? 02/25/18 Squallie AMPS 47-70, +1.30/79, +3/62, +5/71, +9/80, +11/69, PMPS 71, + 2/84, + 5/89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Squallie's first AMPS test today was 47. I immediately tested his other ear, thinking I had a bad strip or something; that test was 54. I don't know what to do. Obviously I can't shoot him at those levels - do I bring him up and pass on the shot or do I stall and see if he'll come up enough to shoot? It seems like his nadir gets closer and closer to the 12-hr mark every time I test him!
 
I would stall and if it comes up, shoot. Are you able to monitor and have all the goodies on hand?
Yes, I can monitor and I have some higher-carb foods. I am waiting on his appy meds to get here, though, so I can't guarantee he'll eat. I am stalling right now and will test again in about 10 minutes. yesterday morning I had to stall for 1 1/2 hrs!
 
Have you thought about giving him a reduction if you haven't been able to shoot on time due to low numbers? I know he's a long time diabetic, but I don't know what his count is at for being under 50.
 
Have you thought about giving him a reduction if you haven't been able to shoot on time due to low numbers? I know he's a long time diabetic, but I don't know what his count is at for being under 50.
Yes, I was just discussing this a few days ago and decided to leave him at status quo for the time being, but I'm thinking a reduction is in order now. I have to stall at every PS now!
 
I just tested him again and got 49. I think it's going to be a pass on the shot this morning, I don't think he's going to come up enough for me to shoot, at least in a reasonable length of time. Based on his recent history, since he hasn't come up at all yet, he probably wouldn't be high enough to shoot for at least a couple of hours.
 
Well, I just checked him one last time and he's up to 70 now, so I think I'll go ahead and shoot a reduced dose and see how he does with that.

Little to no bouncing is good. Soon maybe a trial coming up :D
I wish!!! I don't think he'll ever go into remission, he's a long-term diabetic and he's still getting a good bit of the juice. But never say never, right???:D
 
Thanks! I did, Elise, I dropped him down to 1.75U. He's been running so low at every PS, it's crazy, and having to stall every time doesn't make good sense. :bighug:
Is he a late nadir kitty? How do you find that to manage? Silver is getting increasingly hard as his preshot is low then he rises during day nadirs around +10
 
Is he a late nadir kitty? How do you find that to manage? Silver is getting increasingly hard as his preshot is low then he rises during day nadirs around +10
He's never been a late-nadir kitty before; his was usually a fairly early nadir, actually, with a major "dawn phenomenon" of higher numbers. I don't know what has changed to make his nadir so late (or early?), but it has not been easy to manage. Over the last several days I have had to stall repeatedly at both AMPS and PMPS.
 
He's never been a late-nadir kitty before; his was usually a fairly early nadir, actually, with a major "dawn phenomenon" of higher numbers. I don't know what has changed to make his nadir so late (or early?), but it has not been easy to manage. Over the last several days I have had to stall repeatedly at both AMPS and PMPS.

Yes Silver never used to be late either.
 
Congrats on the reduction. Even if it was a rather rude way to wake up. :eek: Neko used to like throwing me the odd 40's at AMPS, but I could always wait 15-20 minutes and she'd come up on her own.

Do you might modifying the SS, to show the actual time you shot. So you could do something like 49@+12/49@12.x - those could go in the +11 cell. Then do 70@+12.75, or whatever it was, in the PMPS cell. That's so we can see how much you had to stall.

I loved having a later nadir cat, seldom had to worry about her being low mid cycle when I wasn't around to monitor.
 
Congrats on the reduction. Even if it was a rather rude way to wake up. :eek: Neko used to like throwing me the odd 40's at AMPS, but I could always wait 15-20 minutes and she'd come up on her own.

Do you might modifying the SS, to show the actual time you shot. So you could do something like 49@+12/49@12.x - those could go in the +11 cell. Then do 70@+12.75, or whatever it was, in the PMPS cell. That's so we can see how much you had to stall.

I loved having a later nadir cat, seldom had to worry about her being low mid cycle when I wasn't around to monitor.
Hi Wendy, thanks for the advice! What should I do about the rest of the days' entries? For example, do I use +1.30 for his first test, since that's how long it was from his shot, or do I use +2.30, which is what it would be if he'd gotten his shot on time?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top