02/28 - Marley : AMPS 240 / +6 257 (ALPHA TRAK 2)

Status
Not open for further replies.

AmySawyer

Member Since 2014
Morning everyone & Happy Friday!! :-D

Yesterdays - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114534

This morning Marley was 240 before her shot. Still giving the .25 unit & things seem to be leveling out again on this dose. Not too low anymore! ;-)

Will update here & on her spreadsheet as the day goes on.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!
 
Not sure why it is higher at +6 than it was at AMPS.... Maybe it continued to rise a bit more after she got her shot before the on set kicked in?

Will test again later & update.
 
Hi Amy

It looks to me like Marley is still bouncing from the green numbers yesterday. Bounces can take up to six cycles to clear and she also got a reduction. I think the bounce does not look too bad at all considering that the 63 yesterday on an AT was a pretty low number.

I'd also consider her numbers today to be very flat. When we see flat yellow, we keep on guard for the possibility that the bounce will break and numbers will come down.

We like to recommend that, if possible, you get a +2 reading as many cycles as you can. Why? you probably ask ;-)

In general, if the +2 is much higher than the PS, it's likely to be a quiet cycle. If it is similar or the same as the PS, you will likely see an active lantus cycle (see below); and if it's much lower than the PS, you should watch closely for a possible early onset and very active cycle.
Example of an active Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

While her PS is 257 (AT) and that does seem like a high number to you, following a flat yellow cycle, 've seen cats be a similar number at PS and green at +2.
 
today's numbers are fairly decent considering how low marley got yesterday. i agree that it's a bounce. it'll clear.

you're off to a good start, amy! hope you're having a good evening! woot for friday! :-D
 
Yep, it looks like a bounce. Nothing keeps you on your toes like Feline Diabetes! Marje's explanation hits the nail on the head.

Have a good evening, guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top