02/25 Bayley amps 290 - question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning Leslie! Ok, now take into consideration that I do not have any expertise w/ acro cats (or anything as a matter of fact, lol), but when I checked your ss you shot lower numbers on 8.75. I see why you bcs'ed your dose last night, I would have also. But I don't see any reason why you wouldn't go back to the 8.5 dose.
You may want to wait and see if anyone else chirps in here, but that's my look on it....like I said, not my expertise-dosing and acro's.
Hope that Bayley does good today and that you have a wonderful day yourself!
 
Just posting a copy and paste from yesterday:
Sienne and Gabby said:
I love your attitude toward having to learn an entire new dosing strategy.

Have you been posting at all on the High Dose board? I'm wondering if in a tight time situation like tonight, if cross-posting would make sense. Alternatively, do you have any SS of other acro kitties you could bookmark? My understanding (big caveat that I'm not overly familiar with this area) is that if this is an active phase, you will need to keep Bayley's dose lowered until you see BG moving up again and then you can increase at a fairly rapid rate.
 
Thanks Deb and Dyana :) I did post on the high dose board this morning as well - unfortunately right after posting I lost internet and couldn't get back on to hear any advice - I went with a slightly lower dose (6u) and then a bit got on her fur as I could tell from the smell - I couldn't feel anything though so hopefully she got most. If I was home today I would have gone with reg dose but since I am gone until +9 at least I aired on the side of caution. In hindsight though - I think it would have been fine for me to go with full dose - live and learn :) I am interested to see what happens tonight :)
 
My usual caveat here...

What I've seen on SSs, depends on whether this is an active phase or not. If Bayley is in an active phase, you don't want to go immediately back up because her pancreas will be producing endogenous insulin. The dose is then kept lower until things slow down again. Of course, I'm not entirely sure how you sort that out, especially early in the process which is where you're at.

Does that make sense?
 
Yup makes sense :) We just need to confirm if that is going on with my girlie - (likely but maybe tonight will tell us more) and go from there :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top