02/28 Rupert AMPS 428, +2-334. PMPS 415, +2.5, 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
Rupert is happy, lively, eating all his breakfast.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64795
yesterdays numbers:

AMPS 403.2
+ 2.5 428.4
+ 3.5 390.6
+ 6 406.8
PMPS 421.2
+3 338.4

me, not so much. was hoping this 'bounce' would clear. Am strongly leaning towards LOWERING the dose for a few days or at least changing it somehow. stayed with the fat 1.5 this morning, this will be 11th cycle at this dose and his averages are steadily climbing. sigh.
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428

Oh, Roopie-doop...come down from there, young sir!

celi

skyhighcatin128649288781064958.jpg
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428

Hi guys .. sorry to see rupert so high this morning .. I don't have any dosing advice either, but hopefully those with more knowledge come by and can help you figure it out .. have a great day!
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428

Pip, I know exactly how you feel. I read your reasoning last night, and I think that way, every day.
I've had this discussions numerous time with my DD, who is a RN, and deals with diabetic humans every day.

She keeps reminding me to listen to the experienced ones on here.

I know that every fiber of your being is telling you, that Rupert is bouncing because the dose is too high and he drops too low.....I know how it feels.
I can't even ask my vet, because he will imm tell me to raise the dose. One of the other vets in that clinic, did it to me in the beginning, and almost killed my cat with 3 units all at once, from a very low dose.
I was on here begging for help that night. People talked me through it.
All because I didn't have confidence in what I was told on here by people who have been at this for years.
Yes, they are not vets, they don't claim to be, they tell us they are NOT..but I trust them way more than my vet, on certain things.
Pip, please give this a chance. Please try to ride out the bounces, and figure out why Rupert is bouncing.
I know how hard it is.....I cry every night at red numbers. I'm still trying to figure out, how to keep Checks from the hard drops.....which is what I believe is his reason for bouncing.

Now having said all that, remember, I HAVE NO MEDICAL TRAINING!!! This is just my opinion of the advice on this board.

I wish you good luck with whatever you decide to do. Big cyber hugs from me, and schnuzzles from Checkers :-D
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428

thanx Barb! much appreciated. I stuck to the fat 1.5 this morning. will see what his numbers do today and make decision tonight.
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428

Hi Pip,

Rupert has been on insulin for 3 weeks, is that correct? You are in the very early stages of the dance. Look around you....there are people here who have been treating their cats for months, or in some cases, years. Getting your cat regulated is not a quick process most of the time....you need to have patience! Please visit other condos, look at other SSs. You will see that what you are experiencing is very common. There are people here who have been at it longer than you have who would love to have some green on their SS. Rupert is doing well, he's just bouncing.

Pip & Rupert said:
Rupert is happy, lively, eating all his breakfast.

This is a good sign....a cat is more than his numbers. Often, the behavior improves before the numbers do. Try to focus on how good he is feeling...those bouncy numbers don't seem to be bothering him! ;-)

I know it's frustrating...really! Mr Tinkles was a "rainbow kitty" for a long time. It's a marathon, not a sprint!
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428, +2-334

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Look at how rupert is coming down already. One thing to watch for is how fast they come down, today it was nearly 100 points in 2 hours. 50 per hour is a fast drop and you should consider trying to control the drops w/ food. Getting BGs down is good, but too fast can cause bounces. It is also tempting to feed very low carb food when high and then a little more carbs when they come down. I think keeping the carb load as even as possible through the cycle is a much better track to follow (unless you need to bring him up out of really low numbers.) I have been doing this w/ Tess for the last 2 months and I am seeing shallower and shorted bounces. i've gone to the extent of mixing the cans together to get the right average % carbs.

I know it is frustrating and I know you probably don't want to hear what I am about to say. It has been over 2 years for Tess and she still bounces, the big difference now is that I understand what is happening and know she will get back to the good numbers. I also see how much healthier and happier she is. It takes time for their bodies to get used to what we are doing for them, from insulin to food changes and timing.
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428, +2-334

thanx Ann, and yes, I'm getting the hang of this but I reserve the right to whine and pout about it as necessary!
smallsmileys134.gif


tee hee.

