02/26 Chase 253@+10, 258@+11,247@AMPS,<0.1u, 229@+1, 178@+2, 129@+3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Member Since 2017
Good Morning My Friends,

So I've been up since 3 am. I've never gotten a +10 on Chase, but am seeing that it's pretty high. I wonder if it's always been this high in the wee hours of the morning. What could that be from? He ate kind of late, last night, as I was trying to figure out this feeder. But could that really make for numbers this much higher? He would have eaten 5.5 hours before the +10. Any ideas? It's almost like he's doing more yellow, than blue, these days. Is that going to mean an increase in Lantus units?
 
I'm going to leave dosing up to @Marje and Gracie or @Gill & George. It's possible going back to the .1 dose may be better for Chase...see what they say.

Good luck with the auto feeder, hope Chase likes it too!

I will see what they say. I'm wondering if, now that I'm mixing LC and MC, rather than just LC, if the 0.1 might be better. I hate for him to have to go back up in dose, but the goal is to get him stable first... then see what happens... right?

:)
 
It would have been a good morning for an increase, if that's what's to happen, since I can go into work later if I have to. But after this morning, any increase would have to be in the evening when I can watch him. :(
 
Hi Gil. No suggestion to increase? Guess I'll go shoot the drop, then. Was waiting and hoping you or Marje might be on. The boy is crying to eat, so I need to feed and shoot. Have a wonderful Sunday. :)
 
Morning Sandi,

Just looking over the numbers. The Guidlines on SLGS would see you hold the dose for the moment. I think that might be the way to go, for now.

I think it might be worth giving it a a little more time on this dose.
 
Morning Sandi,

Just looking over the numbers. The Guidlines on SLGS would see you hold the dose for the moment. I think that might be the way to go, for now.

I think it might be worth giving it a a little more time on this dose.
Thank you, so much. That's what Karen said, and that's what I was going to do. I need to read the guidelines. Truth be told, though... I have needed glasses for a while, now, and reading is getting more difficult. They've had to wait so that I could provide Chase with what he's needed. I know that sounds crazy... but it's the truth. I can barely see to type here on my laptop. I've been typing for years, though, so I can do it without looking at the keyboard. Then I get right up on the screen to check for typos. Lack of sleep doesn't help with my eye sight, and now I have to go into work today and be on 2 computer screens... the whole day. Oyeeeee. o_O

Going to stay until I get his +3, though. :)
 
Although he didn't get to green yesterday I suspect he did go lower on 24/2, and in any case he saw green, so even if you were doing TR we would look to hold the dose for at least 10cycles.
ETA, it is possible that the lower numbers on that cycle were to do with the depot of the larger dose though, as it plays out we will get a better idea.

Could you do me a favour when you get a chance.:)
On the ss if you have a +3.5 can you put that number in the +3 column, a +2.5 in the +2 column.
Thanks
Also one other thing, if you have multiple numbers in one cell, colour that cell to the lowest number.
so if you have a 110@+2 and a 80@+2.5 the cell should be green, we do this so it highlights the lowest number.

Good job last night, how did Chase get on with the feeder?
 
I think that Chase might have lost a little bit of weight. I added up the calories of what he's eating and I think he needs to be at the high end,.. 30 calories per every pound of his weight.
 
Although he didn't get to green yesterday I suspect he did go lower on 24/2, and in any case he saw green, so even if you were doing TR we would look to hold the dose for at least 10cycles.
ETA, it is possible that the lower numbers on that cycle were to do with the depot of the larger dose though, as it plays out we will get a better idea.

Could you do me a favour when you get a chance.:)
On the ss if you have a +3.5 can you put that number in the +3 column, a +2.5 in the +2 column.
Thanks
Also one other thing, if you have multiple numbers in one cell, colour that cell to the lowest number.
so if you have a 110@+2 and a 80@+2.5 the cell should be green, we do this so it highlights the lowest number.

Good job last night, how did Chase get on with the feeder?
The way you are asking me to put the mid numbers makes much more sense to me. I thought I'd done that early on and that Marje had changed it... maybe thinking that if I was INTO the 3rd hour, that's where I would put a +2.5... since it's past the 2nd hour. I like the way you've asked much better, as it comes to me more easily. I very well may have misunderstood Marje. As long as we know what I mean when I record, that's what is important. As for coloring the cell for the lowest number, I didn't think I had any, yet, where he crossed over into a different one. But again... it is getting increasingly hard for me to see. :(

Chase was very funny with the feeder. I'm telling you... this boy LOVES to eat. He was trying to figure out how to get the food out of the compartment that hadn't come around yet. I did have to coach him when it DID come around. He'll get it fast. He's very smart. :)
 
