? 02/24 Chase: 218@ +11.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Member Since 2017
Good morning, all. Chase's numbers had been pretty much in the blue and green but he'shad a few yellow numbers. I pray this isn't bad news. His SS is up to date so I'm hoping you can easily look at it and deduce what the best plan of action might be for tomorrow, when I wake up.

Please let me know. Again.... thank you to those who have stayed with me during this proceed.

Much Love,
'Sandi and Chaser Doodles
 
Hi Sandi.

Chase is looking pretty darned good.

It's hard to say for sure, right now, what you should do at AMPS. I see no reason to not shoot, based on the numbers tonight, but you will have to make the final determination at AMPS, based on what number you get and your ability to monitor. I must confess, I would have tested more this afternoon, after getting that 72. Of course, I don't know what your schedule was. It's possible he may have gone lower and was bouncing at PMPS
.

I do not think Chase is ready to come off of insulin altogether, so the longer you can keep him surfing at this dose, the better.
 
I must confess, I would have tested more this afternoon, after getting that 72.
Hey Tricia, Sandi had to go to work just after she got the +3, so had to abort cycle, gave a good amount of HC and left MC icicles out for Chase, I suspect that yellow was BIPO. Given that he started to drop after the drop of insulin in the pm.

Sandi I think the yellow may have been due to all the higher carb food you had to use to steer the numbers and keep him safe yesterday morning. The fact that he started to come back down in the PM cycle is looking good.
In your other thread you note that chase is not liking his insulin shots, as George felt better he also got a bit more fidgety with his shots, and I've seen other folk notice a similar thing with their kitties.
 
I don't shoot until 6:30, Karen. So I need to do just that tiny amount again, right? Yesterday someone said I need to push the plunger down as far as I can get it... put it in bottle... and then just release. Don't pull at all. And then they said I should hold the syringe for 6-7 seconds. I didn't know that until after the fact, last night. I can try to do that. Chase flinches badly when he gets the needle, now.

I forgot I had started this thread, already. My SS was all messed up and please let me know if it looks right. I will be doing a proper curve tomorrow, so hopefully that will tell us something

I was finishing this just as you posted about the amount. :)
 
Nice APMS this morning. Lantus is known for something called a "double dip" which means there could be a slight dip in BG at the end of the cycle...very common. Go ahead and feed LC, get your +1 and +2 today since you're leaving for work.
 
Sandi, about the injection hurting, do you make sure the longest part of the needle goes into the skin first. It's hard to see, but the needle is beveled so you want the shorter part of the needle down which would have the longest part penetrating the skin first and helping it to glide in faster and easier and shouldn't hurt. I didn't know that for a while and it did make a difference after I was more conscious of it.

It was me that said hold the plunger in as you remove the needle from Chase's skin as to not suck back up the drop.
 
Good Shooting Sandi.
Just one thing with the ss, the 218@+11.5 needs to go in yesterdays pm cycle:) I think you just filled it in the wrong row.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Nice APMS this morning. Lantus is known for something called a "double dip" which means there could be a slight dip in BG at the end of the cycle...very common. Go ahead and feed LC, get your +1 and +2 today since you're leaving for work.
Ahhhhh.... yes.... the "double dip". Marje told me about that. I'm glad I saw it for myself. I'm understanding a little more each day.

I shot as soon as I put his food down, which is the way I should always be doing it. He's flinched before when I've shot as he was eating. But this time I did it all in one fell swoop. :) He's doing great. Patiently waiting for the next round. I will get a +3 today. The past days... that's when he's shown the lowest number. So I need to know what kind of pudding pops to put down for him... LC or MC. I will be at work all day, will come home and take care of him, but will probably only get a +2, this evening. I'm going to a concert. I REALLY need this. It's the thing I do in life that I most enjoy. I'm an avid music lover and love it live. I bought a ticket a few weeks ago, thinking that Chase would surely be ok, by now. He's doing great so far, but I've also seen how things can unexpectedly change. I'm SO glad I have more info in his SS, now. And I hope that several people are looking it and seeing the same type of thing.... and then telling ME, cuz I'm still not "that good" yet. LOL
 
Sandi, about the injection hurting, do you make sure the longest part of the needle goes into the skin first. It's hard to see, but the needle is beveled so you want the shorter part of the needle down which would have the longest part penetrating the skin first and helping it to glide in faster and easier and shouldn't hurt. I didn't know that for a while and it did make a difference after I was more conscious of it.

It was me that said hold the plunger in as you remove the needle from Chase's skin as to not suck back up the drop.
Thanks, Bobbie. :bighug: I may have misunderstood Marje when she told me about the beveled part of the lancet/syringe. I thought she told me that the beveled part is to be to the top. I always do that when I test, but I really can't see the end of the needle enough to tell. I have a magnifying glass, but still can't really see it. He didn't flinch at all this morning, so I'm very happy for that. Hurting him hurts me so much. I cry sometimes. LOL
 
A concert is just what the doctor ordered! What kind of music will it be tonight?

