02/22 Tipper AMPS 401 PMPS-275 Dose help pls

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 02/22 Tipper AMPS 401 PMPS 157 Dose help pls

I don't really have the experience to give advice, but can start the ball rolling by asking questions...:)

Will you be around to test or do you need to leave? Do you have plenty of test strips and some HC food if needed?

Does Tipper have a history of ketones?

Answers to these will help our wise advice givers. :)
 
Re: 02/22 Tipper AMPS 401 PMPS 157 Dose help pls

I just gave Tipper her shot @+1 her BG was 275. I think that shooting at 157 would have been safe in light of what I'm seeing now.
Please feel free to comment on my thought process. I will be testing alot tonight. Poor Tipper and she has only 1full ear! The other was tipped off when she was spayed.
 
Re: 02/22 Tipper AMPS 401 PMPS 157 Dose help pls

I am a relative newbie, but given your spreadsheet, I probably would have shot the full dose at +12 as well, assuming you were around to test and had the necessary supplies. The first time I had to shoot low numbers, it was in the 90s and I was a wreck! Thank goodness for Sienne, who guided me through everything!

Very happy you shot the whole amount. The delay may work against you a little, but not nearly as much as a missed dose. You want to keep this good momentum going! You may still see some low blues/greens tonight, which is good!

Good job!!
 
Re: 02/22 Tipper AMPS 401 PMPS 157 Dose help pls

Glad I shot too. I could not wait to see a blue # then when I do, I panic. I guess it's a lack of control and confidence that I could handle a very low #. I do have all the supplies and a copy of the print out.

I'm just amazed at how well she is coping with this. She jumps on the table to be tested, its routine for her now. Her fur is shiny, no more dandruff. No more peeing outside the litter box! I know she is no where near being regulated but she looks and acts so much better.

Again I can't thank everyone here enough for the advice, kind words and support.
Patty
 
Re: 02/22 Tipper AMPS 401 PMPS 157 Dose help pls

hi

your PMPS is actually 275 (update your main subject line when you can)
you shot an hour late, will you be able to make up that time for tomorrow morning?

as for tonight, you'll want to start with a +1 or +2 and go from there.
As for stalling like you did, (hold the food - feeding while you are stalling can spike up the preshot number)
next time try retesting a little earlier, like +12.5 (30 minutes after your original preshot number) you'll lose less time that way and you can catch a rising number earlier.
These things do get easier, the more numbers you get, the easier it gets to shoot on time and you'll be more comfortable with what you are seeing in her numbers.
 
Nice job this evening. I'm sorry I didn't see your note.

This post on handling low pre-shots may be helpful the next time you run into this situation.

If you run into a low pre-shot, you might want to test in 30 min. rather than wait an hour. Once you see that the numbers reflect a surf or are clearly rising, you can shoot. You'll also want to change your SS. Your PMPS is actually the 275. You can mark the 157 as your +12. (Look at Gabby's SS for one example of how you can put multiple numbers in a cell. You'll need to manually change the colors.)

Please update with your +1 and +2 tests.

Also, remember that your AMPS is 12 hours from when you shot tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top