It's so difficult to figure our how much to feed them. So many variables. Have you come across Dr Lisa's site on feline nutrition?
http://catinfo.org/
Its a very informative guide to Feline nutrition.
(sorry more reading)

Only one, 2/24 99@+3 would be green. ;)
I will look at it when I can. When Marje was here, we looked at cans of food and talked about the 20 - 30 calories per pound. But all cats are different. Chase is just a big boy... not fat, but he does have quite the belly swag from a serious stomach surgery when he was a baby and swallowed what looked to be like a suture. We had been at the vets for his 8 week shots. He got sick immediately and almost died. They had to go in and retrieve the object. Poor guy. :(
 
It's so difficult to figure our how much to feed them. So many variables. Have you come across Dr Lisa's site on feline nutrition?
http://catinfo.org/
Its a very informative guide to Feline nutrition.
(sorry more reading)

Only one, 2/24 99@+3 would be green. ;)
LOL... I just read the "shortened" version of the article by Dr. Lisa, but no mention of how much to feed. LOL. I tried. Hee Hee
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...171-7-191-9-208-11-263-1.173785/#post-1905145

Good Morning My Friends,

So I've been up since 3 am. I've never gotten a +10 on Chase, but am seeing that it's pretty high. I wonder if it's always been this high in the wee hours of the morning. What could that be from? He ate kind of late, last night, as I was trying to figure out this feeder. But could that really make for numbers this much higher? He would have eaten 5.5 hours before the +10. Any ideas? It's almost like he's doing more yellow, than blue, these days. Is that going to mean an increase in Lantus units?
 
I will look at it when I can. When Marje was here, we looked at cans of food and talked about the 20 - 30 calories per pound. But all cats are different. Chase is just a big boy... not fat, but he does have quite the belly swag from a serious stomach surgery when he was a baby and swallowed what looked to be like a suture. We had been at the vets for his 8 week shots. He got sick immediately and almost died. They had to go in and retrieve the object. Poor guy. :(
There's a lot to take into consideration, but the 20-30 per llb cal is a good place to start.
George is lazier than the average cat, so I err on the lower side, but I just cant seem to get him to shift the last bit of weight. He's getting about 2o cal per pound at the moment.
 
Good Morning My Friends,

So I've been up since 3 am. I've never gotten a +10 on Chase, but am seeing that it's pretty high. I wonder if it's always been this high in the wee hours of the morning. What could that be from? He ate kind of late, last night, as I was trying to figure out this feeder. But could that really make for numbers this much higher? He would have eaten 5.5 hours before the +10. Any ideas? It's almost like he's doing more yellow, than blue, these days. Is that going to mean an increase in Lantus units?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...171-7-191-9-208-11-263-1.173785/#post-1905145
 
A food bump meaning a BG increase after eating?
Yes that's right, he's just eaten, so we would expect him to come up a bit at +1, like he did last night pmps was 201 and then +1 was 263, that's a food bump.

For George, if food bump was lacking=active cycle
If in fact +1 was significantly lower (ie got to consider meter variance in this one)= very active cycle

Why is it important to know this, for George it helped me to steer his cycle, if he dropped significantly at +1, I would give him MC instead of LC, to try and flatten him out.

If George dropped at +1 he would often drop hard in the early part of the cycle, and a +1 that was the same would indicate that he was going to be active, so my food choice might be influenced by what I was doing for the day.
 
178 @ +2 - maybe 2 more tablespoons of Chase mix?

Hey Gil... so now he's doing very close to what he did yesterday morning. I guess, then, I should give him a little more of his Chase mix? Is it better for him to repeat the same pattern even before his numbers stay in the blue?
 
What are you doing today sandi?
I think that you could give him some more chase mix now, leave some more in his feeder for +2.5 and +3 +3.5, and then if you want you could come back for a +6?

Or if you'd rather stay get a +3 and not get a +6 that's OK too. (giving him some chase mix now and then checking at +3 before giving him anymore)
 
I would rather stay and do +3. I'll give him 2 TBL mix right now and will check at +3. Depending on what his +3 is, I guess I will either choose LC or LC/MC mix?

I have to go into work. :(
 
Actually, I only gave him 1 TBL because there is only 2 TBL of his 1/2 day of food left I will give him the other TBL at +3, and then decide what to put into the timed feeder. I won't count what I put into the feeder as his daily allowance is being raised just a little. This way, the extra he gets can be whatever I put out. Then I can give him his 2 cans this evening, spread out... just like I do in the a.m.

