? 02/23 Gizmo PMPS=172, +1=197, +2=166, +4=163

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
02/22 +11=95

AMPS 102

Shot BCS 0.5U

Ate all his fuds AMPS - last night he ate but not all of his food.

I don't have time to post everything right now - but I need serious advise on what I should do.

Is the nadir still in affect? Meaning - would it have been ok to go to bed at +5.5 (126) last night? Is the depot still in play even with the No shot, reduced (BCS) and reduced dosage from earlier this week?

This is all new territory for me and I am at a loss and seriously sleep deprived.
 
I'm glad Gizmo ate good for you this morning. Gizmo was pretty flat last night, but his nadir still seems to be about the same time. You probably could have gone to sleep at +5.5 last night. I think the skipped shot most likely drained the depot. It looks like Gizmo is just working the juice.
 
After today's BCS there is certainly zero depot left from the 1.25u dose. He's had 4 different doses in 4 days which is all understandable. The goal would be to try and shoot consistently now for a good 6 cycles. If you're more comfortable bringing his dose down to .75u in order to achieve consistent dosing (so you know where the depot is) there is nothing wrong with that. Sometimes there are circumstances to ignore the protocol. Hope his appy continues to improve and stabilize.
 
Ran home to check on him. 111 @ +5.5. He has eaten all his fuds (+2.5 and +4.5) - he was just finishing his +4.5 when I got home so I am not sure how much that number is food influenced (meaning did he eat part and then come back and finish it).

I did give him 0.2mL of Torgagisic (sp?) this morning before I left. The pain med def seem to have some influence on his appetite.
 
He's had 4 different doses in 4 days which is all understandable. The goal would be to try and shoot consistently now for a good 6 cycles. If you're more comfortable bringing his dose down to .75u in order to achieve consistent dosing (so you know where the depot is) there is nothing wrong with that
Thank you for saying that. It makes me feel better. :bighug: I literally had to make the dosing decision on the fly this morning. There really isn't anyone on line at that time - I wavered between 0.5 and 0.75 and erred on the side of caution.

With his +5.5 this morning being 111 do you think 0.5U or 0.75U? My only concern is tomorrow AM cycle - otherwise 0.75 is fine with me. I would just take 1/2 day tomorrow am and be done with it but there is a scheduled meeting (that has already been canceled twice) - I am going to talk with the boss and see how certain he is that the meeting will take place.
 
Wow Lizzie!

I like the idea of .75 unit too so you can get 2 shots in a day and keep him safe . I am not sure what the XX should be for the .75 dose but maybe something blue shot .75. Hopefully others will weigh in .
 
Wow Lizzie!

I like the idea of .75 unit too so you can get 2 shots in a day and keep him safe . I am not sure what the XX should be for the .75 dose but maybe something blue shot .75. Hopefully others will weigh in .
This is catching me completely off guard. I am ecstatic but - just can't wrap my brain around it right now. It happened so fast. I talked with my boss and no biggy if I need to miss the meeting tomorrow a.m. and I can work from home if necessary (this is frowned with other management - but I told him I won't do it unless absolutely necessary).

So the plan it to shoot 0.75U tonight and hold for 6 cycles (I assume unless he earns a reduction?). Sunday PM will be the 7th cycle so good timing and at least I didn't skip this morning so we are not going in with NO insulin on board. I just pray his appy holds. If it does than I will be ok.
 
I got the Canna Companion in today. It was here when I got home. I added 1 capsule to his PM food. Fingers crossed it helps with the appetite and pain.

I called in to the vets this morning to get a refill of his pain meds (Torborgisic) - I am going to call it just a bit and see if they filled it. I have a little more in the bottle (maybe enough for another two doses) - going to just wait and see how it goes.

What would be a too low to shoot number for the AM? I am pretty much on my own at 4:15 am and don't have time to post or wait anyway so if someone can kinda give me some pointers on this new situation.

I never, in a million years, would have thought that just getting his teeth cleaned would have this result. I could see if there was absorption or infection but just a cleaning? Never.
 
That is my thought exactly. I didn't order yet but I will. Hope they have a long shelf life. Maybe refrigerating ?

OMG Bobbie - I am not sure if his tummy issues were waning on their own or if it is the product. He has been all relaxed and laid out tonight, then got up and got brushed for about 10 min. He is currently waiting by his autofeeder for his +2.5 food. He is alert and interactive - i.e., acting normal!!

I found on the website that the shelf life (expiration) is 18 months. Not bad.

Canna Companion has a shelf life of 18 months. Please check the printed expiration date on the back label of your package.

Will wait and see if it lasts through tomorrow of if it is just a fluke.
 
OMG Bobbie - I am not sure if his tummy issues were waning on their own or if it is the product. He has been all relaxed and laid out tonight, then got up and got brushed for about 10 min. He is currently waiting by his autofeeder for his +2.5 food. He is alert and interactive - i.e., acting normal!!

I found on the website that the shelf life (expiration) is 18 months. Not bad.



Will wait and see if it lasts through tomorrow of if it is just a fluke.
Great report!
 
but just a cleaning?
Gingivitis = inflammation and inflammation can cause higher BG's.

As far as tomorrow goes, it's hard to know as Karen had mentioned earlier, there has been a few different doses in the last few days. It's hard to know what depot is talking here. Today you shot .50 at 102 and it was a nice cycle. And tonight at +2 it looks like it could be active but that said, you shot .75. Tomorrow, if you get something 100 or under, I would only shoot .50 but then I am guessing as I said, it's hard to know where the depot is. I get with working and leaving Gizmo you do what you feel is safe.

Hope other weigh in because I am not sure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top