02/22/10 meowmeow amps 243

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrsd4ever

Member Since 2010
Ok. I've been reading everything everyone suggested and doin' my best. I have another question. Given the numbers I've been getting and the amount of time MeowMeow has been at 1BID should I be upping the dose by now? And if so how much? He has been acting so much better already and I really appreciate every ones help. Thanks again.
 
hi there

by looking at your spreadsheet, I'd like to suggest a few daytime checks, if u are home - especially the +3 in the morning.
Also, it looks like to me, a few evening checks would help fill in the blanks as well. Many kitties actually tend to go lower in the evenings.

I will let the more experienced members offer suggestions on the dosing question, glad to see u posting today!
 
A couple of questions...

You noted that ketones were "ok." What does this mean? Ketones should register either negative or trace. If it's any more than that, it's of concern. Do you happen to recall what the color match was?

Is there any way you can work in more spot checks? A check before bed would help. You have very little data in the PM cycle and many cats have lower numbers in the evening. It looks like you are pretty consistently getting tests at +6 and +10 in the AM cycle. Can you get checks at other times to begin to fill in the blank times? You're already getting some glimpses of blue. If you are going to raise the dose, you will need to get some additional checks in.

Ordinarily, an increase of 0.25 would be indicated but I'd like to have some of the others give their input.
 
the ketones were negative.

As far as p.m. checks we can get some of those done. The a.m. checks, can i just spread them out over several days or should i be getting them all in the same day?
 
Spreading them out is fine. I would encourage you to get at least 2 checks per cycle if you are able. At some point in the near future, a curve would be great! There are instructions on a how to do a curve (basically testing every 2 hrs. over a 12 hr period) in the New to Lantus/Levemir note at the top of the Board.
 
Thanks. I will do the checks and try to get a curve done on a weekend a.s.a.p. We have been working on MeowMeow since November and was starting to think nothin was workin. Finally starting to see improvement.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top