02/25 Chase 233@AMPS,242@+1,164@+2,138@+2.5,109@+3.5,137@+5,171@+7,191@+9,208@+11,263@+1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Sandi, I'll be watching for his amps.

That 221 is at +11 right??
Yes... +11. I fixed it. And AMPS is @ +11.5 because it was his test right before shooting and was 11.5 hours after his last shoot since I did it 30 min. early. Is that right. Can you tell me if my SS from yesterday is right? Since I tested/shot him 30 min. early.
 
Don't worry about that now, you can look tonight when you have more time, the meter will have the test times stored, you can fix it later.
233@amps is the important one, he's flat coming into shot time, so see you for that +1.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, but I won't have more time, tonight. I have to work all day. Then I skype with the grandkids as soon as I get home from work. I've not been getting much sleep since Chase wakes me up every morning at 5:00 and then I'm staying up late (or trying to) to get more tests in. I'm burning it at both ends. Last night just stressed me out more than it helped, when I went out for 4 hours. :(
 
Thank you, but I won't have more time, tonight. I have to work all day. Then I skype with the grandkids as soon as I get home from work. I've not been getting much sleep since Chase wakes me up every morning at 5:00 and then I'm staying up late (or trying to) to get more tests in. I'm burning it at both ends. Last night just stressed me out more than it helped, when I went out for 4 hours. :(
Well do it tomorrow then, honestly it's not really important at the moment, and certainly not worth you stressing over.

I can relate to going out and leaving kitty, hoping for a bit of a break, but not being really able to enjoy myself because of worrying about George.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Gill & George ... I need your honest opinion. Would it be better for me to do a curve today, after not being consistent with shooting and feeding yesterday, or wait until tomorrow. I have to work either today or tomorrow, so I can't be home both days... but I can choose which day. Next week I will be doing his curve on Saturday, because I go to Phoenix on Sunday. So I don't know which is the better day to get the best curve THIS weekend. Today, I can at least test, feed and shoot like I've been doing on a weekday to kind of get him back to normal before a curve tomorrow. Or... I can just do the curve today.
 
Well do it tomorrow then, honestly it's not really important at the moment, and certainly not worth you stressing over.

I can relate to going out and leaving kitty, hoping for a bit of a break, but not being really able to enjoy myself because of worrying about George.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
AS for the SS... I already fixed it. I just won't have the brain power to go back over the hundreds of notes I have everywhere.
 
Either day would be OK, but it's kind of up to chase.

If he continues to bounce through this cycle, tomorrow might be better.
When they bounce the BG can stay high and flat, much like he did last night.

Because chase shows you early on if you are going to see movement, if you can wait till you get +1/+2 before you make a decision then I would be better able to tell you if it's worth doing the curve today. (ie if it looks like he has stopped bouncing and is going to have an active cycle.)
 
When they are bouncing, and their BG remains high and flat(due to Mr panicky liver) from a data point of view running the curve doesn't really give you much useful info. There may be times when you don't have a choice.

Running a curve when he has an active cycle would be more informative.
 
Bouncing and active are the same thing, in my mind. I know my brain needs retraining, but it's just not sticking, right now. I've got a lot of stress at work... no one to help me... am very lonely. I know you guys have told me what it all means, before, but I just can't wrap my brain around it. If it weren't for being able to have you tell me what to do, I'm afraid this would all be a complete disaster. Even if I were to go back and read every post, things change so much, due to his food, his dosage, the times, the bounce, the drop, and how it's all intertwined. If anyone ever has the time to describe each cycle to me... I might get it... maybe... some day. I don't even know, right now. I don't get much sleep, I have to mix food, blend food, test, test, test, shoot, change dose... oh... and then work 10 hr days, except now I can't do that because I have to test, test, test in the morning. So I'm falling behind at my job. There seems to be no real answer.

What do people do who can't devote so much time, energy and money to their pets do? I can't even imagine. Do they put them down to save them from staying in high numbers if they can't get it all figured out? What's an active cycle mean? What is a typica active cycle? What is a non active cycle? I still just don't understand so much.

I'm sorry... I don't know how you guys put up with people like me. I don't know how anyone does. I am prone to depression, anyway, and get stressed so easy. I have migraines and chronic pain. I want the absolute best for Chase... but I'm not doing very well.
 
What is a non active cycle?
Last night was not an active cycle, that was a bounce cycle he stayed flat yellow all through the night.
What's an active cycle mean?
Yesterdays morning cycle was an active one for Chase, it's one where you see numbers drop at onset, (+2ish) then drop, and then up again by the next shot.

You are doing great Sandi, the lack of sleep doesn't help, I know how much that influenced my mood, and how it makes it difficult to take info in.

What is his +1? Must be about due??
 
