02/26/20 Thomas J. AMPS 334, +6 128, +9 121, PMPS 173, +4.75 58, +5.25 83, +6.5 113 First greens!

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/25/20
He did well with everything again this morning. Just didn't enjoy me holding pressure on his ear much though, didn't get swiped or anything but almost got my hand pushed away. Injection went well, great appetite. Being a good boy
I don't think an early test is needed today because his AMPS is so high and it'll continue being high from his breakfast in my opinion. What do you think, +3 or no?
I'll probably just grab a +6 and a +9 or +10.
Hope everyone's morning is going smoothly today!:)
20200226_064320.jpg
20200226_064351.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20200226_064320.jpg
    20200226_064320.jpg
    64.4 KB · Views: 148
  • 20200226_064351.jpg
    20200226_064351.jpg
    59 KB · Views: 143
Last edited:
It sounds like he is getting used to the testing. I'm glad things went well. I'd grab a +3 just to be safe since you increased the dose.
My alarm didn't go off for some reason so I missed it, I guess I'll count it as a poke break. I've overslept today.:facepalm: About to get his +6, hoping it's a bit lower.
 
Did alright for his +6. Looked like he was wanting to fight me but didn't it. He was a little grumpy because he was hungry. I went to give him his chicken treat and he tried to jump and grab it out of my hand. Haha he got a nice lunch, full belly.
 
I went to grab the +9 while he was lounging, he was fighting me, he walked away then I tried again and he let me. Perhaps he doesn't like the surprise pokes. He got some chicken so I think he forgave me. Moved to his cat bed to bathe and nap.
20200226_155941.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20200226_155941.jpg
    20200226_155941.jpg
    66.8 KB · Views: 127
Last edited:
Got Thomas to play with a string for nearly half an hour. Not a whole lot of moving around but it's still something.
 
Last edited:
Did well for his PMPS and injection. Being a hungry hippo again. Those lower numbers must be making him feel hungrier.
 
He's pretty low 65 and 58. Should I feed him or wait 15 minutes and retest?
 
Last edited:
I'd give him a bit of LC food - help him hold here a bit
You can recheck in 30 mins after and see if he is holding. This is "usually " where the insulin has started to kick in so

If you are nervous you can give him higher carbed food too ...
 
I'd give him a bit of LC food - help him hold here a bit
You can recheck in 30 mins after and see if he is holding. This is "usually " where the insulin has started to kick in so

If you are nervous you can give him higher carbed food too ...
I gave him a little bit of LC it's been 20 minutes already. I'll retest in 10. I'll probably stay up and watch him.
Also, it's past his meal time. Should I have just given him his full meal?
 
you can always give it in ten minutes too...it's probably fine this way.
that way you know if you need to give him a higher carb content snack to eat - he will likely still be hungry
 
you can always give it in ten minutes too...it's probably fine this way.
that way you know if you need to give him a higher carb content snack to eat - he will likely still be hungry
Just tested, must be very carb sensitive. In the 80s now.
Also, went ahead and gave him the rest of his food as he went to steal my other cat's and was begging.
 
sounds good...make of note somewhere of what you fed (i'm sure you do)
it'll be nice to know later that you might not need HC in some cases since he seems to respond well to a LC snack/meal.
Before that snack around +4/+4.5 when had he last eaten ?
 
sounds good...make of note somewhere of what you fed (i'm sure you do)
it'll be nice to know later that you might not need HC in some cases since he seems to respond well to a LC snack/meal.
Before that snack around +4/+4.5 when had he last eaten ?
He last ate at his PM injection at 6:30 p.m. Well, he had a little left over in his bowl that he snacked on the last few hours but wasn't much at all.
 
he might be one of those kitties in the future that needs some food around +2 or so to help him navigate the onset of his insulin now that you are seeing what this dose is doing.
he looks good and steady now
Do you give him another snack around +6 ...? in an autofeeder or left out..I forget?
 
he might be one of those kitties in the future that needs some food around +2 or so to help him navigate the onset of his insulin now that you are seeing what this dose is doing.
he looks good and steady now
Do you give him another snack around +6 ...? in an autofeeder or left out..I forget?
I don't have an auto feeder. I usually just give him his feeding between +4.5 and +5.5 before I go to bed and normally he does fine but I'll leave food out from now on. He'll probably eat it right away though. I will give a snack at around +2 as you suggested and see how that does, he usually doesn't drop very quickly after his meals.
Do you think this dose is too high for him?
 
