02/25 Chaos +6 278 PMPS 249

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
Good morning, LL... Happy Friday!! ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) Gee, it feels like I was just here... oh wait, I was:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37500

You all missed my very first pajama party! It was a good one, too...kicked off with a heart-stopping 43! nailbite_smile Chaos showed me once again how he will come and get me if something's not right. I had not been feeling well and fell asleep on the couch and close to 2 AM, there was a resounding "MEEEOW!" in my ear. Then, a noticeable weight added to the couch. And then, staring and more meowing. Chaos isn't the kind of cat who will wake you up just for attention (that's my civvie Lu), so I knew I'd better get my bones up and see what's going on. No hypo symptoms at all, but the boy sure tells me how he feels when he's low and hungry. An ounce or two HC fuds given, tested at 129 an hour later, crisis averted. It doesn't look like it takes much to bring him back up. I got another hour of sleep between 6 and 7, but was up for about 4 hours altogether. DH got up to pee at 4:30 and only waved at me. :roll:

And so today Mr. Chaos checks in with an AMPS of 356. I'm not surprised, and I'm expecting him to come down some today. I'd like to see some blue on him at least. I am also brainstorming my next video, since I'm having so much fun with Microsoft's cheesy free movie software. "Laser Dot: the movie"! I already have the soundtrack picked out! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos AMPS 356

Good morning guys .. congrats on your first pajama party! Sounds like chaos is one very smart little boy ... hopefully he clears this bounce quickly and you see those blues and greens again .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos AMPS 356

What a night!!!! Wow. Chaos you rock!!!!!

So glad you fell asleep on the couch and he knew to wake you.

Can't wait for the new video *clapping*
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos AMPS 356

What an eventful night you had. Chaos is one smart kitty to know to wake you up when he isn't feeling good. Hope you get a little rest today.
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos AMPS 356

Good morning, Violet and Chaos ... PJ Party? party_cat

How cool is it that Chaos will wake you upon being lower than normal.. it is so nice once you begin to see how your kitty reacts & how carbs affect them coming up a bit. Takes a lot of the nailbite_smile out once you know how to handle it, unless you have a kitty like Baby who refuses to eat unless I am here & does not notify me when she is low :shock:
Have a great day!
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos AMPS 356

woohoo, Violet had a pj party! Good catch on that, good job on letting your bean know, Chaos!
Hope the bounce doesn't last to long!
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos AMPS 356

That's great that you could tell, by Chaos' behavior, that something was wrong. Sometimes they just have that look, too! Hope the bounce clears. You deserve a nap today with Chaos.
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos AMPS 356, +3 326

Well, as smart as Chaos is, he isn't showing me any action today. Only down 30 pts from AMPS. Can you say boooiiiingggg?

I wish I could take a nap today. I don't do well with naps, it screws up my whole schedule. So I will remain awake and half-alert. It's not so bad if I just keep eating.
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos AMPS 356, +3 326

wow...what a night!!

binks wakes me at those times, also...thank goodness for responsible kitties, eh?
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos AMPS 356, +3 326

Congrats on your first PJ "party"! Chaos wanted you to know what was up with him. Good boy, Chaos!
So enjoy your semi-awake day. Looks like Chaos is going to let you rest for a while (well, maybe)!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos +6 278 dose question

No real action from Chaos today, but I recall the last time he went below 50 and Sienne told me he had earned a dose reduction. Chaos has been diabetic for just over a year; he was diagnosed 2/14/10. So do I consider him newly diagnosed or long-term at this point in time?

If we consider him newly diagnosed, I should decrease his dose 0.25 tonight, correct?

If we're looking at him like a long-term, he has to drop below 40 and has therefore NOT earned a decrease, right?

I shot through the bounce this AM with his usual dose of 1.75. Input, please?
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos +6 278 dose question

Hi, Violet... too tricky for me to answer.. to close to a year ;-) so it could go either way I would think.. bumping you so someone more knowledgable than me can answer.
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos +6 278 dose question

Hi Violet! You are past the year, so I'm leaning toward holding the dose. Maybe others will chime in with a different opinion though. I hope Chaos clears the bounce quickly!
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos +6 278 dose question

I agree with Laurie. And now here's my spin on things...

First, a drop below 40 is an automatic dose reduction. If Chaos drops below 50 on 3 occasions, that also earns a reduction.

I would also encourage you to not hold the doses as long as you are. The protocol suggests:
Tight Regulation Protocol sticky said:
"General" Guidelines:

* Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

* Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

* Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

So, unless you are seeing consistent blue or green nadirs, don't hold the dose more than 3 days.
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos +6 278 dose question

Thank you, Laurie and Sienne. :smile:

Since we went so low last night, and again on the 23rd, I'm going to hold the dose. I guess I err on the side of caution as far as holding the dose too long, but he was showing blues and I was told it was OK to hang out for 10 cycles. I was at my 10th cycle at 1.75u when he threw me the 62 on the 21st. So I didn't think it was a good idea to increase at that point. I was waiting to see if the 62 was a fluke when I got two more green numbers (last night and the 23rd).

This is confusing. I wish Chaos would show a little consistency. I guess this is the part where I get a bit frustrated, but I'm trying to hold on to what the green numbers mean: healing. Chaos is threatening to walk on my laptop now, so it must be shot time. :lol:
 
Re: 02/25 Chaos +6 278

Congrats on the PJ Party, Violet! I know you've been waiting patiently for your turn. So glad Chaos is finally there!! Hope you are able to get some rest this weekend... have a lovely evening, you guys!!
 
Oh yeah, Christie! I was just dying to stay up all night! :lol: :lol: It does answer the interesting question: who is on facebook at 3 AM, anyway??

Chaos has had his 1.75u. He was absolutely adorable about his shot this time. He hopped up on the table as usual, and while I was drawing the dose, he got into "the position". He normally doesn't do this on his own and needs to be guided so he's facing right so I can shoot with my left. This time, he was so totally ready! He's made me laugh bunches today, following me around and purring for no reason. We had a really great love fest earlier too. So even if I'm a little fuzzy brained, its' been a nice day with my kitty.
 
LOL I meant waiting your turn for the pretty green numbers. The PJ part is a, um, "perk." :lol: :lol:

a big "awwww!!!!!" here for the day you've had. Sounds delightful (well, except the fuzzy headed part...)

and yes, the answer to "who's on facebook at 3am" IS always fascinating....

Hope your night is as delightful as the day you've had!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top