
 
TR sticky:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.

Looks like you are starting to see nadirs under 100...so I would think you hold for 10 cycles like it says but I am not 100% sure where you would start counting the cycles- yesterday or the first day you had greens mid cycle. Either way, tomorrow seems too early for an increase to me, but I'd be interested to see what others think...
 
I’d wait another day, giving you 10 cycles after that first green. The trick is whether or not you did a fur shot, cause that restarts the cycle count.
 
I’d wait another day, giving you 10 cycles after that first green. The trick is whether or not you did a fur shot, cause that restarts the cycle count.
I don't believe I did a furshot. I just smelled insulin. The fur wasn't wet. It must just be a little residue from the droplets that fall while adjusting the dose, the smell does linger for a while after all.
I guess if you're still worried about it I could just start counting the cycle from the 29th.
So, you count after the first green, got it. If he's still showing greens today do I just continue to hold the dose until he starts rising again or what?
Thank you.
 
Back
Top