Sandi, deep breath. With all that you have on your plate, work stress, lack of sleep, being lonely, and a FD cat, it is indeed hard. Lucky you found this board and we are here to help. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Maybe this helps:

Bouncing is higher numbers that came after a cycle with lower numbers . Bouncing happens because of the cat being in lower numbers than it is used to OR the numbers dropping too quickly like Chase does early on in his cycle.

Active cycle is when the numbers continue to go down from the Pre Shot number.

Keep on posting and let us help you through this. No judgments here. We are here to help.
 
I see him the same at +1, not sure which way he's going to go today(not sure if he is going to continue to bounce/or whether we are going to see him slide down). He's playing his cards close to his chest.

Get on and give him his food as you have previously been doing, lets see what he does with the +2.
 
I see him the same at +1, not sure which way he's going to go today(not sure if he is going to continue to bounce/or whether we are going to see him slide down). He's playing his cards close to his chest.

Get on and give him his food as you have previously been doing, lets see what he does with the +2.
233 at AMPS and 242 @ +1 are the same?
 
233 at AMPS and 242 @ +1 are the same?
Yes. Remember meter variance can be 20%. No food bump there.

You are doing great. When I first started I knew people that had diabetic cats and they gave two shots a day and took the cats for curves at the vet's office. One was my sister whose cat was on and off insulin based on that and peed on anything left on the floor. I doubt she was ever regulated. Another was sadly euthanaized as he peed all over the house. The third lived to be 23. Lucky cat.
 
164 @+2 is a HUGE dip. Now I can't leave. Do I give him the HC gravy, now, Gil? :(
I screwed up and fed him way too much, this morning. Rather than spoon feeding him, I put the rest of his early day meal down.
 
Sandi, I would give MC at this time. Don't think you need to bring in HC, 163 is still a nice number. Get a test in 30 mins after you give some food.
 
Elise has already said, meters are allowed to have up to 20% variance, so yes those two are about the same


No I would give him some MC, looks like you have an active cycle for your curve today, if you can stay.
I can stay. I'll just go into work tomorrow. So this "active" curve is good? Why is such a huge drop good? Where is the consistency? The only consistency I see is that he drops after his am shoot. And sometimes it's a lot, and sometimes it's not. Other than that, he never seems to be consistent. :(
 
Maybe he had such a huge drop because I let him eat too much? Which would really show me the good reason for spoon feeding him. I ordered a 5 tray timed feeder. Should be here any day. Should I still let him eat, since I messed up and already gave him HALF of his food for the entire day?
 
No, too much food would not cause a big drop, if anything too much food would cause a hike in the BG's. Give some MC food now to slow him down and flatten out the cycle. When the cycle is flatter, the bouncing stops.
 
Just want to explain the MC choice, he's still in very safe numbers, think of it as trying to very gently squeeze the brakes on, rather than an all out emergency stop which is what you would be aiming for with the HC. But equally we can't just let him freewheel gathering speed by giving just LC. Hopefully the MC and the Higher LC you gave and the MC will have him come up and surf for you.

As Elise pointed out, there was no food bump to speak of today, look at yesterdays +1, that didn't differ much from amps either, 183 and 212, are withing 20% meter variance, and he also dropped by +2.

If you look at 2/21 cycles, those are cycles where you are getting a good 'food bump' at +1, see how he didn't drop so fast then, but rather gently slid down, but was relatively flat.

As you are staying with him today to run the curve, plainly he wants his mamma home with him today, it will be good to see how using the MC pans out for Chase this morning.

I would suggest that you get a test at +2.5/+2.75 to see how he's doing number wise.
 
You asked about an active cycle.
this is taken from the new to the group sticky and illustrates an active cycle
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.(with chase at this time if he is lacking a significant food spike, he then drops by +2)
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Just want to explain the MC choice, he's still in very safe numbers, think of it as trying to very gently squeeze the brakes on, rather than an all out emergency stop which is what you would be aiming for with the HC. But equally we can't just let him freewheel gathering speed by giving just LC. Hopefully the MC and the Higher LC you gave and the MC will have him come up and surf for you.

As Elise pointed out, there was no food bump to speak of today, look at yesterdays +1, that didn't differ much from amps either, 183 and 212, are withing 20% meter variance, and he also dropped by +2.

If you look at 2/21 cycles, those are cycles where you are getting a good 'food bump' at +1, see how he didn't drop so fast then, but rather gently slid down, but was relatively flat.

As you are staying with him today to run the curve, plainly he wants his mamma home with him today, it will be good to see how using the MC pans out for Chase this morning.

I would suggest that you get a test at +2.5/+2.75 to see how he's doing number wise.
138 @ +2.5
 
Slowing down a bit 2opts in 30 minutes, rather than 80 in one hour.

It's up to you now, so we can see what he will do.

You could give him a little more MC
Or you could give him the MC/LC cocktail,

There's no right on wrong it's a learning curve.

