? 02/28 RICO AMPS 397, +3 295 TR PROTOCOL QUESTION

Carol & Rico

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-70-bounce-hold-the-dose.287119/#post-3156815

Rico was bouncing yesterday and is probably doing the same today.

First of all I have to admit that after his hypo I was too scared to let him get low numbers again so, every time I tested 70-78, I added some kibble in his wet diabetic food. My bad, I know, but I wouldn't risk a 2nd hypo within 48 hours. I know this kept him high so I'm feeding him back to normal today.

Given what his vet said (that his normal BG numbers are 60-80), should I decrease when he drops to 50?
I read the sticky about the TR Protocol but I didn't see any guidelines on when to decrease the dose (nased on his nadirs) - only when to increase.

Can you please help me out with this? Thank you!

@Wendy&Neko
@Yanna
@Chris & China (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Lori C & Tango
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
 
First of all I have to admit that after his hypo I was too scared to let him get low numbers again so, every time I tested 70-78, I added some kibble in his wet diabetic food. My bad, I know, but I wouldn't risk a 2nd hypo within 48 hours. I know this kept him high so I'm feeding him back to normal today.
I can understand your fear of a hypo after what you've been through. Rather than kibble, why not add some higher carb wet food when you think he might drop too low?


Here is the sticky for reductions:Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
 
Back
Top