02-21 Small Kitty amps 418 pmps 238 +2 254 - Costly bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good morning everybody,

Was expecting blue this morning, that it would be the norm now on with Lev :(.
With the first shot Small Kitty came out low, looped, then came back down.. This
morning is a different story, seems he never came down :(

This brings us back to the same dilemma, going low and go up in the sky for a 2 days
or more, or stay blue and don't make the system freak out...

Hope he'll get down during the day.

Good Tuesday everyone, wish you good numbers

Sébastien
Yesterday
 
Who knows how low he went during the PM cycle of the 19th. Hopefully the bounce clears soon and it happens when you're home to monitor him a bit more.
 
Who knows how low he went during the PM cycle of the 19th. Hopefully the bounce clears soon and it happens when you're home to monitor him a bit more.

I'd like so much to catch a reduction dose so he'll stop freaking out...
.
 
I think SK can benefit from smaller more frequent meals especially with your limited ability to test. Might try splitting his meals up into smaller portions and have the auto feeder open every 3 hours or so. Just a thought.
 
I think SK can benefit from smaller more frequent meals especially with your limited ability to test. Might try splitting his meals up into smaller portions and have the auto feeder open every 3 hours or so. Just a thought.

You're right Karen, slowly releasing food instead of a big load would be better.
Unfortunately it's kind of hard with Small Kitty. There is two feeders, one per
cat set at similar intervals. If Big Brother is not in the mood to eat Small Kitty
will empty both or even kick his brother off the feeder if he's still hungry...

Hope he'll stabilize with the depot full of Levemir.
.
 
I hope so too. Although honestly without some human intervention regarding feeding, testing etc. sometimes it's a little harder. He's breaking the bounce already so will be interesting to see what he does tonight.

It is more difficult in Sébastien's situation. Levemir is a new challenge. It is a learning curve.
 
It is more difficult in Sébastien's situation. Levemir is a new challenge. It is a learning curve.
Of course it is and it's very challenging. Trying to find out the typical nadir over time will help. I'm not judging but simply stating the truth as we all know it. FD is hard, they are cats and was just trying to help figure out a possible way to flatten SK out. Those late night tests every once in a while may help get a better idea of what SK is doing on Lev or at least over the weekend when he can test. The feeding was a suggestion since he has an autofeeder but if that won't work it is what it is.
 
Of course it is and it's very challenging. Trying to find out the typical nadir over time will help. I'm not judging but simply stating the truth as we all know it. FD is hard, they are cats and was just trying to help figure out a possible way to flatten SK out. Those late night tests every once in a while may help get a better idea of what SK is doing on Lev or at least over the weekend when he can test. The feeding was a suggestion since he has an autofeeder but if that won't work it is what it is.

Appreciate your support Karen. Introducing a medical condition that requires a certain amount of uniterrupted sleep is not easy with our sugar kitties. I understand the truth that you are speaking...
 
FWIW - I felt like a total newbie again the first month after I switched from Lantus to Levemir. It takes time to learn the cat's new patterns on the new insulin. And it also takes a while for the cat to adjust to the new insulin. We don't and can't expect those answers after just a few days on the new insulin.
 
Hey Sebastien, you have a new insulin and new rules so ,be kind to yourself and patient. I like Karen's idea of closer more frequent meals. He is all ready coming down nicely.
 
Small Kitty went down during the day, how low is hard to know as we are speaking.
All I would like is a low point next week-end to know if the dose is to high.
There has been a nadir catched but it was to early to know if this is really what's
happening. If he nadir is in the blue I'll be in ''trouble'', would mean Small Kitty
is now even afraid of blue. At least bounce recovery is fast, not the typical 2-3 days.

The food control is a good idea, might test on a week-end day. They'll just turn mad
not having their full portion, they're already asking for another quarter can after having
ingested a full one.

Thanks for your help, hope things will get more simple at one point.

Good night everyone, off duty now as he's rising.

Sébastien
 
238 and 254 are pretty close to the same number. Since, this morning looks like the high before the break, I would try to get some tests in tonight.
 
Murphy is the same - spends time in green or blue only to stay in yellows and pinks for days until the cycle repeats itself - I understand your frustration
 
Hang in there Sebastien! Remember SK's body too is on a learning curve with the new insulin..he's got to get used to the new controls too. Just like his Captain does! Like learning to fine control that rocket pack strapped to his back..little lean here little lean there, but at first it's easy to over shoot that lean and whoosh ! Suddenly you're jetting all over the sky! His body is probably going, hey wait a minute, something is different here! Time to drag out those blue pants!
:bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top