Oh no... was 1 TBL too much?
 
Actually, I only gave him 1 TBL because there is only 2 TBL of his 1/2 day of food left I will give him the other TBL at +3, and then decide what to put into the timed feeder. I won't count what I put into the feeder as his daily allowance is being raised just a little. This way, the extra he gets can be whatever I put out. Then I can give him his 2 cans this evening, spread out... just like I do in the a.m.

Oh no... was 1 TBL too much?
Better plan with the 1TBL, I think it should be OK.
 
He's going quite quickly I would give him some MC now(because you are leaving), and leave some chase mix in the feeder +3.5, +4, +4.5 a couple of teaspoons)
 
Just to elaborate, he's not sped up, might have slowed down a bit, but not as much as he did yesterday.
I think with the MC and the chase mix in the feeder he should be safe. He's still in a good range.
 
He's going quite quickly I would give him some MC now(because you are leaving), and leave some chase mix in the feeder +3.5, +4, +4.5 a couple of teaspoons)
I can't really do teaspoons in the feeder. I have ice cube blocks of it. Don't want to leave wet food out for that long. I'll put one cube in for 3.5 an one cube in for 4. It's the Chase mix, so MC on the low end.

Why food in the feeder so close together. If I do it at 3.5 and 4 that means he goes until +12 before he eats again. I'm confused. :(

I know he is not to eat for 2 hrs before insulin. So that would mean no eating after +10.. right. So why wouldn't I spread it out more?
 
Yes you could do that if you can get a +3.5,
Look to see if he is slowing down by +3.5, )if he hasn't then leave mc if he has then the chase mix will be ok
If in doubt then give MC

I have to dash out now, my doggies need their walk.
 
Yes you could do that if you can get a +3.5,
Look to see if he is slowing down by +3.5, )if he hasn't then leave mc if he has then the chase mix will be ok
If in doubt then give MC

I have to dash out now, my doggies need their walk.
Thank you so much for all of your help. You have been a God send. :bighug:
 
Will have t figure out a plan for the entire week because at the rate I'm going through test strips I'm going to be broke and AND I absolutely cannot take any more chances with my job. I am just going to have to start doing this on my own and pray for the best. I will keep logging here as best I can and will hope for feedback. Posting every time I test and taking your time and my time is not going to be feasible anymore. :( I have to get myself on some kind of schedule, also, because I am incredibly stressed out. All I do when I'm home is test, test, test and more test. I know it's important, but I just can't keep this up. I was hoping that my diligence would warrant seeing some kind of way to anticipate how Chase would act to a mixture of different food and different insulin dosages, but it hasn't. I just don't know what else to do. He may just have to stay on insulin his whole life since I can't be here to test him every day... all throughout the day... every day... week in and week out... for an indefinite amount of time. I tried, you guys. I tried SO hard. And you have given me so much help.. all in your own way. I appreciate it very much. :bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Sandi,
sorry I had to dash out, if I left it any later it was going to be dark.

Thinking about a plan for you, that might take the stress of testing for you.

How does this sound in bold type are the every day tests, the others optional or if numbers worry you, if you have time, or are just feeling curious. (this is more of a guideline, you can always mix it up a bit, the reason I'm suggesting always a +2 is that he usually seems to take his big drop by then so it should give you a good indication of how low he was getting.

+11 (if Chase happens to get you up early)
amps
+1 (if amps is under 200)
+2 (every morning)
+3 (if you have time or you feel he has dropped a lot by +2)
+11 if you are home and just feeling curious:)
pmps
+1 (if pmps is under 200)
+2 (every night)
+3 (if dropping very fast or if you feel like it)
+X (just before bed)(might be an opportunity to regularly get a test later in the cycle)

I think you've been getting a handle on the Chase Mix and MC, if a drop really concerns you then remember you can use HC to abort cycle, and now with the auto feeder, Chase can get regular snacks.

Wanted to also let you know that I won't be around tomorrow when you shoot, I'm off to help a friend pack her parents belongings, they sadly passed away about 8weeks ago, and she's having a hard time doing it on her own.
There will be others on the board to help should you need it.

You don't have to keep posting the numbers as you get them, if you have a plan and are happy flying solo that's fine, what I would say is if you have time, post a daily condo at least for now, just letting us know how you are getting on. We can keep a remote eye on you and if anything seems off we'll stop by. Keep your ss up to date even if you are not posting daily.

I really don't mind giving up my time, so please don't worry about that, others did it for me so I'm happy to pay it forward. While I was chatting with you I was also on line with a few other members who needed some assistance, so I was at the computer anyways.

Don't be a stranger.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top