Thought : maybe he's flinching because he doesn't want to be disturbed from eating rather than it hurting him ?
 
Sandi, as you have to leave him to go to work, I would recommend you do as yesterday and get a +1 and +2, if he were indeed to drop early you are best steering the curve with appropriate food sooner rather than later, if the insulin gets ahead of you it can be difficult to pull him back.

It could be a double dip(though usually I would think of that as happening at around +10 to +11, though it can vary depending on the individual cycle), alternatively he might have a falling BG at amps, which can sometimes lead to a pretty active cycle. Whenever I had a preshot that was lower than my +11 almost always the cycle ended up being quite active.
So please get a +1.
 
Sandi, as you have to leave him to go to work, I would recommend you do as yesterday and get a +1 and +2, if he were indeed to drop early you are best steering the curve with appropriate food sooner rather than later, if the insulin gets ahead of you it can be difficult to pull him back.

It could be a double dip(though usually I would think of that as happening at around +10 to +11, though it can vary depending on the individual cycle), alternatively he might have a falling BG at amps, which can sometimes lead to a pretty active cycle. Whenever I had a preshot that was lower than my +11 almost always the cycle ended up being quite active.
So please get a +1.
Hi Gil. Oh yes... I plan to get a +1, here in 2 minutes... and then a +2, and +3 before I leave for work, today. Will be back in a minute with a number. :)
 
I love that idea, Karen. How about if I test at 2.5, just since I have to literally be OUT the door at 9:30. I have some frozen MC and LC pops for him, for when I leave. I guess it depends on his number as to what I put down.
Sounds good Sandy. Let's see what he is in 1/2 hour then decide what to leave out for him.
 
It's up to you, I would go for the MC now, that's a significant drop at +1, if you weren't leaving then yes you could leave it, but in my opinion from a managing the curve point of view, I think it would be safer to go with some MC at this point.
 
It's up to you, I would go for the MC now, that's a significant drop at +1, if you weren't leaving then yes you could leave it, but in my opinion from a managing the curve point of view, I think it would be safer to go with some MC at this point.
Ok. Well he ate a little of LC. Now I can give him a little of MC. Just a little... and test at 2.5. Does that sound good? I do have to get into the shower, though. I won't be long. :)
 
Sandi, about the injection hurting, do you make sure the longest part of the needle goes into the skin first. It's hard to see, but the needle is beveled so you want the shorter part of the needle down which would have the longest part penetrating the skin first and helping it to glide in faster and easier and shouldn't hurt. I didn't know that for a while and it did make a difference after I was more conscious of it.

It was me that said hold the plunger in as you remove the needle from Chase's skin as to not suck back up the drop.
The bevel should be up. That keeps it simple :)

Just checking in while i have a couple of quiet moments.

Personally, before the big drop yesterday, I felt his numbers were trending up which was what I discussed when I explained managing the curve with food. You get thcan curve flat, and then you raise the dose if need be. In his case and with SLGS, his curve on Sat might have shown that you just needed to continue to hold the dose because he was in the "hold the dose" range for SLGS.

He dropped because of the LC which is not a criticism but just a point. Chase has shown he can be a dropper early in the cycle and he drops to the point of needing a reduction. I really hope this reduction holds.

If you look at his SS, you can see he bounced a bit because of the drop yesterday in contrast to how flat he was on the MC. Bounces make cycles more unpredictable. He might respond well even to a high LC like 10%. I'm not sure what % MC you are feeding him Sandi but if the classics are 4%, I'd try a higher LC.

I think he's on a mission but I also think we should not get wrapped up in remission right now. The mission he might be on is to be as well regulated as he is. Not to be a Debbie Downer but it's important to focus on regulation and keeping him in healing numbers. And he's actually not in healing numbers (50-120) when he's dropping fast and then going back up.

He's doing great and you are sounding much more comfortable, Sandi. Have an amazing time tonight...you deserve it!!!:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Last edited:
The bevel should be up. That keeps it simple :)

Just checking in while i have a couple of quiet moments.

Personally, before the big drop yesterday, I felt his numbers were trending up which was what I discussed when I explained managing the curve with food. You get thcan curve flat, and then you raise the dose if need be. In his case and with SLGS, his curve on Sat might have shown that you just needed to continue to hold the dose because he was in the "hold the dose" range for SLGS.

He dropped because of the LC which is not a criticism but just a point. Chase has shown he can be a dropper early in the cycle and he drops to the point of needing a reduction. I really hope this reduction holds.

If you look at his SS, you can see he bounced a bit because of the drop yesterday in contrast to how flat he was on the MC. Bounces make cycles more unpredictable. He might respond well even to a high LC like 10%. I'm not sure what % MC you are feeding him Sandi but if the classics are 4%, I'd try a higher LC.

