02/23/20 Thomas J. AMPS 248, +5.5 109, +5.75 104, +10.5 361, PMPS 318, +4.5 256

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/22/20
Testing wasn't too bad, he wasn't enjoying it but he let me poke him and it was only one time thankfully. The injection on the other hand he was hating, he tried swiping at me.
Every time I touched him he would stop eating to look back and glare at me. I was only able to inject because he went to use the bathroom, I injected him while he was being still in there. Not ideal but I got it done. Also got a ketone test as well, negative thankfully. Great appetite this morning.
Hope everyone is having a good Sunday!:)
 
Should I increase to 1.25 units this week? Not going to be home to monitor until Tuesday unfortunately. I'm out of the house today and most likely tomorrow as well. Not what I would prefer but what can you do.
 
Last edited:
Well done getting the BG first go and getting a ketone test.... and Negative!

Where do you inject the insulin?
I inject in the scruff and then on the sides of his body near the outer part of the shoulder blades. He won't let me touch his rear at all so that's a no go. I rotate my injections.
20200223_065244.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20200223_065244.jpg
    20200223_065244.jpg
    44.6 KB · Views: 118
Each time you get a successful test and a shot too is a victory! You're really doing a wonderful job considering your adversary there! He doesn't understand yet that you're only trying to help him....but soon he'll get the message that you're the 'alpha' and you're going to do this thing...and he will resolve himself to accept it...he may never like it...but he will tolerate it. I know I've told you about the hill I had to climb with my Luci...she was a real hellcat...but we got there...and you will too!

As for increasing, I personally wouldn't increase unless I could be home to monitor. But that's just me. I'd hold off until you can be around the house...
 
Each time you get a successful test and a shot too is a victory! You're really doing a wonderful job considering your adversary there! He doesn't understand yet that you're only trying to help him....but soon he'll get the message that you're the 'alpha' and you're going to do this thing...and he will resolve himself to accept it...he may never like it...but he will tolerate it. I know I've told you about the hill I had to climb with my Luci...she was a real hellcat...but we got there...and you will too!

As for increasing, I personally wouldn't increase unless I could be home to monitor. But that's just me. I'd hold off until you can be around the house...
Thank you for the motivation! I agree, I won't be increasing until I'm home to monitor him.
 
You may want to put a comment in your notes about the reason you're delaying the increase. It'll help people who look at your SS since you're at the point now on TR, where you should increase, however since you're not going to be home and you don't know how much the depot is going to come into play - AND most importantly you want him to be safe - you're waiting until Monday night or Tuesday morning to increase so you can monitor...

This is a game of patience...no point in rushing and getting into a situation you don't want or need.
 
So, I was testing before lunch and it showed 117. I thought that couldn't be right so I tested again after a little over 5 minutes and it said 109. I'm about to leave the house. I'll leave some high carb out for him. Not sure what's going on.
 
Alright, retested after 15 minutes while he was eating a little LC food. There was a enough blood for 3 test strip 104, 106, 107. Gave him a tablespoon of HC. Tested myself to see if it was just off, 91, haven't eaten yet so that makes sense.
 
This dose might be just starting to work for him. I would hold the dose a bit longer.
That's real weird since he's been testing so high the last 2 days. Then again I wasn't able to get blood to test last night so maybe he was dropping low last night too. Also he was 184 +4.5 the night before last so maybe he's dropping more than that after 1- 3 hours.
 
Last edited:
Alright, retested after 15 minutes while he was eating a little LC food. There was a enough blood for 3 test strip 104, 106, 107. Gave him a tablespoon of HC. Tested myself to see if it was just off, 91, haven't eaten yet so that makes sense.


No worries.
I'd save the HC food for big dives earlier in the cycles...that is a good mid cycle number and as you've seen he would likely come up as the insulin starts to wear off closer to shot time.
Often LC is enough to have them hold, unless you know your cat is not very carb sensitive

:)
 
That's real weird since he's been testing so high the last 2 days. Then again I wasn't able to get blood to test last night so maybe he was dropping low last night too. Also he was 184 +4.5 the night before last so maybe he's dropping more than that after 1- 3 hours.


Doses can take a few cycles to settle in and really show you what they are doing. This is why we say don't worry about the sometimes higher numbers you get after a new dose or a lower number than you have seen causes some bouncing.
 
No worries.
I'd save the HC food for big dives earlier in the cycles...that is a good mid cycle number and as you've seen he would likely come up as the insulin starts to wear off closer to shot time.
Often LC is enough to have them hold, unless you know your cat is not very carb sensitive

:)
Thank you. I thought LC would be fine but since I'm not gonna be home for a few hours I gave HC for my own peace of mind.
 
