02/25 Ivana AMPS=335, +2=358, +5=353, +9=299, PMPS=241 Dose increase, +4=191 BLUE!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's post

After Ivana's big late dinner last night I didn't expect her to eat her midnight snack, and lo and behold it was still there this morning. The great news is that she ate her brekky this morning all on her own out of her bowl, even with some Miralax and SEB mixed in, and nearly finished it too. She ate the dregs a couple of hours later. So happy about that! I went out this morning and bought a heap more of the fish flavours seeing that's what she's eating at the moment - what's the bet she switches to liking chicken now haha

Today is going to be a stinking hot day, 40c. I've got the aircon remote in my hand ready to switch it on when it gets too warm, so I dare say Ivana will be hanging out with me in the loungeroom today. Unless she decides to be weird and lay in the sun like she sometimes does. I don't know how she doesn't spontaneously combust sometimes!
 
I saw your response to yesterday's comments about increasing her dose. I'm just not seeing any difference with this new insulin vs the old insulin, so I wouldn't wait longer to go ahead and increase her dose. I'm not sure what others are seeing, but to me it appears she has constant yellow/pinks and those are too high. I understand what you're talking about - if the last pen was less effective, would it be like the dose is smaller?, but I'm not seeing that the last pen was different than the new one.

I'd follow the Tight Reg guidelines on increasing - for nadirs over 200, increase by 0.25u after 6 cycles.
 
Hope you are managing to keep cool with the aircon. We turned ours on early. I had to go out and do some shopping about midday....bad timing....and I nearly melted it was so hot!
Glad to hear Ivana is eating better for you.......it is always a worry when they won't eat!
 
Thanks for the support everyone! I'm so glad that Ivana hasn't given up on food completely, because that would be a serious consideration. Thankfully no need to worry about that yet.

This morning when I bought more food, I also bought her some different treats. She used to love the dried anchovies we had for her, but hasn't been interested in them for a few weeks. Given that she still comes when we call her for tests, we haven't really worried about giving her different treats just more scritches, and she seems to be happy with that. However, today I found some new things at the pet shop - dried grass-fed venison (she liked that one most), dried ocean-farmed green mussels, and chicken livers. I gave her a small sample of each at her +5 test, and she loved them all so much she almost climbed onto my lap to get to the bag (which is amazing when you consider she's never once climbed onto my lap in the 15yrs we've had her!). So these new treats are a win, and we can even use them to bribe her to eat cans if we need to, hopefully.

We increased her dose this evening to 0.75u (thanks Julie and Wendy), as I was able to move around my work appointments tomorrow so I can get a +4 - otherwise there would be nothing between AMPS and PMPS. Even though I'm sure everything will be fine, I feel much better knowing I can check on her through her first day at an increased dose, especially given her diving history. Hopefully she will see at least a blue very soon.

PMPS was just over an hour ago, and she has yet to eat any dinner. Hasn't even sniffed the bowl, so I guess she's just not that hungry. Seeing that she spent this stinking hot day on our bed which is in the hottest room in the house, hopefully she'll feel like eating later on. She didn't even want anything out of my hand, so I think maybe it is heat-related.
 
Yes she had some treats with her +2 test (which was lower than usual because of no dinner), and I hand-fed her about half of her dinner at +3 about 10mins ago - she didn't want it any earlier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top