I think he's on a mission but I also think we should not get wrapped up in remission right now. The mission he might be on is to be as well regulated as he is. Not to be a Debbie Downer but it's important to focus on regulation and keeping him in healing numbers. And he's actually not in healing numbers (50-120) when he's dropping fast and then going back up.

He's doing great and you are sounding much more comfortable, Sandi. Have an amazing time tonight...you deserve it!!!:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
Thank you, Marje. I hope you are doing well. Your sister, too. :bighug:

I so appreciate your input, but would also like you to tell me what I could have done different. And.... what dose do I give him this evening? Stay on the <0.1u? I can't get to the store until tomorrow and I will get some higher% food if I can figure out what that would be. Maybe someone can suggest something. You made a few points, so it's hard for me to pick that out. Remission isn't my only goal. His heath comes first and foremost, whatever that may entail.
 
Hey Sandi just on my phone at the mo, I'll most some suggestions, give chase some MC as Karen suggested, as you head out the door put down some more MC and leave some LC out for him.
 
OK... this is where I end up running late because of discussion. 99 @ +3. Gave him more MC and left down MC as I head out the door. Any suggestions for the food Marje said would be so wonderful. Thank you all SO much. Have a great day. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I will try to check in a little later, from work.
 
He dropped because of the LC which is not a criticism but just a point. Chase has shown he can be a dropper early in the cycle and he drops to the point of needing a reduction. I really hope this reduction holds.

If you look at his SS, you can see he bounced a bit because of the drop yesterday in contrast to how flat he was on the MC. Bounces make cycles more unpredictable. He might respond well even to a high LC like 10%. I'm not sure what % MC you are feeding him Sandi but if the classics are 4%, I'd try a higher LC

Sandi, it does look like the LC experiment is not going to work because of how Chase likes to drop so fast early and agree it's causing him to bounce. You'll need to go back to feeding him the higher carb/med carb at preshot, +1 and +2 like you were with Marje's guidance previously. I'm not the best person to advise on "feeding the curve" but Gill and Marje have given you great guidelines.
 
Sandi

Sorry I just have to be in and out.

I'd leave the dose and still do a curve Sat since you will be at home even though it hasn't been a week on the new dose. It will just get you back on Sat curve days.

You can always mix foods to get where you need to be on the carbs. If the classics are 4% and the MC is 12%, by mixing them equally, you would have an 8% food. Add a tiny bit more 12% than 4% and you can get about a 10%. It's not a perfect science but that way you won't have to search for and buy more foods.

Since you will be home tomorrow, it would give you a chance to try it. You could actually even try it tonight, like we did the other night, since he doesn't drop as much at night.

I probably won't be back on tonight before you shoot but I'd stick with the drop dose for now.
 
Hi Sandi,
Just managed to get back on line, regarding the food, I was going to suggest you mix your low carb and MC, to make up some higher carb LC.
But I see Marje beat me to it, and did a beautiful job explaining it.
 
Sandi, it's getting close to 1am for me here, just hitting the sack. Shooting a little early (upto 30min should be ok)

As you are leaving for the concert by +2, perhaps tonight, to keep him safe and flat, it might be an idea to feed him MC/LC cocktail discussed above, then if he is flat or dropping by +1 give him MC then testing and feeding mc again at +1.5 if the numbers warrant it (if you get a big drop at +1 then get a +1.5)


I'm sure someone will be round to help.

ETA if his numbers were to hit or approach green, because you are going out, remember you can use hc to bump his numbers and keep him safe.
 
Sandi, it's getting close to 1am for me here, just hitting the sack. Shooting a little early (upto 30min should be ok)

As you are leaving for the concert by +2, perhaps tonight, to keep him safe and flat, it might be an idea to feed him MC/LC cocktail discussed above, then if he is flat or dropping by +1 give him MC then testing and feeding mc again at +1.5 if the numbers warrant it (if you get a big drop at +1 then get a +1.5)


I'm sure someone will be round to help.

ETA if his numbers were to hit or approach green, because you are going out, remember you can use hc to bump his numbers and keep him safe.
Gil... are you still here?
 
I'm not sure who will be around, but I got home early and did a test about 15 min. ago. Did I record it right on his SS?

I'm going to shoot at 6:00 p.m., tonight. I will need to leave right after I do his +1. So if that's the case, what do I feed him? A mixture of LC and MC for his meal? He's not been dropping into green, after his evening insulin, so I'm thinking I don't need to leave HC down. But do I leave MC or a mix of LC/MC down, since I'm leaving and will be gone until midnight.

Do I skip the shoot? :( I don't know what to do? His numbers in the evenings have been more consistent, but he has also dropped by a LOT from one test to the next. :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top