I might be inclined to go with the cocktail, and see how he does with that as you are going to be here with him, so he will be safe.
 
take it I'm just doing the beginning of his curve with testing more often, since he likes to drop after morning dose?
Yes just because he is a pickle and likes to high dive in the morning so we are trying to see if this experiment with the MC/LC mix helps, and you can play it a bit 'braver' with the food steering because you are going to be there, once he levels off you can do the testing every 2 hours.
 
Yes. Remember meter variance can be 20%. No food bump there.

You are doing great. When I first started I knew people that had diabetic cats and they gave two shots a day and took the cats for curves at the vet's office. One was my sister whose cat was on and off insulin based on that and peed on anything left on the floor. I doubt she was ever regulated. Another was sadly euthanaized as he peed all over the house. The third lived to be 23. Lucky cat.
:bighug:
 
Yes just because he is a pickle and likes to high dive in the morning so we are trying to see if this experiment with the MC/LC mix helps, and you can play it a bit 'braver' with the food steering because you are going to be there, once he levels off you can do the testing every 2 hours.

Is he a "pickle", or a "Cheeky Monkey"? LOL
 
109 @ +3.5

How's that, Gil? The only thing is.... I really wish I could be at the even 2 hr time, for testing. I think I will do it again in 1.5 hours. Does that sound ok? And then every 2 hours after that?
 
Yes. Remember meter variance can be 20%. No food bump there.

You are doing great. When I first started I knew people that had diabetic cats and they gave two shots a day and took the cats for curves at the vet's office. One was my sister whose cat was on and off insulin based on that and peed on anything left on the floor. I doubt she was ever regulated. Another was sadly euthanaized as he peed all over the house. The third lived to be 23. Lucky cat.
:bighug:
 
Hi Sandi,

He's dropped 30 pts in an hour, so again, he seems to have slowed up a touch.

You could test at +5, that would be 'in theory approaching his nadir(lowest point in the cycle), he might well see green(anti jinx).
Do you think you could give him a couple of teaspoons of the 'Chase Mix', the idea of that is that it might help him surf (keep his numbers flat).

Sorry I had to take the dogs out and I was longer than I thought.

You are doing great.
 
Hi Sandi,

He's dropped 30 pts in an hour, so again, he seems to have slowed up a touch.

You could test at +5, that would be 'in theory approaching his nadir(lowest point in the cycle), he might well see green(anti jinx).
Do you think you could give him a couple of teaspoons of the 'Chase Mix', the idea of that is that it might help him surf (keep his numbers flat).

Sorry I had to take the dogs out and I was longer than I thought.

You are doing great.
Oh Gil... please don't be sorry. You have spent so much time with me.
 
Well looks like he nadired early, with that 109.
You don't need to give him any food now.
I think you're OK to take the next test at +7 to continue with his curve.

I'm keeping paws crossed he cruises in the blues.
 
Well looks like he nadired early, with that 109.
You don't need to give him any food now.
I think you're OK to take the next test at +7 to continue with his curve.

I'm keeping paws crossed he cruises in the blues.
:( I didn't want him to nadir early. I can't be here all day again until next Saturday. How else can I see his pattern? I will test again in 2 hours.
 
It's good info to have. You now know what you did to slow a drop and how that kept him safe.

He was clearing a bounce, and you did really well to slow him down, but he really picked up speed when he hit onset, so that may have triggered another bounce, or maybe not. Only Chase knows the answer to that.

He might dip a bit, once the Chase mix you gave him at about +4.5 wears off.

He's in charge I'm afraid, it's in rule No 5 in the FD handbook all our kitties get at diagnosis:)
 
He didn't dip. He's up to 171 @ +7. At this rate, he may not stay in the blues. :( He had a tiny bit of food left on his plate from earlier (I didn't notice it), and he just ate it (I heard him). I won't be feeding him anything until after his p.m. insulin. His curve looks to be pretty close to the same, as far as his numbers before nadir, and after nadir... right? What does this mean?

Marje suggested that maybe I add a little more LC to the mix than MC. I don't know what to think, at this point. Today it has been an even mixture. I know he's been safe all day, and that's the most important thing. I wish I didn't have to work tomorrow. It would have been nice to get another curve. I can, however, come home in the middle of the day and test him. What would you suggest tomorrow's schedule look like, as far as test times go?

I wonder if he should be getting a slightly different mix in the pm. Maybe a mixture with a tiny bit more MC in the morning, to keep him from dropping too much (hopefully) and then when I leave him during the day, leave down a frozen mixture just a tad more on the LC side, to keep him from going up so much (hopefully)?
 
What time do you need to leave for work?
Did your feeder arrive??

With the way Chase drops, if it were me I would like to get at least a +2, that would I think allow you to make a decent decision on what sort of food to leave out for him.

If you can come home at some point during the day, perhaps a +6?

I like that you've occaisionally been getting a +11 ish when you get up, it can be quite informative, if his numbers are falling coming into amps, you know to be on your toes.

If you can
maybe then
+11
amps
+1
+2
+6
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top