02/24/20 Thomas J. AMPS 361, +6 287, PMPS 207, +5 123 Best products to calm cats for testing?

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/23/20
He was grumpy this morning too, probably from these high numbers. I need to get a PM +9 or +10 but I keep sleeping through my alarms. Ugh.
Took 2 pokes. Thought I had it on 1 poke, meter counted down then said not enough blood, Thomas was not happy about that at all. Fought me a bit, wouldn't let me a apply pressure but a couple seconds. Felt bad.
Good appetite this morning, he was being picky last night and barely ate his food. He went and ate Hidee's :facepalm: he had the same food as hers but with some water mixed in. Thankfully no problem with his injection at least.
I think it's time for an increase, I believe this dose has already did all of it's work. What do you guys think?
I don't feel comfortable increasing at night because I tend to sleep through all of my alarms and that'd be missing important testing and proper monitoring if he got low.
If you guys agree it's time for an increase then I'll increase to 1.25 units tomorrow unit.
Thank you to everyone who has been helping me and giving information, I really do appreciate the support. Hope everyone has a wonderful Monday.:)
 
I think you've been good about grabbing that +10 during the day, so :) With the semi difficult testing- I think that's a good one to have every now and then ! I do think a bit more insulin is needed- not to get comfortable here - will see how other weigh in on that.

Have a good day.
 
He didn't enjoy his mid-day testing today, some fighting again. Took a couple pokes to get enough blood. I don't think the calming spray is working, I followed the directions, I'll give it a few more days. I believe they use Feliway diffusers at my vet so I think I'll get those just to have in the bathroom, probably work better than a spray. He ate his lunch well, back to licking his bowl clean.
 
20200223_151645.jpg
20200223_151700.jpg
20200223_151707.jpg

He certainly tried to fit haha :cat:
 

Attachments

  • 20200223_151645.jpg
    20200223_151645.jpg
    54 KB · Views: 171
  • 20200223_151700.jpg
    20200223_151700.jpg
    110.6 KB · Views: 162
  • 20200223_151707.jpg
    20200223_151707.jpg
    103.1 KB · Views: 135
What a pretty baby! And he's just about got everything in that box! So cute when they get in an old trashy box...Luci loves a box... I'm always ready to toss them..but of course, she has other ideas...and every box, no matter how large or small must be delayed before disposal for Miss Luci... :)

I'm glad he's eating well...

I agree with the others above - time for that increase. Keep testing as much as he'll tolerate...I sure keep hoping that he'll settle down and 'accept' that you're the mom...and this is going to happen...no ifs ands or buts about it...he will get there...it just takes time.

You're a testament to patience...and a wonderful mama to LT! Hang in there :)
 
Thanks everyone for your continued support and encouragement! I'll be increasing in the morning to 1.25 units. I hope he does as well on this dose as the 1 unit getting those lows.:bighug:
 
Fought me during his PMPS. Finally got it after 2 pokes. He was not happy at all. Have new scratches from him attacking me. I even let him eat some food before his test plus using the calming spray but it didn't help. I feel bad that he despises it so much. At least he didn't mind his injection. Ate well too.
I wish we could go back to how it was 2 weeks ago with him being so calm and not minding the tests. Just have to work with him more.
 
I know I asked a similar question a while back but thought I'd ask again since I was reading up on it a bit more.
When it comes to cat calming sprays and diffusers which do you believe works the best?
I know ECID so some may not work as well for others. I noticed that a lot of people who review them are recommending Comfort Zone in recent months so I was thinking of trying it as well as the tried and true Feliway most people use.
If you've tried somecalming sprays and/or diffusers, regardless of what brand, which would you recommend to calm a cat during testing?

Also, is this a question I should be asking on this forum or is there another forum I should be using for questions like this?
 
Last edited:
Fought me during his PMPS. Finally got it after 2 pokes. He was not happy at all. Have new scratches from him attacking me. I even let him eat some food before his test plus using the calming spray but it didn't help. I feel bad that he despises it so much. At least he didn't mind his injection. Ate well too.
I wish we could go back to how it was 2 weeks ago with him being so calm and not minding the tests. Just have to work with him more.

have you tried catnip ? I can't rememeber If we talked about that or not... I did with my guy in the beginning for a few days before I started the rear paws and turkey meat.
Just trying to get some other ideas...?
I like feliway...the problem is it seems to work less if they are already in an agitated/ anxious state...
 
have you tried catnip ? I can't rememeber If we talked about that or not... I did with my guy in the beginning for a few days before I started the rear paws and turkey meat.
Just trying to get some other ideas...?
I like feliway...the problem is it seems to work less if they are already in an agitated/ anxious state...
I offer him cat nip but it seems to make him more aggressive. I just sprinkle the dried catnip near him, is there another way I should do it?
 
I offer him cat nip but it seems to make him more aggressive. I just sprinkle the dried catnip near him, is there another way I should do it?

Hmm... not really, and that can happen.
I used to give it to Makoto on a toy for about 5-10 minutes before I wanted to mess with him and sometimes it seemed to zone him out/subdue a bit...but that might have also been because he played around a bit.
I'll keep brainstorming I guess... I've decided to call your little man "Sir Thomas" because is he apparently cat royalty like my guy and we didn't get the memo... Cats are so particular sometimes it cracks me up :)
 
Hmm... not really, and that can happen.
I used to give it to Makoto on a toy for about 5-10 minutes before I wanted to mess with him and sometimes it seemed to zone him out/subdue a bit...but that might have also been because he played around a bit.
I'll keep brainstorming I guess... I've decided to call your little man "Sir Thomas" because is he apparently cat royalty like my guy and we didn't get the memo... Cats are so particular sometimes it cracks me up :)
Hahaha we like to call him king cat sometimes since he seems to think we're his servants.
 
I found true Feliway worked better than Comfort Zone. Maybe ECID. You get better prices on line. Have you ever tried Rescue Remedy for Pets? I put a drop or two on a freeze dried treat a 1/2 hour before I needed Neko relaxed (ie. going to the vet). You could also put a drop or two in water, but you can't always predict when they'll drink. My vet also suggested putting a small bit o your fingers and putting it on their forehead/ears.

Good luck with the increase.
 
I found true Feliway worked better than Comfort Zone. Maybe ECID. You get better prices on line. Have you ever tried Rescue Remedy for Pets? I put a drop or two on a freeze dried treat a 1/2 hour before I needed Neko relaxed (ie. going to the vet). You could also put a drop or two in water, but you can't always predict when they'll drink. My vet also suggested putting a small bit o your fingers and putting it on their forehead/ears.

Good luck with the increase.
I've compared pricing among most of them. Amazon and Chewy always have the best prices I've noticed. Although with Amazon, quality control isn't always as important. Never heard of it. I'll look it up for sure. Why on the forehead and ears? Is it easier for them to smell there, is it an oil?
 
Seemed calmer for his PM mid-cycle test. Also, a lower number, 123. I'm thinking we'll get some good numbers with the new dose starting tomorrow.
Have a great night everybody!:bighug:
 
Back
Top