wouldn't say it's too high just yet....he hasn't earned a reduction so It'd give it time :)
these are good numbers- especially at nadir
You could always do the catsickles.... some of us use ice cubes to freeze small portions of our cats food and then you can leave it out to give a delayed snack.
I put mine in my automatic feeder overnight, but when I am home and just want to leave him the rest of a meal, I just place one in his dish
 
wouldn't say it's too high just yet....he hasn't earned a reduction so It'd give it time :)
these are good numbers- especially at nadir
You could always do the catsickles.... some of us use ice cubes to freeze small portions of our cats food and then you can leave it out to give a delayed snack.
I put mine in my automatic feeder overnight, but when I am home and just want to leave him the rest of a meal, I just place one in his dish
Oh, yeah, I remember this being mentioned before. Forgot about it. I'll have to try that and see how he does.
How long should I monitor him tonight? It's almost been an hour so I'll retest and see where he's at. Sorry, I'm a worrier. Although I've been quite calm this whole time, I'm surprised.
 
I don't have an auto feeder. I usually just give him his feeding between +4.5 and +5.5 before I go to bed and normally he does fine but I'll leave food out from now on. He'll probably eat it right away though. I will give a snack at around +2 as you suggested and see how that does, he usually doesn't drop very quickly after his meals.
Do you think this dose is too high for him?
The auto feeder was a lifesaver for us. Alternatively you could add some water to a can of food and then freeze the food, Either right in the can or put it in ice cube trays. Then you can leave it out. It will take a while to thaw to the point where your kitty will want to eat it.

as to whether the dose is too high, the nadir numbers will be your guide.

May the green be with you :cool:

F40CB96A-D8B0-4F71-8095-6548D1CCFEB3.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • F40CB96A-D8B0-4F71-8095-6548D1CCFEB3.jpeg
    F40CB96A-D8B0-4F71-8095-6548D1CCFEB3.jpeg
    54.7 KB · Views: 106
The auto feeder was a lifesaver for us. Alternatively you could add some water to a can of food and then freeze the food, Either right in the can or put it in ice cube trays. Then you can leave it out. It will take a while to thaw to the point where your kitty will want to eat it.

as to whether the dose is too high, the nadir numbers will be your guide.

May the green be with you :cool:

View attachment 51556
Thank you for the info and support!:bighug:
 
He has risen! Back into the blues... he's quite carb sensitive it seems. Of course when I went to the food chart to check how many carbs the Friskies paté chicken and tuna had it was the only one that didn't have info.:facepalm: I don't believe it's over 10% though.
Do you think I'll need more tests tonight? Perhaps I'll set an alarm for a +10. Maybe I won't sleep through the alarm for once. About to head to bed. Thank you for all of your help!
 
20200227_011245.jpg 20200227_011249.jpg 20200227_011300.jpg 20200227_011319.jpg 20200227_011347.jpg
20200227_012104.jpg
Airing out haha. Looks comfy lounging in the floor.
 

Attachments

  • 20200227_011245.jpg
    20200227_011245.jpg
    64 KB · Views: 59
  • 20200227_011249.jpg
    20200227_011249.jpg
    74.8 KB · Views: 61
  • 20200227_011300.jpg
    20200227_011300.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 56
  • 20200227_011319.jpg
    20200227_011319.jpg
    80.7 KB · Views: 51
  • 20200227_011347.jpg
    20200227_011347.jpg
    141.6 KB · Views: 56
  • 20200227_012104.jpg
    20200227_012104.jpg
    120.5 KB · Views: 50
Last edited:
20200227_012417.jpg 20200227_012426.jpg 20200227_012433.jpg 20200227_012501.jpg 20200227_012513.jpg
Couldn't leave out Hidee. Looking sweet as always.

Have a great night everyone!:cat:
 

Attachments

  • 20200227_012417.jpg
    20200227_012417.jpg
    73.8 KB · Views: 58
  • 20200227_012426.jpg
    20200227_012426.jpg
    66 KB · Views: 53
  • 20200227_012433.jpg
    20200227_012433.jpg
    79.3 KB · Views: 50
  • 20200227_012501.jpg
    20200227_012501.jpg
    90.4 KB · Views: 55
  • 20200227_012513.jpg
    20200227_012513.jpg
    90 KB · Views: 53
Back
Top