02/22 Rupert PMPS 223, +3, 48!!, +4 79, +4.5/ 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdays condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64251

yesterdays nunbers:
AMPS 230.4
+2 297
+6 279
PMPS 410.4
+3 284.4

today he starts out at 342. Sily boy, doesn't he know that pink really doesn't go with a tuxedo?

Rupert came and got me this morning, had his ground beef snacks during testing and his shot, eaten about 1/3 of a tin of Merrick topped with a bit of Snappy Tom (he didn't seem enthusiastic about this morning's menu, although his appetite was good). Has already been out since 4am (sigh), and has now gone back outside. Seems happy, purry and looking pretty fine!
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert AMPS 342, Pink does NOT go with a tuxedo!

Hi guys .. hmm odd .. I would have guessed a distinguished boy like rupert knew better then to wear pink! Hoping he ditches that color soon .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert AMPS 342, Pink does NOT go with a tuxedo!

Nope, pink is not your color Rupert, sheesh those colored tuxes are soooooo 70s!
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert AMPS 342, +6 102

guess he heard you, Blue a lot better. but wow... zooooooooooooooooooom!

he's eating a few tablespoons of Friskies seafood pate at the moment, it's slightly higher carb than his Merrick. have to go back to work and won't be able to check him again until 5:00pm.... I'm not too worried though... just wonder how low he MIGHT have gone an hour or so ago since historically (with limited data so far) his nadir is a little earlier than this. will test him again in half an hour, right before I head back to work.
it will be nice if he can hold this level, or maybe come up a few and surf the rest of the day. fingers crossed! hoping it doesn't cause another bouncy day tomorrow. I"m getting seasick with all this boinging around!
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert AMPS 342, +6 102

couple of days ago we had a bunch of pink cats in LL, today we seem to have a bunch of diving cats! punkin's in there with rupert!
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert AMPS 342, +6 102. +6.5 120

ok, another test before I"m out the door, he's at 120. good boy. he's had fairly decent amount to eat, friskies, a teaspon of HC (if that) and some Snappy Tom. now he's back on the couch looking annoyed because he got poked TWICE this lunchtime! how rude!
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert AMPS 342, +6 102. +6.5 120, +11 223

+ 11 at 223, not a bad surf today. won't get a test right before 6:30pm shot 45 mins from now) we are heading out so he'll be getting his shot right on time and we are out the door, but the numbers are looking good. not quite such a violent swing. hoping we don't get a bounce tomorrow.
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert AMPS 342, +6 102. +6.5 120, +11 223

Hi Pip

Just looking at Rupert's SS and had a couple thoughts. I see you increased him this morning by a tiny bit. I believe I would have held the dose through today as Julie suggested in your condo yesterday. I think the numbers you saw today were the bounce clearing.

When bounces clear and we see numbers stay high then we raise by .25u and not just a shave. Typically when increasing, .25u works better than just a shave.

The other thing I see is Rupert likes to drop rather quickly. Have we suggested yet that you perhaps front load his cycle with food? Many feed at PS, +1, +2, +3 in order to have the carbs on board before the insulin onsets. You have to experiment with it and sometimes a little higher % carb helps...for instance 4% rather than 1 or 2%.

Just some thoughts. Please let me know if you have questions.
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert AMPS 342, +6 102. +6.5 120, PMPS 223, +3,

yikes bit of a dive this evening, hope he doesn't bounce too much from this one. He's looking very very good. Eating some HC fancy feast right now. Will check on him again in a bit. Hoping we don't get a massive bounce tomorrow. fingers crossed. I guess he just wanted to try on a lot of different colours today! dosage 'increase' was barely anything, a fat 1.5 to a skinny 1.75 (guestimate since I don't have .5 markings on my syringes).
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert PMPS 223, +3, 48!!, +4 79

ok, +4 test up to 79, better! phew!

recap of today: AMPS 342, +6 102. +6.5 120, PMPS 223, +3 48, +4 79

day started out so well and then the dive. fingers crossed we start somewhere decent tomorrow and he doesn't kerboing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

confused_cat I don't know what that emoticon means but I think it's cute!

cat(2)_steam and that one is Rupert after having been poked YET again in such a short time frame!
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert PMPS 223, +3, 48!!, +4 79

well done pip! you're getting baptised by fire! great job handling the 48.

i'm going to guess that when he went from amps 342 to +6/102 that was the bounce clearing from yesterday.

tomorrow morning you want to reduce rupert's dose by .25u. from whatever you shot tonight, the skinny 1.75, reduce it by .25 for tomorrow morning's shot. keeping him safe is our first concern! in a newly diagnosed kitty every time they go below 50 we reduce the dose by .25units.

rupert's looking great! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert PMPS 223, +3, 48!!, +4 79

Wow, big drop! I think about what Marje mentioned, several mini meals before onset. It evens out the carb load and often smooths out the big drops.
 
Re: 02/22 Rupert PMPS 223, +3, 48!!, +4 79, 4.5 77

good idea re the meal thing.... have always made sure he was eating, or just eaten when I gave him his shot... but I"ll make sure he eats a little each hour for a few hours after.. and maybe one hour before if I'm home at the right time!

re the shot tomorrow. will do. smidge under 1.5 will be the dose.

he's cruising at 77 right now and having a little bit more to eat. will leave food out overnight too.
 
good plan!

people who do the mini meals take whatever the total would normally be in the entire morning and divide it into the smaller amounts to feed hourly. the idea is not to have them eat more food than usual, just to spread it out and slow down that high dive!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top