Thank you. I thought LC would be fine but since I'm not gonna be home for a few hours I gave HC for my own peace of mind.


Sounds good :)

You also might of seen a bit of glucose toxicity in the beginning on this dose/ towards the end of the 0.75....with all those flat yellows and pinks. So it took some more insulin to break through that and then a few cycles to see what 1 units does with a full depot I believe.

If you can, I'd grab a +10.5 or +11 so you can see where that PMPS number is coming from and be prepared if you need to intervene ( stall or post for help)
 
Sounds good :)

You also might of seen a bit of glucose toxicity in the beginning on this dose/ towards the end of the 0.75....with all those flat yellows and pinks. So it took some more insulin to break through that and then a few cycles to see what 1 units does with a full depot I believe.

If you can, I'd grab a +10.5 or +11 so you can see where that PMPS number is coming from and be prepared if you need to intervene ( stall or post for help)
I'll do my best to grab it. What is glucose toxicity exactly?
 
We are dealing with it now if you check my SS. It's where you hold onto a dose that isn't quite enough insulin and you lose some regulation. The cat's body starts to get used to higher numbers again and it takes more insulin than it did before to break through that barrier of numbers....
Your 1 unit dose seems to be doing the trick, it just maybe took a bit longer to see some better numbers and a likely another increase is on the horizon.
 
How much in advance do you know your schedule? I'm wondering if we can try to figure out a better way to anticipate making dose increases.

Here's what I'm seeing. With the 0.75u dose, you could have increased on 2/13 (3 days/6 cycles). You held the dose until 2/17. With the increase to 1.0 and given that Thomas is new to blue nadirs, you could hold the dose for 5 days (10 cycles). You could have increased on 2/21. I'm not sure when you're thinking about increasing -- the 25th, maybe? With TR, you're holding doses longer that is ideal. With the 1.0u dose, it seems like you could be holding the dose for at least 8 days.

One option may be to consider SLGS. With TR, you need to let the dose drop into below 50 vs 90 with SLGS. SLGS also allows you to hold the dose longer. Alternatively, if you know when you'll be around to get tests, we can try to anticipate that and raise the dose when you're home -- or closer to being home.
 
How much in advance do you know your schedule? I'm wondering if we can try to figure out a better way to anticipate making dose increases.

Here's what I'm seeing. With the 0.75u dose, you could have increased on 2/13 (3 days/6 cycles). You held the dose until 2/17. With the increase to 1.0 and given that Thomas is new to blue nadirs, you could hold the dose for 5 days (10 cycles). You could have increased on 2/21. I'm not sure when you're thinking about increasing -- the 25th, maybe? With TR, you're holding doses longer that is ideal. With the 1.0u dose, it seems like you could be holding the dose for at least 8 days.

One option may be to consider SLGS. With TR, you need to let the dose drop into below 50 vs 90 with SLGS. SLGS also allows you to hold the dose longer. Alternatively, if you know when you'll be around to get tests, we can try to anticipate that and raise the dose when you're home -- or closer to being home.
My schedule is never the same, always changing. I'm usually able to be home most weekdays so I can closely monitor him, of course sometimes that changes.
One thing for sure is that I'm not available to increase on the weekends because I'm usually not home for most of the day. Sometimes Friday and Monday I'm not home either.
That's why I wanted to increase 02/20 but was told to hold because of his one low blue having the possibility of being repeated. Then he hit the low blue cycle that 02/20 and so I held another day because I wasn't sure if he would hit another low number, should've just increased 02/21.
I wasn't available this weekend to increase so I have to hold off until Monday but now I might not be able to be home due to some last minute plans. So now the increase is planned even later on 02/25. I know I'm holding too long but it's difficult when something always comes up to ruin my plans for his increase and I need to be home to monitor.
I could possibly increase this evening but I'm not going to be here much tomorrow to further monitor him. I was also just told to hold the dose a bit longer. I honestly don't know what to do now. Thank you for all of the help.
Also, I know that SLGS seems like it may be a better fit for me in some aspects but my end goal is remission. I like TR, I just need to figure out how to manage my week for dose increases and then I believe it'll be easier.
This week was a bit more hectic and the other 2 weeks I was just getting started. I think I've learned a lot and know more now than I did previously when I first started.
 
Last edited:
+10.5 361 Due to the HC wet food. Probably should've just given LC food. I was just worried he may dip lower while I wasn't home. I'll remember this for the future.
 
