02-Aug Maverick AMPS 524

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Maverick

Member Since 2017
Good morning! well after my first successful test last night +2 353, we woke up to a yucky start...AMPS 524 which is higher than at diagnosis. But at least I'm testing now, and today is only the third day of Lantus 1u bid.

I heard him eating a bit of dry around 1 1/2 hours before testing, maybe his AMPS number was affected? I tested him again +20 minutes and it was marginally better at 499. I can tell he doesn't like being here at this number, he had more pee this morning.

I'll test him +6 at lunch time and get working on my spreadsheet.
 
I missed the +6 by about 30 minutes (late), but I think it was a pretty good number from where we started - 202. Given the time of testing, does this usually mean he's peaked and is on his way back up? Or is it too early to establish a pattern? I did also give him about 1/3 can of DM which is his usual lunch and a few extra kisses before I left :cat:.
 
Kisses help, a lot. You might start to think about cutting out the dry. The Purina DM runs about 18% carbs. The Orijen Fit website claims it is 15% carbs, but using a carb calculator, the number comes out much higher. (If someone could do the math, that would be great: https://www.orijen.ca/foods/cat-food/dry-cat-food/fit-trim/)

However, do not take away the dry until you have more data and are testing easily and frequently. Removing dry food can drop overall blood glucose numbers significantly, making the insulin dosage too high and risking a hypo situation.

There are timed feeders on the market for snacking purposes. Also freeze dried treats (no carbs).

I'm sure others will chime in with recommendations about feeders and treats.
 
Hi Christie - Welcome to LL! The spreadsheet will really help especially after the initial ramp up on Lantus. You will be able to find the low / peak in the cycle and learn more about his reaction to insulin. I really hope Maverick will be feeling better with improved numbers. Just a couple other things while you get up and running:
* Will you be able to eliminate dry food? It would be best to stick to the canned if at all possible. Maybe you are already ramping this down.
* For a pre-shot number, try to make sure there is no food 2 hours before to avoid any food influence in that number.
* Do you know if you want to follow TR or SLGS yet? Pls note in your signature if you do - helps others to give protocol specific guidance.
* Pls double check dates in your sig - I think the 07's should be 17's o_O

Hope you have had a chance to read the sticky notes at the top of the forum. There is description of an active cycle described in The Basics. That would suggest that at +6 you can expect to see a peak in the insulin action (lowest blood glucose). However, every cat is different and without several days to establish the depot, this is going to be hard to predict. My cat for example, sees peak action at around +5 during the day.

I know the high numbers can be discouraging, but given he is responding to insulin and you are putting in place the system that will help you drive those numbers lower you both are on the right track! Don't get discouraged - it is too early, please keep posting your questions and I'm sure others will chime in with answers and suggestions.
 
Thank you, yes my ultimate goal is to cut out the dry. Indeed, I was very worried about not having enough data and insulin doses behind us to fully understand how Maverick needs to be properly managed. We dropped significantly already in carb count from his previous dry which, per the carb calculator was ~ 34%, shocking and saddening :( as it was "grain free". I liked the Orijen Fit because it was noted to have low glycemic carbs...maybe just a marketing gimmick, and I needed an immediate change post Dx.

I'm so new at this, and would really prefer to not risk having a hypo, especially when I am not home. I would like to try and do a curve this weekend, so I can see some more data points...that would be about 6 days after starting his insulin bid.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top