I did see his number was coming down fairly quickly...he had some raw ground beef for his ear poke, gave him a bit more to chew on afterwards (of course no carbs there!) and then he had about 1/3 tin of merrick again. he went outside with me to feed the horses this morning and had a pee but didn't seem that urgent about it, more humouring me! He was installed in his usual spy spot on the back of the couch looking out the front window at the hummingbird feeder when I left. quite happy with himself. Hoping he surfs to a nice yellow, dark blue for the day..... I would have left more food out for him to snack on, but our new stray is a virtual HOOVER and eats everything in sight. I'll be back home at lunchtime, so he'll get more to snack on then too. He had a decent breakfast after his shot too, so he's had a bit of food thru-out the dip.

I'm sure I'm not the only one with a bazillion spreadsheets? I have graphs showing plots of BG numbers, trend lines, daily averages, weekly averages, monthly averages....line charts, bar charts..etc.etc. and heck, I wasn't even that good in math in school! Helps I work with a bunch of nerdy scientists who can help me out if necessary!

thanks for listening to me whine.. I can't/won't guarantee it won't be the last time though!!
tazmania_devil.gif
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428, +2-334

It's OK we all do it! :lol: :lol: It's a big reason this place is so great. I always hesitate to point out old timers who still bounce to new comers, I don't want to be discouraging. 2 months isn't long and you have a great chance of getting Rupert's BGs under control and even …. (the hopeful initials that must not be spoken aloud!) :lol: :cool:
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428, +2-334

Oops, I didn't see that in Rupert's profile (gorgeous pics, BTW!). :oops: I was looking at the SS. Did you just start hometesting 3 weeks ago? Pardon my lack of background with Rupert, I have been away from the board for a while until recently.

Two months is still quite early in the game. Mr Tinkles bounced for a year before he finally started staying in blues and greens. He finally went OTJ 6 months later. I would hate to see you reduce and lose the progress you are making....and you are making progress. It's always your choice though, you don't have to listen to the voice of experience. :smile:

(Yes, I've been there, done that....that's why I'm telling you it doesn't work.) ;-)
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428

Hi Pip,
You should definitely wait the full 72 hours for the bounce to clear. Rupert is bouncing off those greens. I don't think you should be decreasing the dose. And you certainly shouldn't increase it until after the bounce clears. Otherwise you will be on a roller coaster (if you increase while he is still in the bounce, the increase will kick him into a drop, and the drop will precipitate another bounce). You just have to wait it out. It may take a while for him to stop bouncing.

I wrote this about an hour ago, then had to leave it, and now am back and see that Rupert is indeed clearing the bounce. Please re-read the posts by Laurie and Ann and take them to heart. I was "thinking in your mode" a while back: Rusty's numbers were getting higher and I thought that by going back to a lower dose that he used to be on they might get lower. WRONG!! I finally learned the lesson that you have to go up in dose for the numbers to come down. I increased his dose aggressively last fall and he has indeed come back to great numbers--much better numbers than he had last spring, when he was on a lower dose. Since the highest dose we were on in the fall, I have been decreasing ever so gently and ever so gradually, trying to keep a dose as long as possible. ECID, but the name of the game is patience.

Rupert (and you) will get there.

Ella & Rusty (marathoners)
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428, +2-334

Pip & Rupert said:
thanx Ann, and yes, I'm getting the hang of this but I reserve the right to whine and pout about it as necessary!
smallsmileys134.gif

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 02/28 Rupert AMPS 428, +2-334. +6-343, PMPS 415

so he was red again PMPS... sigh...was hoping for at least a stay on a pink floor perhaps?

oh well, tomorrow another day. I gave another fat 1.5 but will seriously be needing advice re dose tomorrow. Guess the numbers will help tell the story. Will get his usual +3 tonight and see where we are.
 
i know how tempting it is to change the dose, but seriously, if you want good results you're going to want to follow the protocol. that means waiting out the bounces without changing the dose. it's hard, but we all learn to do it. it's why we joke about "patience pants." we also say that "this is a marathon, not a sprint."

the risk of increasing the dose is that when the bounce clears, if he has too much insulin he might go lower than is safe. if you decrease the dose, then he isn't getting enough insulin and when the bounce clears, he will be higher than he needs to be.

the bounce is from his liver letting loose sugars and hormones - they remain in the body an uncertain length of time - anywhere from a few hours to 72 hours. rupert's body is getting used to a new lower range of numbers.

waiting it out is truly the best thing you can do for rupert. it'll clear, and when it does, then we'll be able to see how he's doing with the dose and re-evaluate it at that point. hang in there! Rupert needs you to be patient! :YMHUG:

eta - the 72 hours is tomorrow, so you may even be seeing those nice green numbers again tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top