He was fighting me a little for his PMPS. Decided to go give him his dinner and poke there while he was eating. Was able to get it but he wasn't happy. Was being difficult during his injection, the same as this morning. He left and went to the litterbox, gave his shot there again. He used to be so good for his injection. I hope he's not as crabby tomorrow.
 
I think bouncing from nice numbers in the 100s then up to the 300s would make me a little crabby too. When my blood sugar is low, I turn into a toddler, so I can't blame them. He doesn't really understand what's going on with him....

I found that as my guys numbers got better over time and he started to actually feel better - which took a few weeks of good numbers- he didn't mind his shots or tests as much. On some days where his numbers were dropping, he would actually wake me up- repeatedly-and go sit in his testing spot(near the kit I use). I think after awhile they put two and two together and realize that somehow, all the poking is actually making them feel better...and they get food so ;)
 
I think bouncing from nice numbers in the 100s then up to the 300s would make me a little crabby too. When my blood sugar is low, I turn into a toddler, so I can't blame them. He doesn't really understand what's going on with him....

I found that as my guys numbers got better over time and he started to actually feel better - which took a few weeks of good numbers- he didn't mind his shots or tests as much. On some days where his numbers were dropping, he would actually wake me up- repeatedly-and go sit in his testing spot(near the kit I use). I think after awhile they put two and two together and realize that somehow, all the poking is actually making them feel better...and they get food so ;)
Thanks for the encouragement. I know he's not feeling well and it makes me feel bad. I don't like when he looks at me so upset.
He's certainly not bad like he was. He barely attacks me but sometimes does a warning swipe. Trying to keep him calm and give him plenty of love.:bighug:
 
How much in advance do you know your schedule? I'm wondering if we can try to figure out a better way to anticipate making dose increases.

Here's what I'm seeing. With the 0.75u dose, you could have increased on 2/13 (3 days/6 cycles). You held the dose until 2/17. With the increase to 1.0 and given that Thomas is new to blue nadirs, you could hold the dose for 5 days (10 cycles). You could have increased on 2/21. I'm not sure when you're thinking about increasing -- the 25th, maybe? With TR, you're holding doses longer that is ideal. With the 1.0u dose, it seems like you could be holding the dose for at least 8 days.

One option may be to consider SLGS. With TR, you need to let the dose drop into below 50 vs 90 with SLGS. SLGS also allows you to hold the dose longer. Alternatively, if you know when you'll be around to get tests, we can try to anticipate that and raise the dose when you're home -- or closer to being home.
Do you think I should increase his dose already despite his lower numbers today? If I'm able should I increase in the morning?
 
That (256) tonight should be yellow.....sorry :confused:
If you start losing momentum in these numbers...it might be frustrating , but you also want to keep him safe so it's hard to pre set a dose without numbers.

Let's just see where he is in the AM...maybe grab an earlier test if you think you'll need the time- 15 to 30 minutes won't cause you to have to adjust your shooting times ( more than 30 minutes does) Then you'll have time to post and ask for advice....?
Make sure you put " DOSE ADVICE???" and use the question mark icon to get eyes on your post if you need to. If not tomorrow AM, you could still increase at night ...
You do what you can.
 
That (256) tonight should be yellow.....sorry :confused:
If you start losing momentum in these numbers...it might be frustrating , but you also want to keep him safe so it's hard to pre set a dose without numbers.

Let's just see where he is in the AM...maybe grab an earlier test if you think you'll need the time- 15 to 30 minutes won't cause you to have to adjust your shooting times ( more than 30 minutes does) Then you'll have time to post and ask for advice....?
Make sure you put " DOSE ADVICE???" and use the question mark icon to get eyes on your post if you need to. If not tomorrow AM, you could still increase at night ...
You do what you can.
Yes, I corrected it. I know it's yellow, got used to the blues for a while and put it by accident. The high numbers are due to the HC I gave him when I saw the low 100s today. Should've just gave LC but I wasn't gonna be home to monitor him if he dropped lower.
Not sure what you're meaning by without numbers? Are you meaning consistent numbers or what?
Getting confused because I'm being told I need to increase earlier but at the same time I'm also told to hold the dose due to the low numbers, that's conflicting advice.
I asked on day 3 of this dose if I should increase and was told to hold because of one blue so I did. Should I have increased the day after his blue cycle or what? What am I doing wrong, I'm trying to listen to everyone's advice but apparently that's wrong too because that caused me to hold longer.
I'll see where he's at in the morning and post for advice if needed. Thanks.
 
No no...I just meant before the AMps bg itself it's harder to say what you should do about that increase I think....could be wrong.

I don't think you are doing anything wrong....it can be a lot of weighing options and learning as you go.
No worries.
 
Back
Top