02/23 Blackie PMPS 118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64323&p=697997#p697997

Still watching these PS #s. I'll see what the other #s look like before making a decision to fatten her dose a bit. ECID, and she is definitely different. :lol:

This morning, I decided to feed her right after her shot before making the civvies' food. That way, she'll eat first, and get out of the kitchen quicker instead of picking fights with everyone, and chasing them out of the kitchen. Plus, she'll eat closer to the time of the shot, too. It takes time to prepare the civvies' fuds as I mix their wet food (aside of Jr. Mint's of course, who eats Evo just like his momma) with the kibble. It takes about 5-10 minutes each morning to get that done, which is 5-10 minutes where she could be eating her first breffis. That little bit of time may make a difference in helping to get those #s down. *shrug* All I can do is try it and see what happens. I've been paying a bit more attention to when I feed her yesterday, and have noticed that it's not always on the hour when I feed her. So, am changing that by getting into the kitchen about 2-3 minutes before the hour, and getting everything taken care of so that the food is in front of her on the hour. I should've thought of that way sooner. Alas... Hindsight...

Right now, she's pacing (exercising), and meowing at me (also another exercise :lol:) for her next breffis, which will be in about 11 minutes.

MY WISH: For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: 02/23 Blackie AMPS 137, +1 107, +3 50

Hi guys .. wooohoo look at blackie go! I can't imagine she would ever pick fights with anyone .. :-D I hope the new feeding schedule works for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 02/23 Blackie AMPS 137 +1 107 +3 50 +4 54 +5 64

Angela: I just want to reiterate Jill's comments from before. You will need to flatten the curve with food before you do a dosecrease. What you want to do is increase the % carbs to flatten the curve so the nadir comes up; once the overall curve is flattened then you do your dosecrease to drop the overall range.

Pls let us know if you have questions :-D
 
Re: 02/23 Blackie AMPS 137 +1 107 +3 50 +4 54 +5 64 +9 109

+9 109
PMPS 118, 1u, 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 - 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.20 raw turkey cutlet
 
PMPS 118, 1u, 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T

I just realized something... As I'm front loading right now, I'm to wait a couple of months to see if it'll help to bring her #s down. If not, then I'll do the dosecrease, and add a tiny amount of carbs to see if that'll work. I swear I'm having brain freezes (for lack of a better word) lately.
 
I hope the frontloading works as that is usually what we use for DIVING cats which Blackie is not doing. Two things bring down PSs....(1) increasing the nadir by feeding higher % carbs until the curve is flat and you can raise the dose to bring it all down and (2) not feeding after nadir. If by frontloading you mean you are no longer feeding after nadir, then I hope that helps. I'm sorry....I don't remember if you were feeding later but for some reason I thought you were. But if you were not feeding later, then it will be interesting to see if frontloading works. Like I said...bringing the PS down is not the goal of frontloading.

The concept of frontloading is that there are sufficient carbs on board early in the cycle to counteract the steep drops which, in turn, helps with the bounces.

One question....when you say you want her to be "diet controlled" do you mean you want to be able to control her numbers so they are all green while she is on insulin or do you mean you want her in remission with food controlling her BGs? We just want to be sure we are all on the same page.

Have a great night!!!
 
The goal: To get her diabetes diet controlled, instead of insulin dependent (if possible).

Until I can do anything, I need to get an affordable baby scale, or pet scale so that I can weigh her accurately, and go from there. Our dial scale doesn't do anything, and there's a lot of variances whenever I weigh us both together, and deduct my weight from the total combined weight of us both.

If at the end of the front loading session, if she hasn't come down by then, I have lots of cans of FF Chicken & Turkey (4%) available to help bring the PS #s down, along with the added drop of insulin. For now, I'm giving this front loading a chance to do something, if anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top